Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this works





Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 Days/5 Nights
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 6 days
Six days of winter darkness and green skies
This tour starts in Reykjavik and spends six days and five nights chasing the northern lights across Iceland. CIE Tours runs it as a fully guided package in English, so you travel with a guide who handles the logistics and watches the forecasts. The itinerary is built around the aurora, but the daylight hours are not wasted. You move between the classic stops of the south and west, with the lights as the evening goal. The price starts at 3,295 USD, which puts it at the upper end of five and six day packages in this catalogue. It suits travellers who want the structure of a guided group rather than renting a car and chasing clear skies on their own. The tour runs from Reykjavik itself, so you do not need to factor in a transfer from another city.











Photographs from CIE Tours's listing. They show the package, not necessarily your day.
- Operator
- CIE Tours
- Duration
- 6 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $3,295
- Start and end
- Start and end in Reykjavik
- Rating
- no ratings yet
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The 3,295 USD entry price includes your food for the trip. CIE Tours states this explicitly, so meals are part of what you pay for. The guiding is also fully covered, with an English speaking guide accompanying the group throughout the six days. Beyond that, the operator does not break down what else sits inside the price, such as accommodation or transport between stops. You should assume those are part of the package, since this is a guided tour rather than a self drive arrangement, but the operator does not itemise them.
No official fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary. None of the stops charges admission or parking, so you will not face a gate cost during the day. There is no free cancellation on this tour. That is worth noting before you book, because it is the exception among similar listings. Most tours in this group allow you to cancel without a charge, but this one does not. If your plans might change, you need to be sure before committing. The operator does not state what the cancellation policy is beyond that, so you would need to ask directly if you want the details.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 D… | Gems of Iceland with Northern Lights | Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circl… | 6 Day - Iceland Ring Road Small-Group … | 5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt… |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 3,295 USD | 2,999 USD | 1,791 USD | 1,776 USD | 1,003 USD |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 Days/5 Nights | Gems of Iceland with Northern Lights | Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle | 6 Day - Iceland Ring Road Small-Group Tour | 5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier … | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | CIE Tours | Globus | G Adventures | BusTravel Iceland | Snaeland Travel |
| Price | from 3295 $ | from 2999 $ | from 1791 $ | from 1776 $ | from 1003 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | private | small group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | yes | yes |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 5.0 (66) | 4.9 (70) | 4.8 (46) | 4.8 (31) |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- CIE Tours
- Price
- from 3295 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 2999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- private
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (66)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- G Adventures
- Price
- from 1791 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.9 (70)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- BusTravel Iceland
- Price
- from 1776 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.8 (46)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Snaeland Travel
- Price
- from 1003 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.8 (31)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
Below about ten ratings a score says more about chance than about the tour.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Northern Lights Quest of Icela… (unrated) | Gems of Iceland with Northern … (5.0) | Iceland Northern Lights & Gold… (4.9) | 6 Day - Iceland Ring Road Smal… (4.8) | 5-Day Small Group Northern Lig… (4.8) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 | 66 | 70 | 46 | 31 |
What the missing score means
This tour has no rating yet. That is the honest core of this page. It does not mean the tour is bad, and it does not mean it is good. It means nobody has come back and left a score, so there is no evidence to weigh. In a category of 62 tours, it sits at rank 42, which is ordered by the strength of evidence rather than by quality. With no ratings behind it, that rank is simply a placeholder.
The comparable tours in this group do have scores. The 5 Day Laugavegur Trek has a 4.7 from 14 ratings. The Iceland Northern Lights tour also has a 4.7 from 14. The Northern Lights Escape, at six days like this one, has a 4.6 from 51 ratings. The Land of the Northern Lights has a 4.4 from 183 ratings. Those numbers give you a sense of what travellers think of similar itineraries. This tour has none of that yet. You are an early customer, and your review would be the first. That is not a warning, but it is a fact to weigh against the price.
The trip, stop by stop
Places this site holds figures for along the route, in the usual order. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Start
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 °C | 3.3 °C | 4.2 °C | 6.9 °C | 10.1 °C | 13 °C | 14.9 °C | 14.1 °C | 11.4 °C | 7.6 °C | 4.7 °C | 3.3 °C |
| Daily low | -1.7 °C | -1.9 °C | -1.3 °C | 1 °C | 4 °C | 7.2 °C | 9.1 °C | 8.6 °C | 6.2 °C | 2.7 °C | -0.1 °C | -1.6 °C |
Winter months and the hours between dusk and dawn
The northern lights only show in darkness, which in Iceland means the months from September through March. The temperature chart above shows what that means for this tour. In September, the high reaches 11 degrees and the low sits at 6. By October, the high drops to 8 and the low to 3. November brings a high of 5 and a low around freezing. December, January and February all hover near a high of 3 degrees and a low of minus 2. March stays similar, with a high of 4 and a low of minus 1.
The tour runs six days, so you are not spending a full winter in the cold. You are out for a week of short daylight hours and long nights. The aurora needs those long nights to appear, so the season is exactly what makes the tour possible. The cold is manageable if you dress for it, but it is constant. April and May warm up, with highs of 7 and then 10 degrees, but the nights shorten and the lights fade. For this particular tour, the window is the dark half of the year, and the temperatures above are what you will face.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 152 rows
Show all 152 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing28 | ||
| Operator's own title | Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 Days/5 Nights | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Operator | CIE Tours | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Product number | 304676 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Duration | 6 days | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price | $3,295 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price in local currency | about 397,420 ISK | Rate 120.61 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Rank within its category | 45 of 62 in “Five and six day trips” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Small group | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Start and end | Start and end in Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Data as of | 2026-09-07 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Reykjavik124 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| City swimming pools, adult single entry | 1,500 ISK · From the published fee schedule. | Reykjavik City Council |
| Hot dog, Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur | 880 ISK · Price reported 24 Mar 2026; mbl.is reported 920 on 25 Jul 2026 (page blocked, headline only). | DV (quoting the stand) |
| Burger, fries and soda, Tommi's (Tilboð Aldarinnar) | 2,190 ISK | Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu |
| Icelandic lamb soup, 101 Reykjavik Street Food | 2,890 ISK | 101 Reykjavik Street Food menu |
| Cinnamon bun (snúður), Bakarameistarinn | 549 ISK | Bakarameistarinn |
| Set lunch (fish of the day or burger with soda), Slippbarinn | 2,900 ISK | Slippbarinn |
| Fish and chips, Reykjavik Fish | 3,490 ISK | Reykjavik Fish |
| Icelandic plate, Café Loki | 5,550 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Meat soup, Café Loki | 4,850 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Arctic char pan, Messinn | 4,690 ISK · Read in the menu PDF linked from the live site (Plokkfiskur 4,190, Bleikja 4,690); the PDF file itself dates from Dec 2023. | Messinn menu (PDF) |
| Rye bread ice cream, Café Loki | 1,600 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Tasting menu, Grillmarkaðurinn | 16,990 ISK per person | Grillmarkaðurinn |
| Latte, Kaffibarinn | 800 ISK | Kaffibarinn |
| Ísey skyr, Krónan | 305 ISK per 170 g | Krónan online shop |
| Ready sandwich, Krónan | 659 ISK | Krónan online shop |
| Half loaf, Krónan | 338 ISK per 385 g | Krónan online shop |
| Whole milk, Krónan | 239 ISK per litre | Krónan online shop |
| Óðals cheese, Krónan | 1,545 ISK per 460 g | Krónan online shop |
| Banana, Krónan | 66 ISK each | Krónan online shop |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, regular price | 1,700 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, happy hour 15-20 | 1,050 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Egils Gull, Vínbúðin | 499 ISK per 500 ml can | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Gato Negro Cabernet Sauvignon, Vínbúðin | 1,799 ISK per 750 ml · Not confirmed on the store search page on 2026-09-11. Context only: the planner prices drinks from bar beer. | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Flybus hotel drop-off supplement | 1,300 ISK | Flybus |
| Airport fee on a Hreyfill airport taxi | 490 ISK · From the published tariff of 18 March 2026. | Hreyfill |
| Strætó Klapp daily cap (never more than 3 fares a day) | 3 fares per day · Not confirmed on the page text read on 2026-09-11 (the 690 fare is). The planner does not rely on the cap: two rides a day stay below it. | Strætó price list |
| Reykjavik City Card, 24 hours | 6,100 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 48 hours | 8,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 72 hours | 10,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Central Reykjavik parking, zone P1 | 660 ISK per hour | Reykjavíkurborg |
| Kilometre tax on cars, 2026 | 6.95 ISK per km · Blue Car Rental and Lotus charge a flat 1,550 ISK per rental day instead. | Ísland.is |
| Kilometre tax as charged by Blue Car Rental and Lotus | 1,550 ISK per rental day | Blue Car Rental |
| Petrol 95, capital-area median of 75 stations | 261.3 ISK per litre · Changes daily; the build can refresh it from the same file. Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Diesel, capital-area median of 75 stations | 293.2 ISK per litre · Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 7,173 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 12,604 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 9,733 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 17,083 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Yaris, single-day hire, Nov 2026 (vs 8,140 a day over 3 days) | 20,040 ISK · Quoted by the company booking engine, single day against 8,140 ISK a day over three days, Nov 2026. | Lotus Car Rental |
| Sand and ash protection, small car, Hertz Iceland | 1,990 ISK per day | Hertz Iceland |
| Toyota Aygo 1.0 petrol, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.1 L per 100 km · A test figure; real driving in wind and cold uses more. | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 1.5 4WD, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.7 L per 100 km · Fuel type not stated on the page; a 1.5 L manual 4WD Duster is the diesel, so the planner prices it at the diesel median. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Aygo, 'price per day from', 2026 | 7,408 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 4WD, 'price per day from', 2026 | 9,547 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, low season | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, high season | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, low season | 5,000 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, high season | 8,350 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, low season | 8,550 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, high season | 14,060 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, low season | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, high season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, low season | 21,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, high season | 33,200 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, low season | 26,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, high season | 37,100 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, low season | 42,600 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, high season | 49,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, low season | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, high season | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, low season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, high season | 39,300 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, low season | 14,628 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, high season | 22,911 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, low season | 22,235 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, high season | 34,824 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, low season | 18,550 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, high season | 31,500 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, low season | 20,400 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, high season | 25,415 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Planner default: hostel bed, low season (median of the examples) | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · Median of [5094, 5000, 8550]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: hostel bed, high season (median of the examples) | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · Median of [9517, 8350, 14060]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: mid double, low season (median of the examples) | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [23800, 21900, 26700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: mid double, high season (median of the examples) | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [34700, 33200, 37100]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, low season (median of the examples) | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [42600, 39700, 34700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, high season (median of the examples) | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [49700, 44900, 39300]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: budget double, low season (median of the examples) | 19,475 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [14628, 22235, 18550, 20400]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: budget double, high season (median of the examples) | 28,458 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [22911, 34824, 31500, 25415]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Accommodation tax (gistináttaskattur), hotels and guesthouses | 800 ISK per room per night · Also in the current law text: https://www.althingi.is/lagas/nuna/2011087.html. 400 ISK for campsites. Some quotes exclude it (HI Loft says so); the planner adds it unless a price includes it. | Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 |
| Capital-region hotel room occupancy, January 2026 | 56.1 percent · Context for the low season: January is the least-occupied month, so January rates may sit below the November prices used here. | Statistics Iceland |
| Adult admission at the National Museum of Iceland | 3,300 ISK · Under-18s and visitors with disabilities enter free; students and seniors pay 1,600 ISK. | National Museum of Iceland |
| Adult admission at the Reykjavik Art Museum | 2,550 ISK · One ticket is valid for 24 hours at all three houses, Hafnarhús, Kjarvalsstaðir and Ásmundarsafn. Under-18s enter free. The museum states that the Reykjavík City Card gives free admission. | Reykjavík Art Museum |
| Return ferry fare to Viðey, adult | 2,500 ISK · Children 7 to 17 pay 1,250 ISK and children under 7 travel free, up to three per adult. Students, seniors and disabled visitors pay 2,250 ISK. | Elding Adventure at Sea |
| Museums and attractions the City Card admits free | 17 · Named on the card's own page, among them the National Museum, all three Reykjavík Art Museum houses, the National Gallery, the Settlement Exhibition, the Maritime Museum, Árbær Open Air Museum, Viðey Island and the Family Park and Zoo. | Visit Reykjavík |
| Geothermal pools the City Card admits free | 8 · Laugardalslaug, Árbæjarlaug, Sundhöll Reykjavíkur, Vesturbæjarlaug, Dalslaug, Grafarvogslaug, Breiðholtslaug and Klébergslaug. | Visit Reykjavík |
| City buses on the City Card | Yes, unlimited Strætó travel in the capital area, excluding airport bus 55 · The airport coach is a separate fare and is not carried by the card. | Visit Reykjavík |
| The City Card's rule for children | Children under 18 enter the covered museums free with any adult card · There is no child card. The National Museum and the Reykjavík Art Museum admit under-18s free in any case, with or without a card. | Visit Reykjavík |
What happens when the tour gets moving
The tour departs from Reykjavik, so your first day starts in the capital. The guide meets the group and sets the plan for the next six days. The itinerary moves between the sights of southern and western Iceland, with the aurora as the evening focus. The guide watches the forecast and decides where to go for the best chance of clear skies. That means the plan can shift at short notice, which is normal for a lights tour.
The stops themselves are straightforward. You are visiting Icelandic sights, which tend to be open air with a car park and a path. There is no staffed entrance at most of them, and no ticket to buy. The weather is the main variable. Rain and wind can make a stop uncomfortable, and snow can close roads entirely. If the guide turns back because conditions are unsafe, that is the guide doing the job properly. The cold is a factor all day, not just at night, so you want layers that work for both the daytime stops and the evening waits for the lights.
Who should book this tour
This tour suits travellers who want the aurora handled for them. You do not need to rent a car, plan a route, or watch the weather forecasts yourself. The guide does that. It also suits people who prefer to travel with a group and have meals included, since the food is part of the price. The fully guided format means you are not navigating on your own, which helps if you are new to winter driving or to Iceland.
It does not suit budget travellers. At 3,295 USD, this is among the most expensive 13 percent of the 62 tours in its category. The range in that group starts at 644 USD and reaches 7,595, so you are paying well above the middle. If the price matters, the Land of the Northern Lights tour offers five days from 1,645 USD, or the Northern Lights Escape runs six days from 2,265 USD. Both are cheaper, and both have ratings you can read. This tour has no ratings yet, so you are booking without that safety net. If you want evidence from past travellers before you spend, one of those alternatives gives it to you. If you want a guided, all inclusive structure and are willing to pay for it, this tour is built for that.
Similar packages on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $2999See details
from $1791See details
5-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon Tour
Snaeland Travel
4.831 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1003See details
from $2265See details
from $1645See details
from $1480See details
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability from GetYourGuide's partner catalogue. Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 6 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where does it start and end?
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 Days/5 Nights
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the partner catalogue as exported in September 2026.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar partner catalogue: Northern Lights Quest of Iceland - 6 Days/5 Nights accessed 2026-09-07Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-10Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Reykjavik City Council accessed 2026-09-07
- 14DV (quoting the stand) accessed 2026-09-11
- 15Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 16101 Reykjavik Street Food menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 17Bakarameistarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 18Slippbarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 19Reykjavik Fish accessed 2026-09-11
- 20Café Loki menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 21Messinn menu (PDF) accessed 2026-09-11
- 22Grillmarkaðurinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 23Kaffibarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 24Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 25Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 26Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 27Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 28Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 29Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 30Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search accessed 2026-09-11
- 31Flybus accessed 2026-09-11
- 32Hreyfill accessed 2026-09-11
- 33Strætó price list accessed 2026-09-11
- 34Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-11
- 35Reykjavíkurborg accessed 2026-09-11
- 36Ísland.is accessed 2026-09-11
- 37Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 38Gasvaktin (public data file) accessed 2026-09-11
- 39Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 40Lotus Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 41Hertz Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 42Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 43Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 44Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 45Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 46Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 47Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 48Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 49Kex booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 50HI Loft booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 51Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel accessed 2026-09-11
- 52Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 53Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 54Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 accessed 2026-09-11
- 55Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 56National Museum of Iceland accessed 2026-09-12
- 57Reykjavík Art Museum accessed 2026-09-12
- 58Elding Adventure at Sea accessed 2026-09-12
- 59Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-12
- 60Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 61Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 62Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 63Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07

