
Premium Iceland in Winter
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 8 days
Eight winter days around Iceland from Reykjavik
This is an eight-day, fully guided circuit of Iceland in winter, run by Intrepid Premium and starting in Reykjavik. The tour is sold as a small group and is led in English throughout. From the capital, the route takes you around the country's key sights, with the itinerary built for the shorter daylight and colder conditions of the colder months. At 3,409 USD for the full eight days, it sits in the middle of the price range for one-week Icelandic packages, which run from about 1,050 USD to nearly 12,900 USD. The tour is designed for travellers who want the structure of a guided group but with a smaller number of participants than a standard coach tour. You will be based in a different place most nights, moving between the south coast, the Golden Circle area and other regions depending on the day's plan. The departure point is Reykjavik itself, so your trip begins and ends in the capital, which makes it straightforward to add on a day or two in the city before or after the tour.

Photographs from the operator Intrepid Premium. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Intrepid Premium
- Duration
- 8 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- small group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $3,409
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The entry price of 3,409 USD covers the full eight days, including food. Meals are explicitly part of what the operator provides, so you are not budgeting separately for breakfast, lunch or dinner along the way. The guiding is fully guided, meaning a professional English-speaking guide stays with the group for the whole circuit rather than meeting you at each stop. Transport between the places on the itinerary is also part of the package, as is the accommodation for the seven nights. No admission or parking fees apply at any of the places on this tour's itinerary, so there are no gate costs to add to your daily spending. The operator does not offer free cancellation on this tour. That is worth noting because most listings in this catalogue do grant it, so if your plans are not fixed, you should check the terms before booking. The price you see is the starting price, and the final cost can depend on the departure date you choose and the room configuration you pick.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Premium Iceland in Winter | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 3,409 $ | 4,101 $ | 4,999 $ | 3,477 $ | 3,817 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Premium Iceland in Winter | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Intrepid Premium | Intrepid Travel | Globus | On The Go Tours | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 3409 $ | from 4101 $ | from 4999 $ | from 3477 $ | from 3817 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | small group | group | group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.1 (45) | 5.0 (436) | 4.6 (15) | 4.7 (7) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Intrepid Premium
- Price
- from 3409 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 4101 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.1 (45)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3477 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (15)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3817 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (7)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Premium Iceland in Winter… (unrated) | Iceland Discovery… (4.1) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Northern Lights Exploration - … (4.6) | Iceland Circle - 8 Days… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 45 ratings | 436 ratings | 15 ratings | 7 ratings |
An unevidenced score in a crowded field
This tour has no customer rating yet. There are no reviews behind it, no number of travellers who have taken it and scored it. That is the honest core of this listing: it is unevidenced, not bad. In the category of one-week Icelandic packages, which holds 71 tours, this one is ranked 20 of 71, but that rank is based on the strength of the available information rather than on traveller feedback. By price, it sits at rank 28 of 71, squarely in the middle of the field. The four comparable tours of the same length all have ratings, from 4.1 out of 5 based on 45 reviews for Iceland Discovery, up to 5.0 out of 5 based on 436 reviews for Iceland Adventure. Northern Lights Exploration has 4.6 from 15 reviews, and Iceland Circle has 4.7 from just 7. Against those, this tour is the only one with no score at all. That does not mean it is worse, only that nobody has yet recorded their experience of it. If you are the kind of traveller who books on the strength of other people's verdicts, you will have to weigh that absence against the lower starting price and the inclusion of meals.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Winter daylight and the cold months
This tour runs in winter, and the season matters for what you will see and how much of it. In Reykjavik, the average high in January is 3 degrees and the low is minus 2. February is the same, and December matches it. March warms slightly to a high of 4 degrees, and April to 7. The daylight is the bigger factor. In the deep winter months, the sun is up for only a few hours around midday, so the daily itinerary has to fit its sights into a short window. The tour's length of eight days is partly a response to that: you spend more days covering less ground each day than you would in summer, because driving between stops in the dark or on icy roads is not practical. By late March and April, the days stretch out noticeably, with highs reaching 7 degrees in April and the low staying above freezing. If you want the best balance of winter atmosphere and usable daylight, the shoulder weeks of the season, rather than the darkest weeks of December and January, give you more hours at each stop. The weather in Iceland in these months is changeable, and a guide will adjust the plan when conditions demand it.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Premium Iceland in Winter | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Intrepid Premium | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 215309 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 8 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $3,409 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 413,014 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 20 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 1 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What happens when the tour gets going
The tour starts in Reykjavik, and the group gathers there before heading out on the circuit. Because the itinerary moves between different places, you will be travelling with your luggage for the full eight days, so packing for winter conditions is part of the preparation. The stops on the route are the classic Icelandic sights, and in winter they are subject to the weather. A guide who turns back from a planned stop because of road conditions or visibility is doing the job properly, and the itinerary can shift to keep the group safe. The places themselves are mostly open-air sights, so you will be outside for long stretches in temperatures around freezing. The waterfalls and other natural features stay wet all year and freeze in winter, which means the paths around them can be icy. The operator does not specify a particular meeting time for the first morning, so you should confirm the departure details directly when you book. The tour is fully guided, so you do not need to worry about navigation or timings between stops; the guide handles that.
Who this suits and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want the reassurance of a guided group in winter conditions without the scale of a large coach tour. The small-group format and the inclusion of all meals make it a straightforward choice if you prefer to pay one price and not think about the details. It also suits those who are comfortable booking without a track record of reviews, since the operator is established but this particular product has no customer scores yet. If you are a traveller who relies heavily on past passengers' opinions, you would be better served by Iceland Adventure, which has a perfect 5.0 score from 436 reviews, though it costs more at 4,999 USD. Iceland Discovery, at 4,101 USD with 4.1 from 45 reviews, is another option with evidence behind it. If you are on a tighter budget, Northern Lights Exploration starts at 3,477 USD, only 68 USD more than this tour, and has a 4.6 score from 15 reviews. This tour is not for anyone who wants to travel independently or who expects to make up the route as they go, since the value here is in the structure and the guidance.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

Geluxe: Winter in Iceland: Otherworldly Landscapes & Northern Lights
G Adventures
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $3799To the page
Northern Lights Exploration (Small Group) - 8 days
On The Go Tours
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $4556To the page
Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & Snæfellsnes Peninsula
G Adventures
5.063 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $2227To the page
from $2845To the page
from $9395To the page
from $1791To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 8 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Premium Iceland in Winter
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Premium Iceland in WinterTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
