Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this works





Best of Iceland featuring the Northern Lights
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 8 days
Eight days around Iceland with the northern lights in view
This is an eight-day, fully guided circuit of Iceland that starts and ends in Reykjavik. You travel with Collette, and the guiding is in English throughout. The tour is built around the country's main route, the Ring Road, and it is timed for the darker months when the northern lights have a chance of appearing. The exact itinerary is not detailed in the catalogue, but the tour's name points to two things: a broad sweep of the island's landscapes and evening or night stops where the aurora might show. The price starts at 4,399 USD per person. That places it among the more expensive week-long packages on the market, though it is far from the top of that range. The tour runs for eight days, which is enough to cover a substantial portion of the country without feeling rushed. It suits travellers who want the logistics handled, a guide to explain what you are seeing, and a group to share the experience with. You will need to be comfortable with a coach-based itinerary and with the flexible scheduling that aurora hunting requires, since the best viewing nights are dictated by the weather and the solar forecast rather than by a fixed plan.







Photographs from Collette's listing. They show the package, not necessarily your day.
- Operator
- Collette
- Duration
- 8 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $4,399
- Start and end
- Start and end in Reykjavik
- Rating
- no ratings yet
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it does not
The 4,399 USD entry price includes your meals for the duration of the tour. That is stated plainly by the operator, so you will not be budgeting separately for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The guiding is also fully included, meaning you have an English-speaking guide with you through the eight days. No admission fees or parking charges apply at any of the places on the itinerary, so there is no extra gate cost to plan for at the sights themselves. What the operator does not say is whether any optional activities or excursions are sold separately during the tour. There is no mention of add-ons in the catalogue, and no official figure is published for any optional extra. You should also note that this tour does not offer free cancellation. That is unusual among the listings in this category, where the majority allow you to cancel without a penalty. If you book this one, you are committing to the dates and the payment schedule, so it is worth being sure of your plans before you confirm.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Best of Iceland featuring the Northern… | Iceland Adventure | Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & S… | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle & Snæfe… | 8 Days Northern Lights Exploration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 4,399 USD | 4,999 USD | 2,227 USD | 3,524 USD | 2,845 USD |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Best of Iceland featuring the Northern Lights | Iceland Adventure | Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & Snæfellsnes … | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle & Snæfellsnes … | 8 Days Northern Lights Exploration | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Collette | Globus | G Adventures | G Adventures | GJ Travel |
| Price | from 4399 $ | from 4999 $ | from 2227 $ | from 3524 $ | from 2845 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | small group | group | private |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | included |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 5.0 (436) | 5.0 (63) | 5.0 (42) | 4.7 (102) |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Collette
- Price
- from 4399 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- G Adventures
- Price
- from 2227 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (63)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- G Adventures
- Price
- from 3524 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (42)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- GJ Travel
- Price
- from 2845 $
- Duration
- Group type
- private
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- included
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (102)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
Below about ten ratings a score says more about chance than about the tour.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Best of Iceland featuring the … (unrated) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Iceland Adventure: Northern Li… (5.0) | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle… (5.0) | 8 Days Northern Lights Explora… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 10 | 436 | 63 | 42 | 102 |
A tour without a track record yet
This listing has no customer ratings at all. That is the honest core of the page: the tour is unevidenced, not bad. There is no score to weigh, no number of reviews to tell you how many people have taken it and what they thought. In a category of 71 week-long packages, it sits at rank 46 when the listings are ordered by the strength of the evidence behind them. That rank is not a judgment on quality, it is a reflection of the fact that no one has left a rating yet. By price, it ranks 47th of the 71, which puts it in the more expensive third of the group. The price range across the category runs from about 1,050 USD to nearly 12,900 USD, so this tour sits comfortably in the upper middle. The lack of reviews is worth weighing against the operator's reputation and the fact that the tour is a standard product with a clear structure. If you prefer to book only tours that other travellers have already vetted, you might wait for more data. If you are comfortable being among the first to go, the absence of ratings is not a warning, just a gap.
The trip, stop by stop
Places this site holds figures for along the route, in the usual order. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Start
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 °C | 3.3 °C | 4.2 °C | 6.9 °C | 10.1 °C | 13 °C | 14.9 °C | 14.1 °C | 11.4 °C | 7.6 °C | 4.7 °C | 3.3 °C |
| Daily low | -1.7 °C | -1.9 °C | -1.3 °C | 1 °C | 4 °C | 7.2 °C | 9.1 °C | 8.6 °C | 6.2 °C | 2.7 °C | -0.1 °C | -1.6 °C |
When the aurora season fits the tour
The tour is an eight-day circuit, and the name makes the season clear: it runs when the northern lights are visible, which in Iceland means the months from September through March. The temperature chart above shows what that means in practice. In September, the average high is 11 degrees and the low is 6. By October, the highs drop to 8 and the lows to 3. November brings highs of 5 and lows around freezing. December and January are the coldest months, with highs of just 3 degrees and lows of minus 2. February is similar, and March starts to warm slightly with highs of 4 degrees. The daylight hours are short in the deep winter months, which is actually an advantage for aurora viewing, since the sky is dark for a larger portion of the day. The tour's length means you have multiple nights to catch the lights, which matters because cloud cover can obscure them on any given evening. The best time of day for the aurora is late evening into the early hours, so expect late nights if the forecast looks promising. The cold is a real factor, and you will want warm layers, a hat, and gloves for the evening stops.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 152 rows
Show all 152 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing28 | ||
| Operator's own title | Best of Iceland featuring the Northern Lights | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Operator | Collette | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Product number | 303892 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Duration | 8 days | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price | $4,399 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price in local currency | about 530,577 ISK | Rate 120.61 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Number of ratings | 10 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Rank within its category | 50 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Small group | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Start and end | Start and end in Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Data as of | 2026-09-07 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Reykjavik124 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| City swimming pools, adult single entry | 1,500 ISK · From the published fee schedule. | Reykjavik City Council |
| Hot dog, Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur | 880 ISK · Price reported 24 Mar 2026; mbl.is reported 920 on 25 Jul 2026 (page blocked, headline only). | DV (quoting the stand) |
| Burger, fries and soda, Tommi's (Tilboð Aldarinnar) | 2,190 ISK | Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu |
| Icelandic lamb soup, 101 Reykjavik Street Food | 2,890 ISK | 101 Reykjavik Street Food menu |
| Cinnamon bun (snúður), Bakarameistarinn | 549 ISK | Bakarameistarinn |
| Set lunch (fish of the day or burger with soda), Slippbarinn | 2,900 ISK | Slippbarinn |
| Fish and chips, Reykjavik Fish | 3,490 ISK | Reykjavik Fish |
| Icelandic plate, Café Loki | 5,550 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Meat soup, Café Loki | 4,850 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Arctic char pan, Messinn | 4,690 ISK · Read in the menu PDF linked from the live site (Plokkfiskur 4,190, Bleikja 4,690); the PDF file itself dates from Dec 2023. | Messinn menu (PDF) |
| Rye bread ice cream, Café Loki | 1,600 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Tasting menu, Grillmarkaðurinn | 16,990 ISK per person | Grillmarkaðurinn |
| Latte, Kaffibarinn | 800 ISK | Kaffibarinn |
| Ísey skyr, Krónan | 305 ISK per 170 g | Krónan online shop |
| Ready sandwich, Krónan | 659 ISK | Krónan online shop |
| Half loaf, Krónan | 338 ISK per 385 g | Krónan online shop |
| Whole milk, Krónan | 239 ISK per litre | Krónan online shop |
| Óðals cheese, Krónan | 1,545 ISK per 460 g | Krónan online shop |
| Banana, Krónan | 66 ISK each | Krónan online shop |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, regular price | 1,700 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, happy hour 15-20 | 1,050 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Egils Gull, Vínbúðin | 499 ISK per 500 ml can | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Gato Negro Cabernet Sauvignon, Vínbúðin | 1,799 ISK per 750 ml · Not confirmed on the store search page on 2026-09-11. Context only: the planner prices drinks from bar beer. | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Flybus hotel drop-off supplement | 1,300 ISK | Flybus |
| Airport fee on a Hreyfill airport taxi | 490 ISK · From the published tariff of 18 March 2026. | Hreyfill |
| Strætó Klapp daily cap (never more than 3 fares a day) | 3 fares per day · Not confirmed on the page text read on 2026-09-11 (the 690 fare is). The planner does not rely on the cap: two rides a day stay below it. | Strætó price list |
| Reykjavik City Card, 24 hours | 6,100 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 48 hours | 8,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 72 hours | 10,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Central Reykjavik parking, zone P1 | 660 ISK per hour | Reykjavíkurborg |
| Kilometre tax on cars, 2026 | 6.95 ISK per km · Blue Car Rental and Lotus charge a flat 1,550 ISK per rental day instead. | Ísland.is |
| Kilometre tax as charged by Blue Car Rental and Lotus | 1,550 ISK per rental day | Blue Car Rental |
| Petrol 95, capital-area median of 75 stations | 261.3 ISK per litre · Changes daily; the build can refresh it from the same file. Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Diesel, capital-area median of 75 stations | 293.2 ISK per litre · Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 7,173 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 12,604 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 9,733 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 17,083 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Yaris, single-day hire, Nov 2026 (vs 8,140 a day over 3 days) | 20,040 ISK · Quoted by the company booking engine, single day against 8,140 ISK a day over three days, Nov 2026. | Lotus Car Rental |
| Sand and ash protection, small car, Hertz Iceland | 1,990 ISK per day | Hertz Iceland |
| Toyota Aygo 1.0 petrol, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.1 L per 100 km · A test figure; real driving in wind and cold uses more. | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 1.5 4WD, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.7 L per 100 km · Fuel type not stated on the page; a 1.5 L manual 4WD Duster is the diesel, so the planner prices it at the diesel median. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Aygo, 'price per day from', 2026 | 7,408 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 4WD, 'price per day from', 2026 | 9,547 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, low season | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, high season | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, low season | 5,000 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, high season | 8,350 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, low season | 8,550 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, high season | 14,060 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, low season | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, high season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, low season | 21,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, high season | 33,200 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, low season | 26,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, high season | 37,100 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, low season | 42,600 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, high season | 49,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, low season | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, high season | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, low season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, high season | 39,300 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, low season | 14,628 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, high season | 22,911 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, low season | 22,235 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, high season | 34,824 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, low season | 18,550 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, high season | 31,500 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, low season | 20,400 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, high season | 25,415 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Planner default: hostel bed, low season (median of the examples) | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · Median of [5094, 5000, 8550]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: hostel bed, high season (median of the examples) | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · Median of [9517, 8350, 14060]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: mid double, low season (median of the examples) | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [23800, 21900, 26700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: mid double, high season (median of the examples) | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [34700, 33200, 37100]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, low season (median of the examples) | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [42600, 39700, 34700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, high season (median of the examples) | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [49700, 44900, 39300]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: budget double, low season (median of the examples) | 19,475 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [14628, 22235, 18550, 20400]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: budget double, high season (median of the examples) | 28,458 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [22911, 34824, 31500, 25415]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Accommodation tax (gistináttaskattur), hotels and guesthouses | 800 ISK per room per night · Also in the current law text: https://www.althingi.is/lagas/nuna/2011087.html. 400 ISK for campsites. Some quotes exclude it (HI Loft says so); the planner adds it unless a price includes it. | Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 |
| Capital-region hotel room occupancy, January 2026 | 56.1 percent · Context for the low season: January is the least-occupied month, so January rates may sit below the November prices used here. | Statistics Iceland |
| Adult admission at the National Museum of Iceland | 3,300 ISK · Under-18s and visitors with disabilities enter free; students and seniors pay 1,600 ISK. | National Museum of Iceland |
| Adult admission at the Reykjavik Art Museum | 2,550 ISK · One ticket is valid for 24 hours at all three houses, Hafnarhús, Kjarvalsstaðir and Ásmundarsafn. Under-18s enter free. The museum states that the Reykjavík City Card gives free admission. | Reykjavík Art Museum |
| Return ferry fare to Viðey, adult | 2,500 ISK · Children 7 to 17 pay 1,250 ISK and children under 7 travel free, up to three per adult. Students, seniors and disabled visitors pay 2,250 ISK. | Elding Adventure at Sea |
| Museums and attractions the City Card admits free | 17 · Named on the card's own page, among them the National Museum, all three Reykjavík Art Museum houses, the National Gallery, the Settlement Exhibition, the Maritime Museum, Árbær Open Air Museum, Viðey Island and the Family Park and Zoo. | Visit Reykjavík |
| Geothermal pools the City Card admits free | 8 · Laugardalslaug, Árbæjarlaug, Sundhöll Reykjavíkur, Vesturbæjarlaug, Dalslaug, Grafarvogslaug, Breiðholtslaug and Klébergslaug. | Visit Reykjavík |
| City buses on the City Card | Yes, unlimited Strætó travel in the capital area, excluding airport bus 55 · The airport coach is a separate fare and is not carried by the card. | Visit Reykjavík |
| The City Card's rule for children | Children under 18 enter the covered museums free with any adult card · There is no child card. The National Museum and the Reykjavík Art Museum admit under-18s free in any case, with or without a card. | Visit Reykjavík |
What to expect at the stops
The tour follows the main route around Iceland, and the stops are the country's well-known natural sights. These are open-air locations, so the weather is part of the experience. The waterfalls and canyons on the route are wet year-round, and the paths around them can be slick, so sturdy footwear matters. In the winter months, ice on the walkways is a genuine concern, and the guide will adjust the plan if conditions make a stop unsafe. The tour operates with a coach and a guide, so you will be travelling as a group. The guide handles the navigation and the timing, and the schedule is flexible enough to allow for aurora chasing when the sky is clear. There is no mention of any staffed visitor centres or facilities at the stops, so plan for basic conditions. The tour is fully guided, which means you have someone to point out what you are looking at and to make the calls on when to linger and when to move on. The pace is set by the group and the weather, not by a fixed timetable.
Who this tour suits and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want to see a broad slice of Iceland in a single week without handling the driving or the planning. It is for people who are comfortable in a group and who want the security of a guide in winter conditions. The fully guided format and the included meals make it a low-effort way to cover the country. It is also a good fit for first-time visitors who want the classic sights and the chance at the northern lights without committing to a self-drive itinerary. If you are not interested in group travel, or if you prefer to set your own pace and stop where you like, this is not the tour for you. A self-drive circuit would give you that freedom, but it also puts the winter driving on you. Among the comparable tours, Iceland Adventure at 4,999 USD is the closest in price and length, and it has a strong rating of 5.0 from 436 reviews, so it offers a much larger evidence base. If the lack of ratings here gives you pause, that tour is the natural alternative. Iceland Discovery is cheaper at 4,101 USD and also runs eight days, but it has only 45 ratings. Northern Lights Exploration is the budget option at 3,477 USD with 15 ratings, and Iceland Circle at 3,817 USD has just 7. For a traveller who wants proven quality and does not mind paying a bit more, Iceland Adventure is the safer bet.
Similar packages on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & Snæfellsnes Peninsula
G Adventures
5.063 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $2227See details
from $2845See details
from $3217See details
from $3477See details
from $4099See details
from $3449See details
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability from GetYourGuide's partner catalogue. Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 8 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where does it start and end?
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Best of Iceland featuring the Northern Lights
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the partner catalogue as exported in September 2026.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar partner catalogue: Best of Iceland featuring the Northern Lights accessed 2026-09-07Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-10Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Reykjavik City Council accessed 2026-09-07
- 14DV (quoting the stand) accessed 2026-09-11
- 15Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 16101 Reykjavik Street Food menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 17Bakarameistarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 18Slippbarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 19Reykjavik Fish accessed 2026-09-11
- 20Café Loki menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 21Messinn menu (PDF) accessed 2026-09-11
- 22Grillmarkaðurinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 23Kaffibarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 24Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 25Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 26Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 27Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 28Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 29Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 30Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search accessed 2026-09-11
- 31Flybus accessed 2026-09-11
- 32Hreyfill accessed 2026-09-11
- 33Strætó price list accessed 2026-09-11
- 34Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-11
- 35Reykjavíkurborg accessed 2026-09-11
- 36Ísland.is accessed 2026-09-11
- 37Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 38Gasvaktin (public data file) accessed 2026-09-11
- 39Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 40Lotus Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 41Hertz Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 42Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 43Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 44Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 45Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 46Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 47Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 48Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 49Kex booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 50HI Loft booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 51Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel accessed 2026-09-11
- 52Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 53Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 54Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 accessed 2026-09-11
- 55Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 56National Museum of Iceland accessed 2026-09-12
- 57Reykjavík Art Museum accessed 2026-09-12
- 58Elding Adventure at Sea accessed 2026-09-12
- 59Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-12
- 60Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 61Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 62Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 63Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07

