




Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Reynisfjara, Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon, Diamond Beach, Vík í Mýrdal, Vatnajökull Glacier, Natural Ice Cave, Northern Lights – 2 Days
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 2 days
Two days down the south coast, from waterfall to ice cave
This tour leaves Reykjavik and heads southeast along the south coast, reaching as far as Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon and Diamond Beach before returning. It runs for two full days, which makes it a compact way to see the stretch of Iceland that most visitors only glimpse on a rushed day trip. The itinerary takes in Seljalandsfoss and Skógafoss, the black sand beach at Reynisfjara, the village of Vík í Mýrdal, and then the glacier lagoon with its icebergs and the ice cave on Vatnajökull. Northern lights viewing is part of the plan when conditions allow. The tour is guided in English and is partially guided, meaning you have a guide for the main sights but some stretches are on your own. At 1,129 USD per person, it sits among the cheaper options in its category, and it is a fit for travellers who want the glacier lagoon and an ice cave without committing to a third or fourth day.






Photographs from the operator Aborigen Tours. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Aborigen Tours
- Duration
- 2 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Partially Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $1,129
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what costs extra on the road
The operator includes food for the two days, so meals are not an out-of-pocket expense beyond what you might want in snacks or drinks. The price also covers the guided portions of the trip and transport from Reykjavik. What you will pay on top are the parking fees at the sights, though these are charged per car, not per person. On a guided tour where the coach or minibus is driven by the operator, those fees do not arise for you individually. The official amounts are set by the landowners, not the tour company: 900 ISK at Seljalandsfoss for a car, 1,000 ISK at Skógafoss, 1,000 ISK at Reynisfjara's lower lot, and 1,110 ISK at Jökulsárlón. At the lagoon, the boat tours are optional extras. An amphibian boat ride costs 7,100 ISK per adult, while a zodiac tour runs 16,600 ISK. Viewing the lagoon itself and walking on Diamond Beach is free. There is no free cancellation on this booking, which is worth knowing before you commit, since many tours in this category do offer it.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Re… | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jö… | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Gla… | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landmannalauga… | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking Tour (C… |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,129 $ | 1,072 $ | 1,402 $ | 1,320 $ | 2,145 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Short breaks, three and four days”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Reynisfjara … | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón & … | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landmannalaugar & … | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking Tour (Camping) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Aborigen Tours | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures |
| Price | from 1129 $ | from 1072 $ | from 1402 $ | from 1320 $ | from 2145 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | group | small group | small group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | yes | not stated | yes | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.4 (172) | 4.5 (12) | 4.0 (2) | none |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Aborigen Tours
- Price
- from 1129 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1072 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (172)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1402 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.5 (12)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1320 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.0 (2)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 2145 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skóga… (unrated) | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South C… (4.4) | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coa… (4.5) | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landma… (4.0) | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking… (unrated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 172 ratings | 12 ratings | 2 ratings | 0 ratings |
A tour without a score yet, priced well below the group average
This tour has no customer rating on record, and that is the honest measure of it. With zero reviews behind it, you cannot judge it by other travellers' experience. It is not a bad sign, just an unevidenced one. In its category of 43 short-break packages, it ranks 39th by strength of evidence, which is a direct result of having no ratings at all. What you can judge is the price. At 1,129 USD, it is the 15th cheapest of the 43, putting it in the least expensive third of the group. The cheapest option in the category starts at 252 USD, and the most expensive runs to 6,018 USD, so this tour is firmly at the lower end. The comparable three-day tour covering the Golden Circle, south coast, glacier lagoon and ice cave costs 1,072 USD and has 172 ratings at 4.4, which gives you a reference point for what a similar route costs with a proven track record.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Seljalandsfoss
- Parking fee, car (up to 8 seats)900 ISKCheck-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra)
- Waterfall height60 mWikipedia
- What makes it unusualOne of the very few Icelandic waterfalls where a footpath lets visitors walk in behind the curtain of waterVisit South Iceland
Skógafoss
- Parking fee, car (Category A)1,000 ISKParka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra)
- Waterfall height60 mWikipedia
- Steps in the staircase to the top527Skógafoss.org (site operator)
Reynisfjara black sand beach
- Parking fee, lower lot (nearest the beach)1,000 ISKReynisfjara Beach (site operator, payment via Parka)
- What the warning lights meanYellow: do not enter the yellow-marked zone. Red: do not go past the light sign at all; stay up on the beach ridgeFerðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board)
- Officially cited death toll (as of the 2022 accident)12 serious search-and-rescue call-outs in the preceding 7 years, 5 of which ended in deathIcelandic police, reported by miðjan.is
Vík í Mýrdal
- Road distance from Reykjavik186.9 kmOpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
- Driving time from Reykjavik167 minOpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
- Average annual rainfall2,333 mmIcelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands)
Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon
- Parking fee, private car (class A)1,110 ISKParka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park)
- Boat tour operating seasonMay-15 November, weather permittingJökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator)
- Age of the ice calving into the lagoonUp to around 1,000 years oldGuide to Iceland
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
When the south coast works for a two-day trip
Reykjavik's monthly averages show a narrow band of temperatures. From June through August, highs sit between 13 and 15 degrees, with lows around 7 to 9 degrees. That is the warmest stretch of the year and the most reliable for the ice cave access, since the caves are only reachable in the colder months when the glacier is stable. The tour runs year-round, but the experience changes with the season. In winter, from November to February, highs hover around 3 degrees and lows drop to minus 2, with daylight short. A two-day tour in December means limited hours at each stop, and the footpath behind Seljalandsfoss is closed whenever ice risk is high, which is often in winter. Spring and autumn sit in between, with May and September offering highs of 10 to 11 degrees and longer days than winter. For the northern lights portion of the tour, the darker months from September to March are the ones that matter, and clear winter nights give the best chance. The trade-off is cold and short days against the aurora and the ice cave.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 178 rows
Show all 178 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Reynisfjara, Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon, Diamond Beach, Vík í Mýrdal, Vatnajökull Glacier, Natural Ice Cave, Northern Lights – 2 Days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Aborigen Tours | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 344061 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 2 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $1,129 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 136,783 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 39 of 43 in “Short breaks, three and four days” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Partially Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Seljalandsfoss22 | ||
| Waterfall height | 60 m | Wikipedia |
| Parking fee, car (up to 8 seats) | 900 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, motorcycle | 400 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, minibus (10-19 seats) | 1,800 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, coach (20+ seats) | 3,500 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Minimum visit length before parking fee applies | 10 min | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Admin fee added for unpaid parking | 100 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking area and falls, access hours | Open 24 hours, year-round | Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) |
| Waterfall flow season | Flows year-round | Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) |
| Footpath-behind-the-falls closure | Closed in winter whenever ice risk is high; reopened only when conditions allow | Visit South Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay behind chains and closure signs; falling ice near the cliff face is the main winter hazard, and paths can be slippery and muddy year-round | Visit South Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Accessible parking bays at the paid car park; contact Check-it for a possible fee waiver | Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) |
| Parking fee cut, June 2026 | Car parking fee reduced 10%, from 1,000 to 900 ISK, effective 1 June 2026 | Vísir |
| Toilet facilities threatened with closure over permits | South Iceland Health Committee threatened to shut down Seljalandsfoss ehf's toilet containers, which lack planning permission, with fines of 500,000 ISK/day from 21 July 2025 if unresolved | Iceland Review |
| Parking revenue collected in 2023 | 200,000,000 ISK | Vísir |
| Water source | Seljalandsá river, fed by meltwater from the Eyjafjallajökull glacier | Wikipedia |
| What makes it unusual | One of the very few Icelandic waterfalls where a footpath lets visitors walk in behind the curtain of water | Visit South Iceland |
| Free parking alternative | An older, free car park beside Route 1 remains available, about a 15-minute walk from the falls | Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) |
| Night lighting | Falls are floodlit after dark; site stays open around the clock, which also makes it a stop for northern-lights viewing (roughly late August to early April) | Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 128.2 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 118 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Skógafoss26 | ||
| Waterfall height | 60 m | Wikipedia |
| Waterfall width | 25 m | Wikipedia |
| Steps in the staircase to the top | 527 | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Parking fee, car (Category A) | 1,000 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, car (Category B) | 1,300 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, bus (Category C) | 2,500 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, bus (Category D) | 4,700 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, bus (Category E) | 8,500 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Parking fee, motorcycle (Category F) | 400 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Online payment transaction fee | 89 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Penalty for unpaid parking | 1,960 ISK | Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) |
| Skógar campsite fee, adult (14+) per night | 2,200 ISK | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Campsite shower fee, per 5 minutes | 400 ISK | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Campsite electricity hookup fee | 1,200 ISK | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Access season | Waterfall, staircase area and campsite are all open year-round | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Staircase closure policy | The 527-step metal staircase is roped off with a closed sign whenever ice makes it too dangerous to climb | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Safety warning | Staircase has a handrail on one side and only a rope on the other in places, with no barrier at all on some sections; steps are scored for grip but become slippery in rain, spray or ice | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Parking lot moved outside the protected area | New paid car park built about 500 m from the falls, outside the nature-reserve boundary; the municipality began charging there in autumn 2025 and closed the old car park inside the reserve to vehicles from 1 January 2026 | Rangárþing eystra (via Vísir) |
| Campsite relocated | Skógar campsite moved a short distance to a grove of trees near the original site, marked by a new "camping zone" sign off the Ring Road | Skógafoss.org (site operator) |
| Fimmvörðuháls trail length, Skógar to Þórsmörk | 25 km | Ferðafélag Íslands (Icelandic Touring Association) |
| Fimmvörðuháls trail, total elevation gain | 1,000 m | Ferðafélag Íslands (Icelandic Touring Association) |
| Fimmvörðuháls trail, typical duration | 1-2 days | Ferðafélag Íslands (Icelandic Touring Association) |
| Local legend | Viking settler Þrasi Þórólfsson is said to have hidden a treasure chest in a cave behind the falls; locals who later found it grasped only a ring before it vanished, and the ring is now kept at the Skógar Museum | Wikipedia |
| Fishing season in the river below the falls | July-October | Visit South Iceland |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 154.9 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 142 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Reynisfjara black sand beach24 | ||
| Beach entry fee | 0 ISK | Reynisfjara Beach (site operator) |
| Parking fee, lower lot (nearest the beach) | 1,000 ISK | Reynisfjara Beach (site operator, payment via Parka) |
| Parking fee, upper lot (about 5 min walk) | 750 ISK | Reynisfjara Beach (site operator, payment via Parka) |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Reynisfjara Beach (site operator) |
| Car park access hours | Open 24 hours, year-round | Reynisfjara Beach (site operator) |
| Warning-light system installed | December 2022 | Ferðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board) |
| Signage installed | 1 illuminated light sign, 3 large information signs, 6 guide signs and a 300 m chain marking the safe route | Ferðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board) |
| What the warning lights mean | Yellow: do not enter the yellow-marked zone. Red: do not go past the light sign at all; stay up on the beach ridge | Ferðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board) |
| How the light is triggered | An automated wave-forecasting model built by Vegagerðin (Icelandic Road and Coastal Administration), fed by live surveillance cameras streamed to the police station in Selfoss | Ferðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board) |
| Red-light hazard threshold lowered | The wave-height danger criteria were tightened so the red warning light now triggers roughly 30% more often than before | Iceland Review |
| Physical closure gate added | A gate was installed across the walkway down to the beach so that Stuðlaberg (the basalt columns) and Hálsanefshellir cave are physically closed off whenever the red warning light is active | mbl.is (Morgunblaðið / Iceland Monitor) |
| Most recent recorded death | A 9-year-old German girl was swept into the sea near Hálsanefshellir cave on 2 August 2025; a Coast Guard helicopter reached the scene 26 minutes after the call but she was not located for about two hours and later died | The Reykjavík Grapevine |
| 2022 death and near-miss | An 80-year-old Canadian man was swept out to sea and killed on 10 June 2022; the next day, 11 June, a group of six people including a German family was caught by a wave at the same spot but escaped without serious injury | Iceland Review |
| Officially cited death toll (as of the 2022 accident) | 12 serious search-and-rescue call-outs in the preceding 7 years, 5 of which ended in death | Icelandic police, reported by miðjan.is |
| 2016 death | A tourist was swept away and killed by a wave on 10 February 2016; a rescue boat recovered him but he was already dead on arrival | Vísir |
| 2007 death | An 80-year-old American woman was swept into the sea and killed by a wave | Vísir, citing Landsbjörg (ICE-SAR) |
| Major rockfall/landslide, 2019 | About 25,000 m3 of rock fell across roughly 5,200 m2 at the eastern end of the beach on 21 August 2019; a rockfall injured three people at the same spot the day before | Veðurstofa Íslands (Icelandic Meteorological Office) |
| Cave roof collapse, 2013 | About 100 tonnes of basalt rock fell from the roof of Hálsanefshellir cave on 16 November 2013; no one was hurt | Vísir |
| Severe coastal erosion, February 2026 | Sustained storms in January-February 2026 stripped sand from the beach and caused the most dramatic short-term change ever recorded there: the shoreline retreated as far as the warning signs, a large bank collapsed off Reynisfjall, and Hálsanefshellir cave was left sitting in the surf and inaccessible | RÚV (Icelandic National Broadcasting Service) |
| Nature-conservation status | Reynisfjara, Reynisfjall, Reynisdrangar, Dyrhólaós and Loftsalahellir are entered in Iceland's Nature Conservation Register | Umhverfisstofnun (Environment Agency of Iceland) |
| UNESCO Global Geopark membership | Part of the Katla UNESCO Global Geopark, designated in 2015 | UNESCO |
| Neighbouring Kirkjufjara beach closed to the public | The adjoining Kirkjufjara beach, reached through the same cliffs, has been off-limits to visitors since a series of rockfalls and drownings between 2012 and 2017 | Umhverfisstofnun (Environment Agency of Iceland) |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 188 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 169 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Vík í Mýrdal19 | ||
| Population, Vík í Mýrdal locality | 740 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN030102 |
| Population, Mýrdalshreppur municipality | 1,004 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 |
| Population passed 1,000 for the first time | Mýrdalshreppur's municipal population rose from 881 (2024) to 965 (2025) to 1,004 (2026), the first time it has passed 1,000 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 |
| Municipality area | 755 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Church doubles as flood evacuation point | Standing on high ground above the village, Víkurkirkja is considered one of the few buildings likely to survive a Katla-triggered glacial flood, and serves as the village's designated evacuation point | Wikipedia |
| Katla volcano, last eruption through the ice cap | 1918 (started 12 October, lasted 24 days) | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Katla's historical eruption interval | About every 50 years on average from Iceland's settlement until 1918; over 100 years have now passed since the last eruption broke through the ice | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Official Katla/Eyjafjallajökull civil-protection response plan | 30 September 2017 | Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) |
| Evacuation response time built into the Katla plan | 15-20 min for Sólheimabær, up to 30 min elsewhere in the hazard zone; seismic monitoring may give 4-6 hours' warning before an eruption starts | Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) |
| Official rockfall/snow-avalanche hazard assessment for the town | Confirmed by the Minister for the Environment on 10 February 2010, based on Veðurstofa Íslands fieldwork carried out in 2008-2009 | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average annual rainfall | 2,333 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Wettest year on record | 2,887 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Single-day rainfall record | 150.3 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Highest temperature on record | 28.5 C | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Lowest temperature on record | -16.9 C | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Ranking among Iceland's weather stations | One of Iceland's two warmest weather stations for the year as a whole, together with Vestmannaeyjar | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Hotel rooms in the village | 1,400 | Wikipedia |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 186.9 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 167 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon23 | ||
| Protected area status | Within Vatnajökull National Park, added to the park in a later boundary extension | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Vatnajökull National Park total area | 14,967 km2 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Parking fee, private car (class A) | 1,110 ISK | Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) |
| Fee to view the lagoon and Diamond Beach | 0 ISK | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Toilets | Flush toilets available at both Jökulsárlón and Fjallsárlón | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Amphibian boat tour, adult | 7,100 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Zodiac boat tour, adult | 16,600 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Boat tour operating season | May-15 November, weather permitting | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Crystal ice cave tour season (Breiðamerkurjökull) | Approximately October-April | Glacier Guides |
| Lagoon surface area | 25 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Maximum depth | 284 m | Wikipedia |
| Lagoon began forming | 1934-1935 | Wikipedia |
| Feeding glacier's annual retreat rate | 200-300 m | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Fastest-flowing glacier in Iceland | Breiðamerkurjökull's calving front can flow up to about 5 m per day, making it Iceland's fastest-moving glacier | University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) |
| Diamond Beach and ice safety warning | Never climb onto beached icebergs or ice near the water, and never turn your back on the sea; waves can surge much further up the black sand than expected with no warning (sneaker waves) | SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) |
| Seal colony | One of Iceland's few permanent harbour seal haul-out sites, with seals visible year-round in and around the lagoon | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved paths lead from the car park to wheelchair-accessible viewing platforms at the lagoon shore, with no walking distance required from parking | roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) |
| Marked walking trail at the lagoon (B1) | 1.2 km | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Park ranger contact for the area | +354 842 4355 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Age of the ice calving into the lagoon | Up to around 1,000 years old | Guide to Iceland |
| Visiting season for the lagoon and Diamond Beach | Open year-round; boat tours and ice cave tours are seasonal | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 377.7 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 340 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What to expect at the stops along the way
The tour moves between sights that are open to the elements and largely self-serve. At Seljalandsfoss, the path that leads behind the waterfall is the main draw, but it closes in winter whenever ice makes it unsafe and reopens only when conditions allow. The car park there charges 900 ISK for a car, and there is a toilet on site at no cost. Skógafoss has a larger parking area with fees that scale by vehicle type, from 1,000 ISK for a standard car up to 8,500 ISK for the largest buses, and a penalty of 1,960 ISK if you do not pay. Reynisfjara's black sand beach has two lots: the lower one nearest the beach costs 1,000 ISK, while the upper lot, about a five-minute walk away, is 750 ISK. The beach itself is free to enter. At Jökulsárlón, you can walk along the lagoon and over to Diamond Beach without paying, and the parking fee is 1,110 ISK for a private car. The weather is the real variable. Rain and wind can close the mountain roads, and a guide who turns back is making the safe call. The waterfalls keep their paths wet all year, and in winter those same paths freeze, so sturdy footwear matters more than any other piece of gear.
Who this tour fits and who should look elsewhere
This is a tour for travellers who want the south coast's headline sights in a tight two-day window and are comfortable with a partially guided format. It suits those who would rather spend on the experience than on a longer itinerary, and who accept that a tour without reviews is a gamble on an operator's competence. If you prefer to travel with a proven track record, the three-day tour covering the Golden Circle, south coast, Jökulsárlón and an ice cave has 172 ratings at 4.4 for 1,072 USD, which is actually cheaper per day and gives you an extra day for barely more money. That tour is the clear alternative if evidence matters to you. This two-day option also assumes you are fine with a faster pace, since you cover roughly 600 kilometres of road in two days. If you want more time at the glacier lagoon or a slower look at the waterfalls, the four-day Snæfellsnes, south coast and glacier lagoon tour at 1,402 USD spreads the journey out, though it carries only 12 ratings. For hikers, the Landmannalaugar and Grænihryggur three-day trek at 1,320 USD or the four-day Laugavegur trek at 2,145 USD are different animals entirely, aimed at those who want to walk rather than ride.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

2 Day South Coast Iceland, Black Sand Beach & Glacier Lagoon Small Group Tour with Optional Ice Cave
BusTravel Iceland
5.0only 5 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $486To the page
3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón & Ice Cave
Arctic Adventures
4.4172 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1072To the page
Hosted by Melani - 5 Days In Iceland: Northern Lights, Ice Cave, Golden Circle, South Coast and Jökulsárlón
Arctic Adventures
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $1489To the page
Golden Circle, South Coast, Ice Cave & Jökulsárlón - 3 Days
Click Tours
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1408To the page
Golden Circle from Reykjavik & Glimpse of Jökulsárlón
Expeditions Gateways
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $2152To the page
Northern Lights Getaway in Reykjavík for 3 nights
Snaeland Travel
4.7only 9 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $591To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 2 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Reynisfjara, Jökulsárlón Glacier L
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Iceland: Seljalandsfoss, Skógafoss, Reynisfjara, Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon, Diamond Beach, Vík í Mýrdal, Vatnajökull Glacier, Natural Ice Cave, Northern Lights – 2 DaysTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Check-it (parking operator for Rangárþing eystra) accessed 2026-09-07
- 15Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Seljalandsfoss ehf (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Visit South Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Vísir accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 21Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Skógafoss.org (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 23Parka (parking payment operator for Rangárþing eystra) accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Skógafoss.org (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Skógafoss.org (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Rangárþing eystra (via Vísir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Ferðafélag Íslands (Icelandic Touring Association) accessed 2026-09-07
- 28Visit South Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 29Reynisfjara Beach (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 30Reynisfjara Beach (site operator, payment via Parka) accessed 2026-09-07
- 31Reynisfjara Beach (site operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 32Ferðamálastofa (Icelandic Tourist Board) accessed 2026-09-07
- 33Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 34mbl.is (Morgunblaðið / Iceland Monitor) accessed 2026-09-07
- 35The Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 36Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 37Icelandic police, reported by miðjan.is accessed 2026-09-07
- 38Vísir accessed 2026-09-07
- 39Vísir, citing Landsbjörg (ICE-SAR) accessed 2026-09-07
- 40Veðurstofa Íslands (Icelandic Meteorological Office) accessed 2026-09-07
- 41Vísir accessed 2026-09-07
- 42RÚV (Icelandic National Broadcasting Service) accessed 2026-09-07
- 43Umhverfisstofnun (Environment Agency of Iceland) accessed 2026-09-07
- 44UNESCO accessed 2026-09-07
- 45Umhverfisstofnun (Environment Agency of Iceland) accessed 2026-09-07
- 46Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN030102 accessed 2026-09-07
- 47Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 accessed 2026-09-07
- 48Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 49Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 50Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 51Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) accessed 2026-09-07
- 52Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) accessed 2026-09-07
- 53Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 54Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 55Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 56Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 57Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) accessed 2026-09-07
- 58Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 59Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 60Glacier Guides accessed 2026-09-07
- 61Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 62Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 63University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) accessed 2026-09-07
- 64SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 65Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 66roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) accessed 2026-09-07
- 67Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 68Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 69Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 70Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 71UNESCO accessed 2026-09-07
- 72SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 73Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
