Iceland Northern Lights

5 days, from $2,770, admission not stated. 4.7 from 14 ratings. What Exodus Adventure Travels commits to, what stays open and what is added to the price.

TOURRADAR

Iceland Northern Lights

  • Guide works in English
  • Duration per the operator: 5 days

Five days of guided hunting for the aurora

This tour is a five-day, fully guided small-group trip based in Reykjavik, run by Exodus Adventure Travels. It is built around one pursuit: clear, dark skies and the solar activity that makes the northern lights appear. You stay in the capital and head out on the hunt when conditions look right, rather than camping in a remote spot or sleeping in a hut. The itinerary is not a fixed route of must-see stops. It is a flexible search, which is exactly what aurora chasing requires. The tour is sold in English, and the guide stays with the group throughout. At 2,770 USD per person, it sits at the upper end of five- and six-day packages in this catalogue, so you are paying for the guided, small-group structure and the operator's judgment about where and when to go. The trip is for travellers who want the lights handled for them, with the logistics, the timing and the driving all taken care of from Reykjavik.

Iceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern LightsIceland Northern Lights

Photographs from the operator Exodus Adventure Travels. They show the listing, not your day.

Operator
Exodus Adventure Travels
Duration
5 days
Departure point
Reykjavik
Group form
small group
Guiding
Fully Guided
In English
yes
Pickup from your hotel
not stated
Price
from $2,770
Rating
4.7 from 14 ratings
Quality bar
passed

What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say

The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.

ServiceStatusWhat that means for you
Admission to the sitenot statedadmission not stated
Pickup from your hotelnot statedNot stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tourincludedIncluded.
Admission to the site
Status
not stated
What that means for you
admission not stated
Pickup from your hotel
Status
not stated
What that means for you
Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tour
Status
included
What that means for you
Included.

What the price covers and what it leaves open

The entry price of 2,770 USD includes food, which the operator states explicitly. That is a meaningful part of the cost on a five-day trip in Iceland, where eating out is expensive. The tour is fully guided, and the guide works in English. Beyond food and guiding, the operator does not itemise what else sits inside that figure. No official figure is published for accommodation, transport or any activities beyond the guiding itself, so you should read the 2,770 USD as the starting point and confirm the full inclusions before booking. No fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary. None of the stops charges admission or parking, so there is no gate cost to budget for on top of the price. The one clear exception to flexibility is cancellation. This tour does not offer free cancellation, which is unusual among the listings in this category. Most comparable packages grant it, so if you book this one, you are committing to the dates from the start. Plan around that before you pay.

The price in context

The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.

Iceland Northern Lights2,770 $
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts2,962 $
Northern Lights Escape2,265 $
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days1,645 $
Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circl…1,791 $

Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowIceland Northern Lights5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 daysIceland Northern Lights & Golden Circl…
Starting price2,770 $2,962 $2,265 $1,645 $1,791 $

This tour against 4 comparable ones

All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.

Iceland Northern Lights5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 daysIceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle
ProviderExodus Adventure TravelsIcelandic Mountain GuidesIntrepid TravelOn The Go ToursG Adventures
Pricefrom 2770 $from 2962 $from 2265 $from 1645 $from 1791 $
Duration
Group typesmall groupsmall groupgroupgroupsmall group
In Englishyesyesyesyesyes
Admissionnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Pickupnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Rating (reviews)4.7 (14)4.7 (14)4.6 (51)4.4 (183)4.9 (70)
Quality floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floor
Free cancellation untilnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Iceland Northern Lights
Provider
Exodus Adventure Travels
Price
from 2770 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Provider
Icelandic Mountain Guides
Price
from 2962 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Northern Lights Escape
Provider
Intrepid Travel
Price
from 2265 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.6 (51)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days
Provider
On The Go Tours
Price
from 1645 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.4 (183)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle
Provider
G Adventures
Price
from 1791 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.9 (70)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated

The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.

How many people have judged it?

The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.

Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7)14 ratings
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)14 ratings
Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)51 ratings
Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)183 ratings
Iceland Northern Lights & Gold… (4.9)70 ratings

This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowIceland Northern Lights… (4.7)5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)Iceland Northern Lights & Gold… (4.9)
Ratings14 ratings14 ratings51 ratings183 ratings70 ratings

A strong score from a thin base

The tour carries a rating of 4.7 out of 5, which is a high score. The number behind it matters more than the decimal. Only 14 reviews sit behind that figure, so the rating is a thin sample. Fourteen travellers can all have a good time and produce a 4.7, but it does not carry the weight of a score built on hundreds of trips. In this category of 62 five- and six-day packages, the tour ranks 2nd overall, but that rank is ordered by strength of evidence, not by score alone. By number of reviews, it sits 10th of 62, which tells the real story. The neighbouring Northern Lights Escape has 51 reviews at 4.6, and Land of the Northern Lights has 183 at 4.4. Those are better tested trips. The 4.7 here is promising, but it is a promise from a small group of people. Treat it as a good sign, not as proof.

The day, stop by stop

The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.

  1. Meeting point

    You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.

  2. Reykjavik

  3. Back to where you started

    Back to the full list

A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.

Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year

Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.

Daily highDaily low
-4161217Daily high, Jul: 14.9 degrees C15Daily high, Jan: 3.2 degrees C3Daily low, Jul: 9.1 degrees C9Daily low, Feb: -1.9 degrees C-2JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec

There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Daily high3.2 degrees C3.3 degrees C4.2 degrees C6.9 degrees C10.1 degrees C13 degrees C14.9 degrees C14.1 degrees C11.4 degrees C7.6 degrees C4.7 degrees C3.3 degrees C
Daily low-1.7 degrees C-1.9 degrees C-1.3 degrees C1 degrees C4 degrees C7.2 degrees C9.1 degrees C8.6 degrees C6.2 degrees C2.7 degrees C-0.1 degrees C-1.6 degrees C

Winter months and long nights

This tour runs on the cold side of the year, and the Reykjavik climate chart above shows why. From September through March, the average high stays between 3 and 11 degrees Celsius, with lows dropping to minus 2 in December, January and February. The aurora needs darkness, and these months deliver it. In December, the sun barely rises above the horizon, giving you the longest windows for the lights. January and February are similar. March is the compromise month, with highs near 4 degrees and evenings still dark enough for a good hunt. September and October are milder, with October highs near 8 degrees, but the nights are shorter. The tour lasts five days, which is enough for a few attempts but no guarantee. The lights are a matter of solar activity and cloud cover, not just season. For the best odds, book between September and March, and expect to be out late. The aurora does not keep office hours.

The full data sheet

Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.

Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows

Show all 113 figures
FactValueSource
The listing27
Operator's own titleIceland Northern LightsTourRadar catalogue
OperatorExodus Adventure TravelsTourRadar catalogue
Product number35712TourRadar catalogue
Departure pointReykjavikTourRadar catalogue
Duration5 daysTourRadar catalogue
Multi-dayyesTourRadar catalogue
Starting price$2,770TourRadar, live check
Starting price in local currencyabout 335,597 ISKRate 121.15 ISK to the USD
Rating4.7 out of 5TourRadar, live check
Number of ratings14TourRadar, live check
This project's quality barpassedOwn rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings
Rank within its category2 of 62 in “Five and six day trips”Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings
Admission to the sitenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Food on the tourincludedTourRadar catalogue
Pickup from your hotelnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Kind of guidingFully GuidedTourRadar catalogue
Guiding languagesEnglishTourRadar catalogue
Guide works in EnglishyesTourRadar catalogue
Bookable privatelynoTourRadar catalogue
Small groupyesTourRadar catalogue
Group form per the operatornot statedTourRadar catalogue
Priority entrynot statedTourRadar catalogue
Suitable for wheelchair usersnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Free cancellationnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Cancellation deadlinenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Basis in the cataloguenot statedOwn check of the catalogue fields
Operator's images5 photographsTourRadar catalogue
Reykjavik37
Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
Population of the greater capital region253,230Statistics Iceland
Area of the city244 km2Wikipedia
City charter granted18 August 1786Wikipedia
Weather station for the climate figures belowReykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological OfficeIcelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands)
Average high in January3.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in February3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in March4.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in April6.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in May10.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in June13 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in July14.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in August14.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in September11.4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in October7.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in November4.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in December3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in January-1.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in February-1.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in March-1.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in April1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in May4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in June7.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in July9.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in August8.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in September6.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in October2.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in November-0.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in December-1.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average annual precipitation875.9 mmIcelandic Meteorological Office
Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Main gateway airportKEFIsavia
Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik45 minFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Single city bus fare (Strætó)690 ISKStrætó bs
One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik)3,999 ISKFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik22,500 ISKHreyfill (taxi cooperative)
Sources: Þingvellir National Park27
Park entry fee, adult0 ISKArctic Adventures
Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats)1,000 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Toilet fee0 ISKIceland Review
Visitor centre opening hours09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar)Þingvellir National Park
Park access seasonGrounds open 24 hours, year-roundArctic Adventures
Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult1,200 ISKÞingvellir National Park
UNESCO World Heritage status since2,004UNESCO World Heritage Centre
Althing (Icelandic parliament) established930Þingvellir National Park
Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir1,798Þingvellir National Park
National park established1,930Þingvellir National Park
Core protected area92.7 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn surface area84 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth114 mWikipedia
Tectonic plate drift rate2 cm/yearÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure water temperature2-4 CÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed18 mÞingvellir National Park
Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person1,500 ISKDIVE.IS
Campsite fee, adult per night1,800 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Campsite seasonSummer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-roundÞingvellir National Park
Wheelchair accessibilityPaved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitableGolden Circle Iceland
Safety warningSnow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked pathsÞingvellir National Park
Recent path closurePart of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairsÞingvellir National Park
Öxarárfoss waterfall height12 mIceland Review
Þingvallakirkja church built1,859Iceland Review
Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool18Iceland Review
Road distance from Reykjavik47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Sources: Geysir geothermal area22
Entry fee to the geothermal area0 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Parking fee, car1,000 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Access seasonOpen-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hoursEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Protected area size3 km2Environment Agency of Iceland
Protected as a natural monument since2,020Environment Agency of Iceland
Identified thermal features in the area364Wikipedia
Elevation110 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption interval6-10 minWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, typical15-20 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded40 mWikipedia
Great Geysir, last known eruption2,016Iceland Review
Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record170 mWikipedia
Water temperature in the geyser conduit85-95 CWikipedia
First written record of Geysir13th centuryEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Land donated to the Icelandic nation1,935Environment Agency of Iceland
Recent change: footpath and safety projectCircular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025Environment Agency of Iceland
Safety warningStay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or killGuide to Iceland
Wheelchair accessibilityMain paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sectionsGolden Circle Iceland
Historic royal visits marked by stone markersDanish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones'Environment Agency of Iceland
Origin of the English word 'geyser'Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780Etymonline
Road distance from Reykjavik115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM

What happens when the hunt begins

The trip starts in Reykjavik, and that is where you return each night. The guide decides each evening whether conditions justify heading out. That is the core of the tour. The guide reads the cloud cover and the solar forecast and picks a direction, which may change at short notice. You are not following a printed schedule. The stops themselves are Icelandic sights, and they operate as Icelandic sights do. There is no staffed entrance at any of them, and no admission or parking fee applies. You arrive, you park, you walk a short path and you look up. The weather is the deciding factor. A clear sky in Reykjavik can be clouded over twenty minutes away, and the guide may turn back or reroute. That is not a failure. It is the job. Dress for standing still in the cold, because that is what aurora hunting involves. You are not hiking. You are waiting, and the waiting happens outdoors in winter temperatures.

Who should book this tour

This tour suits travellers who want the northern lights handled by someone else. You do not rent a car, you do not monitor forecasts, and you do not drive dark roads at midnight. The guide does all of it, in English, in a small group. It also suits anyone who wants food included in the price, since that removes a daily decision and a daily expense. If you are comfortable with a thin review base and no free cancellation, this is a solid choice. If those two points give you pause, the Northern Lights Escape runs for six days at 2,265 USD with 51 reviews, which gives you more feedback and a lower price. Land of the Northern Lights offers five days at 1,645 USD with 183 reviews, the most tested option in the group. This Exodus tour is for the traveller who prioritises a guided, small-group structure and is willing to pay for it, and who understands that a 4.7 from 14 people is a starting point, not a verdict.

Similar tours on this site

Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

  1. Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

    G Adventures

    4.970 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1791
    To the page
  2. Geluxe: Winter in Iceland: Waterfalls & Aurora Nights

    G Adventures

    no reviews yet

    • English-speaking guide
    from $2799
    To the page
  3. 5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour

    Snaeland Travel

    4.831 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Hotel pickup
    from $1003
    To the page
  4. Iceland Northern Lights Adventure

    Explore!

    4.718 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1480
    To the page
  5. Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4N

    Bamba Travel

    no reviews yet

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1366
    To the page
  6. 5 Days New Year's Northern Lights Adventure

    GJ Travel

    4.8only 7 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Admission included
    from $2074
    To the page

The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.

Common questions

Is admission included?

The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.

How long does the package really take?

The catalogue gives 5 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.

Is there a guide who works in English?

Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.

Where do I find all the data on this package?

In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Does this listing's rating mean anything?

Yes. 4.7 out of 5 from 14 is above the bar this site holds, which is 4.0 out of 5 from at least ten voices.

TOURRADAR

Iceland Northern Lights

Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.

from $2770
Ansehen

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.

  1. 1
    TourRadar: Iceland Northern LightsTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
  2. 2
    This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
  3. 3
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  4. 4
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  5. 5
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
  6. 6
    Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
  7. 7
    Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
  8. 8
    Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
  9. 9
    Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
  10. 10
    Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
  11. 11
    Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
  12. 12
    Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
  13. 13
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  14. 14
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
    Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
  18. 18
    Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
  19. 19
    Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
  20. 20
    UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
  21. 21
    DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
  22. 22
    Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  23. 23
  24. 24
    Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
  25. 25
    Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  26. 26
    Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  27. 27
    Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07