Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

5 days, from $1,791, admission not stated. 4.9 from 70 ratings. What G Adventures commits to, what stays open and what is added to the price.

TOURRADAR

Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

  • Guide works in English
  • Duration per the operator: 5 days

Five days of lights and landmarks

This tour runs for five days out of Reykjavik, combining the city's most visited sights with a hunt for the northern lights. You start and end in the capital, and the itinerary is built around the Golden Circle, the loop of geological and historical sites that sits within a couple of hours' drive of the city. The tour is fully guided in English and is sold as a small group, which keeps the pace flexible and the stops manageable. It is aimed at travellers who want the classic Icelandic sights without arranging a hire car or planning their own route through the winter dark. The price starts at 1,791 USD, and that figure places it among the cheaper options in its five and six day category, though it is not the least expensive way to see this part of the country.

Iceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleIceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

Photographs from the operator G Adventures. They show the listing, not your day.

Operator
G Adventures
Duration
5 days
Departure point
Reykjavik
Group form
small group
Guiding
Fully Guided
In English
yes
Pickup from your hotel
not stated
Price
from $1,791
Rating
4.9 from 70 ratings
Quality bar
passed

What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say

The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.

ServiceStatusWhat that means for you
Admission to the sitenot statedadmission not stated
Pickup from your hotelnot statedNot stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tourincludedIncluded.
Admission to the site
Status
not stated
What that means for you
admission not stated
Pickup from your hotel
Status
not stated
What that means for you
Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tour
Status
included
What that means for you
Included.

What the price covers

The operator, G Adventures, includes food for the duration of the trip. That is stated explicitly, so your main daily cost beyond the tour price is covered. The 1,791 USD entry price is the starting point, and it reflects the base level of accommodation and inclusions; the exact total depends on the departure date you choose. None of the places on the itinerary charges admission or parking, so there are no gate fees to budget for along the way. What the operator does not say is whether drinks, snacks or meals outside the included ones are part of the deal, and no official figure is published for optional extras. The one thing to note clearly is that this tour does not offer free cancellation. That is unusual for this category, where most listings grant it, so read the terms carefully before you book and consider travel insurance if you want flexibility.

The price in context

The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.

Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circl…1,791 $
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts2,962 $
Iceland Northern Lights2,770 $
Northern Lights Escape2,265 $
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days1,645 $

Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowIceland Northern Lights & Golden Circl…5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsIceland Northern LightsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 days
Starting price1,791 $2,962 $2,770 $2,265 $1,645 $

This tour against 4 comparable ones

All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.

Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsIceland Northern LightsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 days
ProviderG AdventuresIcelandic Mountain GuidesExodus Adventure TravelsIntrepid TravelOn The Go Tours
Pricefrom 1791 $from 2962 $from 2770 $from 2265 $from 1645 $
Duration
Group typesmall groupsmall groupsmall groupgroupgroup
In Englishyesyesyesyesyes
Admissionnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Pickupnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Rating (reviews)4.9 (70)4.7 (14)4.7 (14)4.6 (51)4.4 (183)
Quality floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floor
Free cancellation untilnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle
Provider
G Adventures
Price
from 1791 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.9 (70)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Provider
Icelandic Mountain Guides
Price
from 2962 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Iceland Northern Lights
Provider
Exodus Adventure Travels
Price
from 2770 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Northern Lights Escape
Provider
Intrepid Travel
Price
from 2265 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.6 (51)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days
Provider
On The Go Tours
Price
from 1645 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.4 (183)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated

The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.

How many people have judged it?

The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.

Iceland Northern Lights & Gold… (4.9)70 ratings
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)14 ratings
Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7)14 ratings
Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)51 ratings
Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)183 ratings

This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowIceland Northern Lights & Gold… (4.9)5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7)Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)
Ratings70 ratings14 ratings14 ratings51 ratings183 ratings

What the score really tells you

The rating stands at 4.9 out of 5, which is high by any measure. What matters more is the number behind it: 70 reviews. That is a solid sample, not a handful of enthusiastic outliers, and it puts this tour third out of 62 listings in its category for the breadth of feedback. In other words, the score is not just high, it is well supported. The rank within the category is fifth overall, which is strong given that the category is ordered by the strength of the evidence rather than the score alone. A 4.9 from 70 people is a more reliable signal than a perfect score from five, and this tour has that reliability on its side. The comparable listings in the same space include a five day Laugavegur trek with a 4.7 from 14 reviews, a plain northern lights tour at 4.7 from 14, and a six day escape at 4.6 from 51. None of them combines a score this high with a review count this large.

The day, stop by stop

The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.

  1. Meeting point

    You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.

  2. Reykjavik

  3. Back to where you started

    Back to the full list

A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.

Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year

Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.

Daily highDaily low
-4161217Daily high, Jul: 14.9 degrees C15Daily high, Jan: 3.2 degrees C3Daily low, Jul: 9.1 degrees C9Daily low, Feb: -1.9 degrees C-2JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec

There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Daily high3.2 degrees C3.3 degrees C4.2 degrees C6.9 degrees C10.1 degrees C13 degrees C14.9 degrees C14.1 degrees C11.4 degrees C7.6 degrees C4.7 degrees C3.3 degrees C
Daily low-1.7 degrees C-1.9 degrees C-1.3 degrees C1 degrees C4 degrees C7.2 degrees C9.1 degrees C8.6 degrees C6.2 degrees C2.7 degrees C-0.1 degrees C-1.6 degrees C

When the lights cooperate

The northern lights season runs through the darker months, and this tour is built around that window. In Reykjavik, the average high in September is 11 degrees and in October it drops to 8, with lows around 6 and 3 degrees respectively. By November the high is 5 degrees and the low hovers at freezing. That is cold enough for clear winter nights, which are what you need for aurora viewing, but the tour is only five days long, so you are limited to the conditions on your particular nights. The best chances come in the deepest winter months, December through February, when the high stays around 3 degrees and the low sits at minus 2. The trade-off is short daylight hours, which matter for the Golden Circle stops. In the shoulder months of September and April, you get milder temperatures and more daylight, but the aurora is less reliable. For this specific tour, the evening hours are the critical window, since the lights only appear after dark, and the five day length means you have a handful of attempts, not a full winter of them.

The full data sheet

Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.

Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows

Show all 113 figures
FactValueSource
The listing27
Operator's own titleIceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleTourRadar catalogue
OperatorG AdventuresTourRadar catalogue
Product number82883TourRadar catalogue
Departure pointReykjavikTourRadar catalogue
Duration5 daysTourRadar catalogue
Multi-dayyesTourRadar catalogue
Starting price$1,791TourRadar, live check
Starting price in local currencyabout 216,987 ISKRate 121.15 ISK to the USD
Rating4.9 out of 5TourRadar, live check
Number of ratings70TourRadar, live check
This project's quality barpassedOwn rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings
Rank within its category5 of 62 in “Five and six day trips”Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings
Admission to the sitenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Food on the tourincludedTourRadar catalogue
Pickup from your hotelnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Kind of guidingFully GuidedTourRadar catalogue
Guiding languagesEnglishTourRadar catalogue
Guide works in EnglishyesTourRadar catalogue
Bookable privatelynoTourRadar catalogue
Small groupyesTourRadar catalogue
Group form per the operatornot statedTourRadar catalogue
Priority entrynot statedTourRadar catalogue
Suitable for wheelchair usersnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Free cancellationnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Cancellation deadlinenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Basis in the cataloguenot statedOwn check of the catalogue fields
Operator's images5 photographsTourRadar catalogue
Reykjavik37
Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
Population of the greater capital region253,230Statistics Iceland
Area of the city244 km2Wikipedia
City charter granted18 August 1786Wikipedia
Weather station for the climate figures belowReykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological OfficeIcelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands)
Average high in January3.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in February3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in March4.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in April6.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in May10.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in June13 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in July14.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in August14.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in September11.4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in October7.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in November4.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in December3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in January-1.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in February-1.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in March-1.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in April1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in May4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in June7.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in July9.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in August8.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in September6.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in October2.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in November-0.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in December-1.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average annual precipitation875.9 mmIcelandic Meteorological Office
Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Main gateway airportKEFIsavia
Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik45 minFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Single city bus fare (Strætó)690 ISKStrætó bs
One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik)3,999 ISKFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik22,500 ISKHreyfill (taxi cooperative)
Sources: Þingvellir National Park27
Park entry fee, adult0 ISKArctic Adventures
Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats)1,000 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Toilet fee0 ISKIceland Review
Visitor centre opening hours09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar)Þingvellir National Park
Park access seasonGrounds open 24 hours, year-roundArctic Adventures
Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult1,200 ISKÞingvellir National Park
UNESCO World Heritage status since2,004UNESCO World Heritage Centre
Althing (Icelandic parliament) established930Þingvellir National Park
Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir1,798Þingvellir National Park
National park established1,930Þingvellir National Park
Core protected area92.7 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn surface area84 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth114 mWikipedia
Tectonic plate drift rate2 cm/yearÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure water temperature2-4 CÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed18 mÞingvellir National Park
Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person1,500 ISKDIVE.IS
Campsite fee, adult per night1,800 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Campsite seasonSummer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-roundÞingvellir National Park
Wheelchair accessibilityPaved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitableGolden Circle Iceland
Safety warningSnow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked pathsÞingvellir National Park
Recent path closurePart of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairsÞingvellir National Park
Öxarárfoss waterfall height12 mIceland Review
Þingvallakirkja church built1,859Iceland Review
Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool18Iceland Review
Road distance from Reykjavik47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Sources: Geysir geothermal area22
Entry fee to the geothermal area0 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Parking fee, car1,000 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Access seasonOpen-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hoursEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Protected area size3 km2Environment Agency of Iceland
Protected as a natural monument since2,020Environment Agency of Iceland
Identified thermal features in the area364Wikipedia
Elevation110 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption interval6-10 minWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, typical15-20 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded40 mWikipedia
Great Geysir, last known eruption2,016Iceland Review
Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record170 mWikipedia
Water temperature in the geyser conduit85-95 CWikipedia
First written record of Geysir13th centuryEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Land donated to the Icelandic nation1,935Environment Agency of Iceland
Recent change: footpath and safety projectCircular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025Environment Agency of Iceland
Safety warningStay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or killGuide to Iceland
Wheelchair accessibilityMain paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sectionsGolden Circle Iceland
Historic royal visits marked by stone markersDanish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones'Environment Agency of Iceland
Origin of the English word 'geyser'Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780Etymonline
Road distance from Reykjavik115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM

What happens on the ground

The tour operates out of Reykjavik, and the departure point is the city itself. The Golden Circle sights are the kind of places you reach by road, and the guide handles the driving and the timing. The stops themselves are open-air sites, and the weather in Iceland changes quickly, so the guide may adjust the order of the day or cut a stop short if conditions turn. The waterfalls on the route stay wet all year, and the paths around them freeze in winter, so sturdy footwear matters more than the tour description suggests. There is no formal entrance procedure at any of the stops, since none of them charges admission. The northern lights portion of the tour happens at night, and the guide decides where to go based on cloud cover and solar activity on the evening in question. That means patience is part of the deal, and a night with no visible lights is not a failure of the tour but a fact of the weather.

Who should book this

This tour suits travellers who want the Golden Circle and the aurora in one trip without organising transport or a hire car in winter conditions. It works well for first time visitors to Iceland who prefer a guided, English speaking small group and who want meals handled. The five day length is short enough to fit into a week off work, and the fully guided format means you do not need to navigate Icelandic roads in the dark. It is not for anyone who wants to set their own pace or spend a long time at each site, since a group itinerary has fixed stops and timings. It is also not for travellers who need the flexibility to cancel without cost, since this tour does not offer free cancellation. If that matters to you, the Land of the Northern Lights five day tour, at 1,645 USD, is cheaper and has a much larger review base of 183 ratings, though its score of 4.4 is lower. That tour is the realistic alternative if price or cancellation flexibility is your priority.

Similar tours on this site

Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

  1. from $1489
    To the page
  2. Signature: Iceland's Winterscapes, Golden Circle & Northern Lights National Geographic

    National Geographic Expeditions with G Adventures

    no reviews yet

    • English-speaking guide
    from $6999
    To the page
  3. Iceland Northern Lights

    Exodus Adventure Travels

    4.714 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $2770
    To the page
  4. Geluxe: Winter in Iceland: Waterfalls & Aurora Nights

    G Adventures

    no reviews yet

    • English-speaking guide
    from $2799
    To the page
  5. 5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour

    Snaeland Travel

    4.831 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Hotel pickup
    from $1003
    To the page
  6. Iceland Northern Lights Adventure

    Explore!

    4.718 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1480
    To the page

The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.

Common questions

Is admission included?

The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.

How long does the package really take?

The catalogue gives 5 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.

Is there a guide who works in English?

Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.

Where do I find all the data on this package?

In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Does this listing's rating mean anything?

Yes. 4.9 out of 5 from 70 is above the bar this site holds, which is 4.0 out of 5 from at least ten voices.

TOURRADAR

Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.

from $1791
Ansehen

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.

  1. 1
    TourRadar: Iceland Northern Lights & Golden CircleTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
  2. 2
    This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
  3. 3
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  4. 4
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  5. 5
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
  6. 6
    Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
  7. 7
    Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
  8. 8
    Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
  9. 9
    Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
  10. 10
    Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
  11. 11
    Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
  12. 12
    Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
  13. 13
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  14. 14
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
    Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
  18. 18
    Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
  19. 19
    Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
  20. 20
    UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
  21. 21
    DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
  22. 22
    Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  23. 23
  24. 24
    Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
  25. 25
    Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  26. 26
    Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  27. 27
    Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07