Aurora Retreat 6 Days

6 days, from $4,210, admission not stated. no ratings yet. What the operator ASI Reisen commits to, what it leaves open and what the day adds to the price.

TOURRADAR

Aurora Retreat 6 Days

  • Guide works in English
  • Duration per the operator: 6 days

Six days in the dark, looking up

This tour takes you out of Reykjavik for six days to chase the northern lights across Iceland. You are self-guided, which means there is no tour leader telling you where to stand or when to look up. Instead, you get the route, the schedule, and the freedom to move at your own pace. The trip is booked as a private arrangement, so it is just your group, not a coach full of strangers. It runs in English, and the operator states that a guide is available in that language, though the day-to-day navigation is yours to manage. At 4,210 USD per person, this is not a budget week away. It sits near the top of its price range among five and six day packages, and it is aimed at travellers who want the structure of a planned itinerary without the constant presence of a leader. You start in Reykjavik and spend the better part of a week moving through the countryside, with the lights as the main event and the landscape as the backdrop.

Aurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 DaysAurora Retreat 6 Days

Photographs from the operator ASI Reisen. They show the listing, not your day.

Operator
ASI Reisen
Duration
6 days
Departure point
Reykjavik
Group form
bookable privately
Guiding
Self-guided
In English
yes
Pickup from your hotel
not stated
Price
from $4,210
Rating
no ratings yet
Quality bar
not passed

What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say

The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.

ServiceStatusWhat that means for you
Admission to the sitenot statedadmission not stated
Pickup from your hotelnot statedNot stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tourincludedIncluded.
Admission to the site
Status
not stated
What that means for you
admission not stated
Pickup from your hotel
Status
not stated
What that means for you
Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
Food on the tour
Status
included
What that means for you
Included.

What the price covers

The 4,210 USD entry price includes your food for the duration of the trip. That is stated plainly by the operator, so you are not budgeting for meals on top of the base cost. What is not itemised is everything else: accommodation, transport between stops, and any equipment you might need for winter conditions. The operator does not break those down, so you should assume they are either folded into the price or arranged separately depending on how the self-guided format works. No admission fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary, and no parking charges are added on the day. There are no official surcharges waiting for you at a gate. The tour is not covered by free cancellation, which is worth noting before you commit. Most listings in this category offer that flexibility, but this one does not, so your payment is tied to the booking once it is made.

The price in context

The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.

Aurora Retreat 6 Days4,210 $
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts2,962 $
Iceland Northern Lights2,770 $
Northern Lights Escape2,265 $
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days1,645 $

Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowAurora Retreat 6 Days5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsIceland Northern LightsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 days
Starting price4,210 $2,962 $2,770 $2,265 $1,645 $

This tour against 4 comparable ones

All 5 come from the category “Five and six day trips”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.

Aurora Retreat 6 Days5-Day Laugavegur Trek in HutsIceland Northern LightsNorthern Lights EscapeLand of the Northern Lights - 5 days
ProviderASI ReisenIcelandic Mountain GuidesExodus Adventure TravelsIntrepid TravelOn The Go Tours
Pricefrom 4210 $from 2962 $from 2770 $from 2265 $from 1645 $
Duration
Group typeprivatesmall groupsmall groupgroupgroup
In Englishyesyesyesyesyes
Admissionnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Pickupnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Rating (reviews)none4.7 (14)4.7 (14)4.6 (51)4.4 (183)
Quality floorbelow the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floorabove the floor
Free cancellation untilnot statednot statednot statednot statednot stated
Aurora Retreat 6 Days
Provider
ASI Reisen
Price
from 4210 $
Duration
Group type
private
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
none
Quality floor
below the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts
Provider
Icelandic Mountain Guides
Price
from 2962 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Iceland Northern Lights
Provider
Exodus Adventure Travels
Price
from 2770 $
Duration
Group type
small group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.7 (14)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Northern Lights Escape
Provider
Intrepid Travel
Price
from 2265 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.6 (51)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated
Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days
Provider
On The Go Tours
Price
from 1645 $
Duration
Group type
group
In English
yes
Admission
not stated
Pickup
not stated
Rating (reviews)
4.4 (183)
Quality floor
above the floor
Free cancellation until
not stated

The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.

How many people have judged it?

The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.

Aurora Retreat 6 Days… (unrated)0 ratings
5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)14 ratings
Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7)14 ratings
Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)51 ratings
Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)183 ratings

This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowAurora Retreat 6 Days… (unrated)5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts… (4.7)Iceland Northern Lights… (4.7)Northern Lights Escape… (4.6)Land of the Northern Lights - … (4.4)
Ratings0 ratings14 ratings14 ratings51 ratings183 ratings

A score that has not been earned yet

This tour has no rating at all. Not a low score, not a mediocre one, just nothing on record. That puts it in a difficult spot: it ranks 53rd out of 62 in its category, but that rank is based on the strength of the evidence behind it, not on how good the trip actually is. With zero reviews behind it, there is no way to say whether the experience matches the price. Compare that to the alternatives in the same group. The Northern Lights Escape, also six days, has a 4.6 from 51 ratings. Land of the Northern Lights, five days, has a 4.4 from 183 ratings. Those numbers give you something to weigh. Here, you are buying on the operator's promise alone. That is not a reason to dismiss it, but it is a reason to go in with your eyes open and to ask the operator directly for references or recent traveller feedback before you hand over the money.

The day, stop by stop

The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.

  1. Meeting point

    You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.

  2. Reykjavik

  3. Back to where you started

    Back to the full list

A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.

Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year

Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.

Daily highDaily low
-4161217Daily high, Jul: 14.9 degrees C15Daily high, Jan: 3.2 degrees C3Daily low, Jul: 9.1 degrees C9Daily low, Feb: -1.9 degrees C-2JanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec

There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.

The figures behind this chart, as a table
RowJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
Daily high3.2 degrees C3.3 degrees C4.2 degrees C6.9 degrees C10.1 degrees C13 degrees C14.9 degrees C14.1 degrees C11.4 degrees C7.6 degrees C4.7 degrees C3.3 degrees C
Daily low-1.7 degrees C-1.9 degrees C-1.3 degrees C1 degrees C4 degrees C7.2 degrees C9.1 degrees C8.6 degrees C6.2 degrees C2.7 degrees C-0.1 degrees C-1.6 degrees C

Winter's short hours

This is a lights tour, so you are going when the nights are long. The climate chart above shows Reykjavik's monthly averages, and they tell the story. From October through March, the high sits between 3 and 8 degrees, and the low drops to freezing or below. January and February are the coldest, with highs around 3 degrees and lows at minus 2. Daylight is scarce in those months, which is exactly what you want for aurora hunting. The tour runs six days, so you have multiple chances to catch a clear sky. The best months for darkness and cold are December through February, when the sun barely climbs and the nights stretch out. March is a compromise: still cold, still dark enough, but slightly milder at 4 degrees. If you go in October or April, you get more daylight for sightseeing but fewer dark hours for the lights. The time of day matters too. The aurora does not wait for a convenient hour, so expect late nights and early mornings. Dress for standing still in the cold, because that is what you will be doing when the sky puts on a show.

The full data sheet

Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.

Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows

Show all 113 figures
FactValueSource
The listing27
Operator's own titleAurora Retreat 6 DaysTourRadar catalogue
OperatorASI ReisenTourRadar catalogue
Product number330641TourRadar catalogue
Departure pointReykjavikTourRadar catalogue
Duration6 daysTourRadar catalogue
Multi-dayyesTourRadar catalogue
Starting price$4,210TourRadar, live check
Starting price in local currencyabout 510,058 ISKRate 121.15 ISK to the USD
RatingnoneTourRadar, live check
Number of ratings0TourRadar, live check
This project's quality barnot passedOwn rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings
Rank within its category53 of 62 in “Five and six day trips”Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings
Admission to the sitenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Food on the tourincludedTourRadar catalogue
Pickup from your hotelnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Kind of guidingSelf-guidedTourRadar catalogue
Guiding languagesEnglishTourRadar catalogue
Guide works in EnglishyesTourRadar catalogue
Bookable privatelyyesTourRadar catalogue
Small groupnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Group form per the operatornot statedTourRadar catalogue
Priority entrynot statedTourRadar catalogue
Suitable for wheelchair usersnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Free cancellationnot statedTourRadar catalogue
Cancellation deadlinenot statedTourRadar catalogue
Basis in the cataloguenot statedOwn check of the catalogue fields
Operator's images5 photographsTourRadar catalogue
Reykjavik37
Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
Population of the greater capital region253,230Statistics Iceland
Area of the city244 km2Wikipedia
City charter granted18 August 1786Wikipedia
Weather station for the climate figures belowReykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological OfficeIcelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands)
Average high in January3.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in February3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in March4.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in April6.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in May10.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in June13 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in July14.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in August14.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in September11.4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in October7.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in November4.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average high in December3.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in January-1.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in February-1.9 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in March-1.3 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in April1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in May4 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in June7.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in July9.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in August8.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in September6.2 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in October2.7 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in November-0.1 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average low in December-1.6 °CIcelandic Meteorological Office
Average annual precipitation875.9 mmIcelandic Meteorological Office
Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Main gateway airportKEFIsavia
Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik45 minFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Single city bus fare (Strætó)690 ISKStrætó bs
One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik)3,999 ISKFlybus (Kynnisferðir)
Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik22,500 ISKHreyfill (taxi cooperative)
Sources: Þingvellir National Park27
Park entry fee, adult0 ISKArctic Adventures
Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats)1,000 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Toilet fee0 ISKIceland Review
Visitor centre opening hours09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar)Þingvellir National Park
Park access seasonGrounds open 24 hours, year-roundArctic Adventures
Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult1,200 ISKÞingvellir National Park
UNESCO World Heritage status since2,004UNESCO World Heritage Centre
Althing (Icelandic parliament) established930Þingvellir National Park
Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir1,798Þingvellir National Park
National park established1,930Þingvellir National Park
Core protected area92.7 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn surface area84 km2Wikipedia
Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth114 mWikipedia
Tectonic plate drift rate2 cm/yearÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure water temperature2-4 CÞingvellir National Park
Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed18 mÞingvellir National Park
Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person1,500 ISKDIVE.IS
Campsite fee, adult per night1,800 ISKÞingvellir National Park
Campsite seasonSummer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-roundÞingvellir National Park
Wheelchair accessibilityPaved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitableGolden Circle Iceland
Safety warningSnow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked pathsÞingvellir National Park
Recent path closurePart of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairsÞingvellir National Park
Öxarárfoss waterfall height12 mIceland Review
Þingvallakirkja church built1,859Iceland Review
Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool18Iceland Review
Road distance from Reykjavik47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Sources: Geysir geothermal area22
Entry fee to the geothermal area0 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Parking fee, car1,000 ISKReykjavík Grapevine
Access seasonOpen-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hoursEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Protected area size3 km2Environment Agency of Iceland
Protected as a natural monument since2,020Environment Agency of Iceland
Identified thermal features in the area364Wikipedia
Elevation110 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption interval6-10 minWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, typical15-20 mWikipedia
Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded40 mWikipedia
Great Geysir, last known eruption2,016Iceland Review
Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record170 mWikipedia
Water temperature in the geyser conduit85-95 CWikipedia
First written record of Geysir13th centuryEnvironment Agency of Iceland
Land donated to the Icelandic nation1,935Environment Agency of Iceland
Recent change: footpath and safety projectCircular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025Environment Agency of Iceland
Safety warningStay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or killGuide to Iceland
Wheelchair accessibilityMain paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sectionsGolden Circle Iceland
Historic royal visits marked by stone markersDanish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones'Environment Agency of Iceland
Origin of the English word 'geyser'Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780Etymonline
Road distance from Reykjavik115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
Driving time from Reykjavik104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop.OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM

Your own pace, your own plan

Since this is self-guided, there is no one meeting you at a hotel lobby each morning. You are responsible for getting yourself to the right place at the right time. The itinerary is set, but the execution is yours. The stops themselves are the kind of places you find across Iceland: open landscapes, dark skies, and little in the way of facilities. You will not find a visitor centre with staff at most of these spots, so come prepared with your own supplies and a full tank of fuel. The weather is the wild card. Winter roads in Iceland close without warning when the wind picks up or the snow comes down. A planned route can shift in an hour, and you need to be flexible enough to reroute or wait it out. The operator does not give opening hours for any of the stops, which suggests they are not the kind of places that keep a schedule. You are there for the sky, not for a building. Bring a thermos, spare batteries for your camera, and patience.

For the independent traveller, not the guided group

This tour suits someone who is comfortable reading a route, making decisions on the fly, and handling a rental car in winter conditions. It is for travellers who want the security of a pre-planned week without a leader hovering nearby. If that sounds like you, this could work well. If you would rather have someone else handle the driving, the navigation, and the judgement calls about whether the sky is worth the cold, then this is not the right fit. Look instead at the 5-Day Laugavegur Trek in Huts, which runs at 2,962 USD and has a 4.7 from 14 ratings, or the Iceland Northern Lights at 2,770 USD with the same score. Both are cheaper and come with evidence from past travellers. The Land of the Northern Lights, at 1,645 USD, is the budget option with the most reviews behind it. For a first trip to Iceland in winter, a guided option gives you a safety net. This tour asks you to be that net for yourself.

Similar tours on this site

Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

  1. 5 Days New Year's Northern Lights Adventure

    GJ Travel

    4.8only 7 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Admission included
    from $2074
    To the page
  2. Gems of Iceland with Northern Lights

    Globus

    5.066 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $2999
    To the page
  3. 5 Days Christmas & Northern Lights Adventure

    GJ Travel

    4.7only 9 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Admission included
    from $1953
    To the page
  4. 8 Days Northern Lights Exploration

    GJ Travel

    4.7102 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    • Admission included
    from $2845
    To the page
  5. Iceland Northern Lights & Golden Circle

    G Adventures

    4.970 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1791
    To the page
  6. Land of the Northern Lights - 5 days

    On The Go Tours

    4.4183 reviews

    • English-speaking guide
    from $1645
    To the page

The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.

Common questions

Is admission included?

The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.

How long does the package really take?

The catalogue gives 6 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.

Is there a guide who works in English?

Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.

Where do I find all the data on this package?

In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Does this listing's rating mean anything?

There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

TOURRADAR

Aurora Retreat 6 Days

Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.

from $4210
Ansehen

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.

  1. 1
    TourRadar: Aurora Retreat 6 DaysTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
  2. 2
    This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
  3. 3
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  4. 4
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  5. 5
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
  6. 6
    Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
  7. 7
    Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
  8. 8
    Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
  9. 9
    Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
  10. 10
    Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
  11. 11
    Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
  12. 12
    Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
  13. 13
    Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  14. 14
    Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
  15. 15
  16. 16
  17. 17
    Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
  18. 18
    Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
  19. 19
    Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
  20. 20
    UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
  21. 21
    DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
  22. 22
    Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  23. 23
  24. 24
    Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
  25. 25
    Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  26. 26
    Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
  27. 27
    Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07