




Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern Lights
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 4 days
Four days of walking, soaking, and winter darkness
This is a four-day small-group tour run by Icelandic Mountain Guides, setting out from Reykjavik and combining day hikes with hot spring visits and evening northern lights hunting. It is built for the short-break traveller who wants more than a coach loop of the Golden Circle, but who does not have a full week to spare. The itinerary moves through the landscapes south and east of the capital, with each day centred on a walk of moderate length and a soak in geothermal water. Nights are spent in accommodation along the route, and the tour runs in English with a fully guided format. The price starts at 2,305 USD per person, which places it at the upper end of what four-day packages from Reykjavik typically cost. The group size is kept small, which matters when the plan depends on weather windows for the lights and on trail conditions for the hikes.








Photographs from the operator Icelandic Mountain Guides. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Duration
- 4 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- small group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $2,305
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The 2,305 USD entry price covers food for the whole trip, which is worth noting because many multi-day tours in this category leave meals to you. Guiding is fully included, with an English-speaking guide stated by the operator. Accommodation along the route is part of the package as well. None of the places on the itinerary charges admission or parking, so there are no gate costs to budget for on top. The operator does not offer free cancellation on this tour, which is the exception among similar listings; most of the 1,392 tours in the wider catalogue grant it, so this one stands out for holding you to the booking. No other official amounts are added on the day, and the exchange rate used for the published price is 121.15 ISK per USD.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern Light… | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jö… | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Gla… | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landmannalauga… | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking Tour (C… |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 2,305 $ | 1,072 $ | 1,402 $ | 1,320 $ | 2,145 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Short breaks, three and four days”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern Lights | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón & … | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landmannalaugar & … | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking Tour (Camping) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Icelandic Mountain Guides | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures | Arctic Adventures |
| Price | from 2305 $ | from 1072 $ | from 1402 $ | from 1320 $ | from 2145 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | small group | group | group | small group | small group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | yes | not stated | yes | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.4 (172) | 4.5 (12) | 4.0 (2) | none |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Price
- from 2305 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1072 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (172)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1402 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.5 (12)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1320 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.0 (2)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 2145 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Hiking, Hot Springs and Northe… (unrated) | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South C… (4.4) | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coa… (4.5) | Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landma… (4.0) | Laugavegur Trek - 4 Day Hiking… (unrated) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 172 ratings | 12 ratings | 2 ratings | 0 ratings |
An honest look at the missing score
This tour has no rating yet, and that is the single most important thing to know before you book. It is not a bad sign, and it is not a good one. It means no verified customer has left a score, so you are judging the trip on the operator's description alone. In its category of 43 short-break packages, it ranks 14th by strength of evidence, which is a measure of how much is on record, not how good the tour is. By price it sits at 35 of 43, meaning it is among the most expensive fifth of its group, with prices in the category ranging from 252 to 6,018 USD. You are paying for a four-day, fully guided, food-included small group, and you should weigh that against the absence of any customer feedback. The three comparable tours with ratings all cost less, but none of them matches this one's combination of length, meals, and guiding.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
When the season works for this tour
The tour runs through the colder half of the year, when darkness gives the northern lights their chance. Reykjavik's monthly averages show highs of 3 degrees in January and February, rising slowly to 4 in March and 7 in April, with lows around freezing or just below. By May the high reaches 10 degrees and the low sits at 4, which is the edge of the season for lights hunting. The long winter nights are the point: the sun barely rises in December and January, giving hours of darkness after dinner for aurora watching. In March and April you still get enough darkness, but the days lengthen quickly, so the timing of the evening activity matters more. The hikes themselves are doable in winter conditions, but you should expect cold, wet feet and icy patches on the trail. The tour's four-day length means you have multiple chances for clear skies, which is the real advantage over a single-night outing.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern Lights | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Icelandic Mountain Guides | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 222461 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 4 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $2,305 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 279,260 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 14 of 43 in “Short breaks, three and four days” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What happens once you leave Reykjavik
The tour starts in Reykjavik and heads out from there, so your first meeting point is in the city. The stops along the way are the kind of places where you park and walk: there is no ticket booth or visitor centre at most of them, and the experience is shaped by the weather. In winter, a sudden storm can close a road or make a trail unsafe, and the guide has the authority to change the plan on the day. That is not a failure of the tour; it is how these landscapes work. The hot springs are the one part of the itinerary where the cold works in your favour, since the contrast between the water and the air is part of the appeal. You will need to be ready to move when the guide says move, because daylight is short and the schedule is tight.
Who should book this tour, and who should not
This tour suits travellers who want a proper walking holiday in winter, with a guide to handle the logistics and meals taken care of. It is a poor fit for anyone who wants a relaxed coach tour with long stops at museums or cafes, because the emphasis is on being outside and covering ground. It is also not for the budget traveller: at 2,305 USD it is markedly more expensive than the four-day Snæfellsnes, South Coast and Glacier Lagoon tour from the same category, which runs 1,402 USD, or the three-day Golden Circle and South Coast option at 1,072 USD. If you are unsure about winter hiking, the Hidden Highlands three-day tour at 1,320 USD offers a shorter commitment, though it has only two ratings. The Laugavegur Trek, also four days at 2,145 USD, is a camping trip and a different kind of roughing it. This tour is for someone who wants the hot springs and the lights without carrying a tent, and who accepts that the lack of reviews means trusting the operator's reputation.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

3-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour
Snaeland Travel
4.911 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $785To the page
from $2392To the page
from $2145To the page
Hidden Highlands: 3-Day Landmannalaugar & Grænihryggur Hiking Tour
Arctic Adventures
4.0only 2 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1320To the page
from $1791To the page
from $2770To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 4 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern Lights
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Hiking, Hot Springs and Northern LightsTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
