




Iceland Northern Lights Adventure
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 5 days
Five days of guided winter touring from Reykjavik
This is a five-day, fully guided small-group tour run by Explore!, starting and ending in Reykjavik. The itinerary is built around the Northern Lights, with the city as the base for nightly hunts and the surrounding countryside as the daytime playground. The tour runs in English, with a guide who stays with the group for the full five days. The price starts at 1,480 USD per person, which places it among the cheaper options in its five-and-six-day category, despite covering all meals. The group is deliberately kept small, which matters when the plan depends on chasing clear skies at short notice. The operator sells this as a complete package: you join in Reykjavik, and the guiding, transport, and food are handled from there. It suits travellers who want the structure of a set itinerary without the logistics of self-driving in winter, and who prefer a guide to make the call on where the aurora is most likely to show.











Photographs from the operator Explore!. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Explore!
- Duration
- 5 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- small group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $1,480
- Rating
- 4.7 from 18 ratings
- Quality bar
- passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The 1,480 USD entry price includes all food for the five days. That is the headline: meals are explicitly part of what Explore! provides, so you are not budgeting separately for breakfast, lunch, or dinner once the tour begins. The guiding is fully guided, meaning a professional guide is with the group throughout, and the tour is sold as a small-group experience, which typically keeps the per-person cost higher than a large coach tour but lower than a private one. No fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary. There is no admission charge and no parking fee at the stops the tour visits, so the price you see is the price that covers the ground component of the trip. The operator does not offer free cancellation on this tour, which is worth noting before you book. Most listings in this catalogue grant it, so its absence here is the exception rather than the rule. You are committing to the dates when you pay.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Northern Lights Adventure | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,480 $ | 2,962 $ | 2,770 $ | 2,265 $ | 1,645 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland Northern Lights Adventure | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Explore! | Icelandic Mountain Guides | Exodus Adventure Travels | Intrepid Travel | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 1480 $ | from 2962 $ | from 2770 $ | from 2265 $ | from 1645 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | small group | small group | small group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | 4.7 (18) | 4.7 (14) | 4.7 (14) | 4.6 (51) | 4.4 (183) |
| Quality floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Explore!
- Price
- from 1480 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (18)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Price
- from 2962 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Exodus Adventure Travels
- Price
- from 2770 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 2265 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (51)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 1645 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (183)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Northern Lights Advent… (4.7) | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7) | Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7) | Northern Lights Escape… (4.6) | Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 18 ratings | 14 ratings | 14 ratings | 51 ratings | 183 ratings |
What an 18-review score actually tells you
The tour holds a 4.7 rating, but that score comes from only 18 reviews. That is a thin base. A single dissatisfied traveller moves the average noticeably, and 18 voices do not represent the range of experiences a five-day winter tour can produce. In its category of 62 five-and-six-day packages, this listing ranks 9th by the number of reviews it has collected, which puts it in the upper third for visibility but far from the most-tested options. By comparison, the Land of the Northern Lights tour in the same group has 183 ratings at 4.4, and the Northern Lights Escape has 51 at 4.6. Those are more reliable signals of what you are likely to get. The 4.7 here is encouraging, but treat it as a promising start rather than a settled verdict. The ranking of 22 out of 62 in the category reflects the strength of the evidence behind the score, not the score itself, and 18 reviews is simply not enough to push it higher.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Winter months and short daylight hours
This is a cold-weather tour, and the season runs through the darkest part of the Icelandic year. The chart above shows Reykjavik's monthly highs: January and February sit at 3 degrees, March at 4, and April at 7, with overnight lows between minus 2 and plus 1. The aurora requires darkness, which in Iceland means September through March, and the best of that window is the deep winter when the nights are longest. In January and February you get roughly five to six hours of usable daylight, which shapes the daytime sightseeing and pushes the aurora hunting into the evening. By March the days stretch to about eleven hours, which makes for easier daytime travel but shorter nights for the lights. The tour runs five days, so you are not committing to a long polar night; you are fitting a winter itinerary into a short break. Dress for the averages, not the extremes: highs near freezing mean wet snow and wind are more likely than deep cold, and the damp makes the chill feel sharper than the thermometer suggests.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland Northern Lights Adventure | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Explore! | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 208631 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 5 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $1,480 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 179,308 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 4.7 out of 5 | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 18 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 22 of 62 in “Five and six day trips” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What happens once the tour begins
The tour starts in Reykjavik, and the guide meets the group there before heading out. The stops on the itinerary are the classic Icelandic winter sights, and they are unstaffed in the usual way: you arrive, park, and walk in. The weather is the variable that decides the plan. A guide who turns back from a road or cuts a stop short is making the call that keeps the group safe, and that is part of the job. The waterfalls and other natural sites the tour visits stay wet all year, and in winter the paths around them freeze, so the walking is on hard, slippery ground. The guide sets the pace and the route. There are no opening hours to worry about at the sights themselves, because they are open air and always accessible. The structure of the day follows the light: daytime for the landscape, evening for the aurora, and the guide adjusts both based on the forecast and road conditions.
Who should book this tour and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want the Northern Lights handled for them, with meals and guiding included and a small group to keep it personal. It is a good fit for first-time visitors to Iceland in winter who do not want to rent a car and drive on icy roads, and for those who prefer a fixed itinerary over improvisation. It is not for travellers who want flexibility in their schedule or who like to make their own plans each day. It is also not for budget travellers who are willing to sacrifice meals or guiding to save money. If you want a similar five-day length but at a lower price, the Land of the Northern Lights tour starts at 1,645 USD, though it has a lower rating of 4.4 and a much larger review base of 183, so you trade some certainty for a cheaper rate. If you want more time, the Northern Lights Escape runs six days from 2,265 USD. Neither of those includes meals the way this one does, so the price difference narrows once you add food costs. The 1,480 USD entry point here is the cheapest in the immediate comparison group, and the all-inclusive food makes it a strong value proposition for a five-day winter tour.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $1791To the page
from $2770To the page
Geluxe: Winter in Iceland: Waterfalls & Aurora Nights
G Adventures
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $2799To the page
5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour
Snaeland Travel
4.831 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1003To the page
from $1366To the page
5 Days New Year's Northern Lights Adventure
GJ Travel
4.8only 7 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $2074To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 5 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
Yes. 4.7 out of 5 from 18 is above the bar this site holds, which is 4.0 out of 5 from at least ten voices.

Iceland Northern Lights Adventure
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Iceland Northern Lights AdventureTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
