




Iceland Family Holiday
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 6 days
Six days with Intrepid Travel
This is a six-day, fully guided small-group tour of Iceland run by Intrepid Travel, starting and ending in Reykjavik. The itinerary is built for families, with the operator explicitly including food across the trip and an English-speaking guide leading the way. You will be travelling with a small group, which keeps the pace manageable for children and leaves room for questions at each stop. The tour is sold as a family holiday, so the expectation is that you will be moving between sights with younger travellers in tow. It runs for six days, which is long enough to get a proper sense of the country without dragging on for younger legs. The departure point is Reykjavik itself, so you will not need to factor in a transfer from another city at the start. The price begins at 2,788 USD per person, which places it among the more expensive options in its category, a point worth weighing against what the operator includes. The tour is listed in the five-and-six-day packages category, where it sits at 37 of 62 entries when ordered by the strength of the evidence behind it.












Photographs from the operator Intrepid Travel. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Intrepid Travel
- Duration
- 6 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- small group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $2,788
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers
The entry price of 2,788 USD covers food, which the operator states explicitly as included. Beyond that, the catalogue does not itemise what else sits inside that figure, so you should read the price as covering the guiding, the transport between stops, and the meals named. No official figure is published for what might be added on the day, and none of the places on the itinerary charges admission or parking, so there is no gate cost to budget for. The operator does not offer free cancellation on this booking, which is worth noting before you commit. That is the exception in this category: most comparable tours grant it, so its absence here is a real difference. The price itself ranks 44 of 62 in its group, putting it in the most expensive 29 percent of the five-and-six-day packages, which range from 644 to 7,595 USD. You are paying towards the upper end, and the food inclusion plus the family focus are the concrete returns on that outlay.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Family Holiday | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 2,788 $ | 2,962 $ | 2,770 $ | 2,265 $ | 1,645 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland Family Holiday | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Intrepid Travel | Icelandic Mountain Guides | Exodus Adventure Travels | Intrepid Travel | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 2788 $ | from 2962 $ | from 2770 $ | from 2265 $ | from 1645 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | small group | small group | small group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.7 (14) | 4.7 (14) | 4.6 (51) | 4.4 (183) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 2788 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Price
- from 2962 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Exodus Adventure Travels
- Price
- from 2770 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 2265 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (51)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 1645 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (183)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Family Holiday… (unrated) | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7) | Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7) | Northern Lights Escape… (4.6) | Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 14 ratings | 14 ratings | 51 ratings | 183 ratings |
What the score is worth
This tour has no rating yet. That is the honest core of the page: it is unevidenced, not bad. With no customer reviews behind it, you cannot lean on the experience of others to predict what the trip will feel like. In its category of 62 five-and-six-day packages, it ranks 37 by strength of evidence, which is a measure of how much is known about it, not how well it scores. By price it sits higher, at 44 of 62, so you are paying a premium without the reassurance of past travellers' verdicts. The operator, Intrepid Travel, is a known name in small-group travel, which carries some weight, but that is not the same as a score for this specific itinerary. If the absence of reviews matters to you, the comparable listings in the same category with ratings include the 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts at 4.7 from 14 reviews, the Iceland Northern Lights tour at 4.7 from 14, and the Northern Lights Escape at 4.6 from 51. Those give you a track record to weigh against this tour's clean slate.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
When the season suits this tour
The tour runs six days, and the climate figures for Reykjavik show what you can expect across the year. From June through August, highs sit between 13 and 15 degrees Celsius, with lows between 7 and 9, which is the warmest window and the most comfortable for family travel with children. May and September are cooler, with highs of 10 and 11 degrees respectively, and lows around 4 to 6, still workable but requiring warmer layers. From October through April, highs drop to between 3 and 8 degrees, and lows fall to freezing or just below from November through February. The daylight hours follow the same pattern, though the fact file does not give specific times. For a six-day itinerary that moves between sights, the summer months give you the mildest conditions and the longest days, which matters when you are keeping children engaged. The winter months are colder and darker, and the tour's family focus suggests that the warmer half of the year is the more natural fit.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland Family Holiday | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Intrepid Travel | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 293221 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 6 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $2,788 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 337,777 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 37 of 62 in “Five and six day trips” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What the first day looks like
The tour departs from Reykjavik, so your first day begins in the city itself. The itinerary lists Reykjavik as the departure point and the first place on the route, which means you will be starting in the capital before heading out to the wider sights. The operator runs this as a fully guided tour, so there will be a guide in English meeting the group at the start. The catalogue does not specify a meeting point or a time, so you will need to confirm those details directly with Intrepid Travel before you travel. The tour includes food, so meals from the first day onward are covered. The weather in Iceland can close roads, and a guide who turns back is doing the job properly, but that is a general truth rather than a specific promise for this itinerary. What you can count on is that the guiding is in English, the group is small, and the food is handled.
Who this tour is for
This tour is for families who want Iceland's sights without the logistics of planning every meal and route themselves. The food inclusion removes a daily decision, and the small-group format with an English-speaking guide means you are not navigating alone. It suits travellers who are comfortable paying a premium for a structured trip with a known operator. It is not for those who want to read reviews before booking, since there are none yet for this itinerary. It is also not for travellers who want flexibility on cancellation, since the operator does not offer free cancellation here. If a rating matters to you, the Northern Lights Escape, at six days and from 2,265 USD with a 4.6 score from 51 reviews, is a cheaper alternative in the same length with a track record behind it. That tour is the closest comparison for price and duration, and it gives you the evidence this one lacks.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

6-Day Laugavegur & Fimmvörðuháls in Huts
Icelandic Mountain Guides
4.8only 4 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $3235To the page
from $2887To the page
from $1791To the page
Iceland: Chasing Lights & Winter Delights (Women-Only)
Adventures in Good Company
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
- Hotel pickup
from $7595To the page
from $2770To the page
Explore Iceland: Golden Circle & Snaefellsnes Peninsula
Intrepid Travel
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $2543To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 6 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Iceland Family Holiday
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Iceland Family HolidayTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
