




Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '27, Summer)
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 6 days
Six Days Around Iceland with Contiki
This is a six-day, fully guided circuit of Iceland that starts and ends in Reykjavik. You travel with an English-speaking guide who handles the route, the pace, and the logistics, which makes it a practical choice if you want to see a broad sweep of the country without planning the driving yourself. The tour runs in two versions, one that operates until 3 March 2027 and a summer edition, so the same structure carries you through both the darker months and the long daylight of midyear. At 1,868 USD for the full six days, it sits among the more affordable options in its group of five- and six-day packages. The group itself spans 62 tours, and this one ranks 22nd by price, putting it in the cheapest third of that field. For a traveller who wants Iceland's highlights covered in a week or less, with someone else doing the navigation, this is a straightforward fit. The itinerary is built around the classic loop, and the departure point is Reykjavik itself, so you start and end in the capital without needing to connect from another city.







Photographs from the operator Contiki. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Contiki
- Duration
- 6 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $1,868
- Rating
- 5.0 from 5 ratings
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the Price Covers
The entry price of 1,868 USD is the starting point, and the operator states that food is explicitly included in that figure. That means your main meals across the six days are part of what you pay up front, rather than a series of separate bills along the way. The guiding is fully guided, which is another way of saying the tour price buys you a dedicated English-speaking guide for the duration. Beyond that, the operator does not itemise what else sits inside the base fare, so drinks, snacks, and any personal purchases are the obvious things you would cover yourself. No official figure is published for optional activities or add-ons, so if you want to know whether a particular excursion costs extra, you would need to ask directly. What is clear is that none of the places on the itinerary charges admission or parking, so there is no gate fee to budget for at the stops themselves. The practical takeaway is that the headline price covers the essentials of transport, guiding, and food, and the unknowns are the kind of incidentals you would expect to handle on your own.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '… | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,868 $ | 2,962 $ | 2,770 $ | 2,265 $ | 1,645 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '27, Summer) | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts | Iceland Northern Lights | Northern Lights Escape | Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Contiki | Icelandic Mountain Guides | Exodus Adventure Travels | Intrepid Travel | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 1868 $ | from 2962 $ | from 2770 $ | from 2265 $ | from 1645 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | small group | small group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | 5.0 (5) | 4.7 (14) | 4.7 (14) | 4.6 (51) | 4.4 (183) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Contiki
- Price
- from 1868 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (5)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Icelandic Mountain Guides
- Price
- from 2962 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Exodus Adventure Travels
- Price
- from 2770 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (14)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 2265 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (51)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 1645 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (183)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Best of Iceland (Classic Until… (5.0) | 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7) | Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7) | Northern Lights Escape… (4.6) | Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 5 ratings | 14 ratings | 14 ratings | 51 ratings | 183 ratings |
What the Rating Is Worth
The tour carries a perfect 5.0 score, but that number comes from only five reviews. Five votes is a very thin base, so the score tells you little beyond the fact that the handful of people who have written in were satisfied. It is not a statistically meaningful endorsement, and it should not be weighed heavily against tours with dozens or hundreds of ratings. In its category of 62 five- and six-day packages, this listing ranks 18th by the number of reviews, which is mid-table at best. That rank is a measure of how much evidence exists, not how good the tour is. A more useful comparison is against the alternatives in the same group. The Land of the Northern Lights tour, for instance, has 183 reviews behind a 4.4 score, which gives you a much firmer sense of what to expect. Northern Lights Escape has 51 reviews at 4.6. This Contiki tour simply does not have enough voices yet to justify treating the perfect score as a reliable signal.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
When the Season Matters
The summer version of this tour runs in the months when Iceland's temperatures are at their highest, which in Reykjavik means highs of 13 degrees in June, 15 in July, and 14 in August, with lows around 7 to 9 degrees. Those are the warmest readings the capital sees all year, and they are still cool enough that a waterproof layer and a warm midlayer are essential even at midday. The classic version, running until early March, sits at the opposite end of the year. January and February highs hover around 3 degrees with lows at minus 2, and December is the same. That is cold, but it is not extreme by Icelandic standards, and the real difference is daylight. A six-day tour in summer has nearly endless evening light, while the same route in winter means most of your sightseeing happens in a short window around noon. The tour length matters here. Six days is enough to cover ground, but in winter you are working against short days, so the pace will feel tighter. In summer, the same six days stretch out and you can see more without rushing.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '27, Summer) | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Contiki | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 321762 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 6 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $1,868 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 226,316 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 5.0 out of 5 | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 5 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 49 of 62 in “Five and six day trips” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
At the Stops Along the Way
The itinerary moves between Iceland's well-known sights, and the practical reality at most of them is straightforward. These are natural locations rather than managed attractions, so you arrive, park, and walk in on your own. There is no ticket booth or entry gate to pass through at any of the places on the route. The weather is the variable that shapes each stop. Rain and wind are common, and the paths around waterfalls and other wet areas will be slippery, so sturdy footwear is not a suggestion but a necessity. When the guide decides to shorten a stop or turn back early, that is the weather making the call, not a flaw in the plan. In the winter version of the tour, snow and ice can close roads without warning, and the guide's job is to keep the group safe rather than to hit every point on the schedule. The summer edition faces fewer closures, but the wind and rain can still change what is comfortable to do at any given moment.
Who This Tour Fits
This tour suits a traveller who wants Iceland's highlights without the responsibility of driving and navigating. If you are comfortable travelling with a group, following a set itinerary, and letting someone else make the daily decisions, the fully guided format and the included meals make it a low-effort way to see the country. The price point is also a draw. At 1,868 USD it undercuts several comparable options, including the 5-Day Laugavegur Trek at 2,962 USD and the Iceland Northern Lights tour at 2,770 USD, both of which are also five days. If you are looking for a longer, more active trek through the highlands, the Laugavegur option is the one to consider instead. If your priority is chasing the aurora specifically, the Northern Lights Escape at 2,265 USD for six days gives you a similar length with a dedicated focus. What this Contiki tour does not offer is free cancellation. That is a notable exception in this market, where the majority of comparable listings grant it, so if flexibility matters to you, check the terms carefully before booking.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $3318To the page
5 Days New Year's Northern Lights Adventure
GJ Travel
4.8only 7 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $2074To the page
6-Day Laugavegur & Fimmvörðuháls in Huts
Icelandic Mountain Guides
4.8only 4 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $3235To the page
from $2887To the page
from $1617To the page
from $1791To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 6 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
No. 5.0 out of 5 from only 5 is not enough to draw a conclusion from, however high the score.

Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '27, Summer)
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Best of Iceland (Classic Until 3 Mar '27, Summer)Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
