




Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4N
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 5 days
Five days of darkness, weather and the hunt for the aurora
This tour takes you out of Reykjavik for five days and four nights in search of the northern lights, with the city itself as your starting point and your base between excursions. Bamba Travel runs it as a fully guided, small-group trip in English, and the itinerary is built around the simple problem that the lights do not perform on schedule. You get five nights to try, which matters because clear skies and solar activity have to line up at the same time. The tour is aimed at travellers who want the aurora as the centrepiece of a short Icelandic trip rather than as a side note to sightseeing, and who are comfortable with the fact that success is never guaranteed. At from 1,366 USD, it sits among the cheapest fifth of the 62 five- and six-day packages in its category, which makes it a budget entry into a type of trip that often costs considerably more.











Photographs from the operator Bamba Travel. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Bamba Travel
- Duration
- 5 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- small group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $1,366
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The entry price of 1,366 USD covers the full five days, including food, which the operator states explicitly, and the services of an English-speaking guide for the whole trip. The tour is sold as a small group, and guiding is fully guided rather than a matter of meeting you at a few stops. No admission or parking fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary, so there is no gate cost to budget for along the way. What the price does not include is free cancellation. That is the exception in this category: 730 of 1,392 similar listings grant it, and this one does not. If your plans change, you will not get your money back unless the operator's own terms allow it, and those terms are not set out here. The operator also does not specify what happens with hotel pickup or what meals beyond the stated food provision look like, so you should plan for getting yourself to the starting point in Reykjavik.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure… | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,366 $ | 2,962 $ | 2,770 $ | 2,265 $ | 1,645 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4N | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Bamba Travel | Icelandic Mountain Guides | Exodus Adventure Travels | Intrepid Travel | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 1366 $ | from 2962 $ | from 2770 $ | from 2265 $ | from 1645 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | small group | small group | small group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.7 (14) | 4.7 (14) | 4.6 (51) | 4.4 (183) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Bamba Travel
- Price
- from 1366 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Price
- from 2962 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Exodus Adventure Travels
- Price
- from 2770 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 2265 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (51)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 1645 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (183)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Northern Lights Hunt A… (unrated) | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7) | Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7) | Northern Lights Escape… (4.6) | Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 14 ratings | 14 ratings | 51 ratings | 183 ratings |
A score that is not there yet
This tour has no rating at all, and that is the honest thing to say about it. It is not a bad score, because no score exists. There are no customer reviews behind it in the catalogue, which means you are booking on the strength of the operator's description and the price rather than on the accumulated experience of previous travellers. Its rank of 18 out of 62 in the five- and six-day category is based on the strength of evidence, not on customer satisfaction, and with zero ratings that evidence is thin. The comparable tours in the same space all have scores: the 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts has 4.7 from 14 ratings, the Iceland Northern Lights tour has 4.7 from 14, Northern Lights Escape has 4.6 from 51, and Land of the Northern Lights has 4.4 from 183. Those numbers give you something to weigh. This tour offers only its price advantage and its operator's promises.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Cold months, short days, long nights
The northern lights season in Iceland runs through the winter, and the temperature chart above tells you what that means. From October through March, daytime highs in Reykjavik stay between 3 and 8 degrees Celsius, with nights dropping to around zero or just below. January and February are the coldest months, with highs near 3 degrees and lows around minus 2. The real factor for this tour, though, is not the cold but the darkness. The aurora needs a dark sky, and winter delivers it: you are looking at perhaps four to six hours of usable daylight in the deepest months, which leaves long evenings and nights for the hunt. The tour runs five days, so you have multiple chances, but each night is a weather gamble. Cloud cover is the enemy, and winter in Iceland brings plenty of it. The best months for balancing darkness with clearer skies are often September and March, when the nights are still long but the weather is marginally more cooperative. If you book in high summer, you will find the sky never gets dark enough for the lights to show.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4N | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Bamba Travel | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 195635 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 5 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $1,366 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 165,496 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 18 of 62 in “Five and six day trips” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What happens when the hunt begins
The tour starts in Reykjavik, and the operator does not specify a meeting point beyond the city itself, so you will need to confirm the details directly with Bamba Travel before your departure date. Once the group is together, the guide takes you out of the city and away from its light pollution to look for clear skies. The itinerary is flexible by necessity: the guide reads the weather and the aurora forecast and adjusts the route accordingly. Some nights you may drive further, some nights you may wait longer, and some nights the lights simply do not appear. The stops themselves are not staffed attractions with opening hours. They are open landscapes where you get out of the vehicle, let your eyes adjust to the dark, and look up. The cold is a real factor, so you should dress for standing still outside in temperatures around freezing for extended periods. The guide is there to find the right spot and to read the conditions, but the experience itself is mostly patience and cold air.
Who should book this tour and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want the northern lights as the main event and are willing to trade comfort and certainty for a lower price. It is a five-day commitment with a single focus, and it is fully guided in English, which helps if you are new to Iceland or to winter travel. The lack of any customer rating means you are taking a chance on an operator without the reassurance of past reviews, so it fits travellers who are flexible and not easily disappointed. If you want the security of seeing what others have experienced, the Land of the Northern Lights tour at 1,645 USD has 183 ratings behind it, which gives you a much stronger evidence base for a similar length of trip. If you prefer a hiking-focused winter adventure rather than a lights hunt, the 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts at 2,962 USD offers a different kind of five-day experience, though at more than double the price. This tour is not for anyone who needs certainty of seeing the aurora, because no operator can promise that, and it is not for travellers who want a broad sightseeing itinerary with the lights as one stop among many.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $1791To the page
from $2770To the page
Geluxe: Winter in Iceland: Waterfalls & Aurora Nights
G Adventures
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $2799To the page
5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour
Snaeland Travel
4.831 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1003To the page
from $1480To the page
5 Days New Year's Northern Lights Adventure
GJ Travel
4.8only 7 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $2074To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 5 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4N
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Iceland Northern Lights Hunt Adventure 5D/4NTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
