




7 Days Gracious Southwest Iceland
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 7 days
Seven days in the southwest, guided from Reykjavik
This is a week-long, fully guided circuit of southwest Iceland run by GJ Travel, starting and ending in Reykjavik. The tour runs for seven days and is led in English, with a guide who stays with the group for the whole trip. It can also be booked privately if you want the same route without joining a set group. The price starts at 4,634 USD per person, which places it at the higher end of one-week packages from the capital, though the route itself is the standard sweep of the region’s main sights. You will be based out of Reykjavik for the duration, heading out each day to the waterfalls, glaciers and coastline that sit within a few hours’ drive of the city. The pace suits travellers who want the major stops covered without arranging their own car or ferry, and who prefer a set itinerary to improvising on the ground.











Photographs from the operator GJ Travel. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- GJ Travel
- Duration
- 7 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- bookable privately
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $4,634
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | not stated | Not stated. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated.
What the price covers and what it does not
The entry price of 4,634 USD covers the full seven days with a guide present throughout, in English. Private booking is available, which typically means the same itinerary runs just for your own party, though the catalogue does not break down what that changes in cost or flexibility. The operator does not list any optional extras for sale, so there is no separate charge for add-ons such as boat rides, glacier walks or special meals. None of the places on the itinerary charges admission or parking, so there are no gate fees to budget for on top of the tour price. What is not stated is the cancellation policy: unlike most listings in this category, this one does not offer free cancellation, so you should treat the booking as committed once you make it. Meals are not itemised in the price, and the operator does not specify whether any are included beyond the guiding itself. For a week-long tour at this price point, you will want to confirm with GJ Travel directly what happens between the listed activities, particularly lunches and evening meals in the towns you pass through.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | 7 Days Gracious Southwest Iceland | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 4,634 $ | 4,101 $ | 4,999 $ | 3,477 $ | 3,817 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| 7 Days Gracious Southwest Iceland | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | GJ Travel | Intrepid Travel | Globus | On The Go Tours | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 4634 $ | from 4101 $ | from 4999 $ | from 3477 $ | from 3817 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | private | group | group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.1 (45) | 5.0 (436) | 4.6 (15) | 4.7 (7) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- GJ Travel
- Price
- from 4634 $
- Duration
- Group type
- private
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 4101 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.1 (45)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3477 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (15)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3817 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (7)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | 7 Days Gracious Southwest Icel… (unrated) | Iceland Discovery… (4.1) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Northern Lights Exploration - … (4.6) | Iceland Circle - 8 Days… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 45 ratings | 436 ratings | 15 ratings | 7 ratings |
A score that has not been earned yet
This tour has no customer rating attached to it at all. That is not the same as a bad score, but it does mean there is no evidence from past travellers to weigh when you decide. In a category of 71 one-week packages, it sits at rank 48, which reflects the absence of reviews rather than any judgement on the tour itself. The price, however, is firmly in the upper quarter of its group: at 4,634 USD it ranks 51 of 71 by cost, among the most expensive 28 percent of week-long tours from Reykjavik, which range from about 1,050 USD to nearly 12,900 USD. What you are paying for is the guided format and the private booking option, not a proven track record. If verified feedback matters to you, the comparable tours with actual scores include Iceland Adventure at 5.0 from 436 ratings, Iceland Circle at 4.7 from 7, and Northern Lights Exploration at 4.6 from 15, all of which run for eight days and cost between roughly 3,500 and 5,000 USD.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
When the daylight and the weather work for you
Reykjavik’s temperatures peak in July at 15 degrees and stay above 10 degrees from June through August, which is when the southwest is at its most comfortable for full days outside. The tour runs seven days, so you will be out for most of the daylight hours, and in mid-summer that means long evenings to work with. In May and September, highs of 10 to 11 degrees are workable but cooler, and the days shorten noticeably by late September. From October through April, highs sit between 3 and 8 degrees, and the low sun means you will be layering up even at midday. The winter months of December, January and February are the coldest, with highs around 3 degrees and lows near minus 2, which is not extreme but does mean ice on paths and short daylight for a full-day itinerary. Given the route covers outdoor sights, the June to August window is the most reliable for making the most of the seven days.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | 7 Days Gracious Southwest Iceland | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | GJ Travel | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 313826 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 7 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $4,634 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 561,428 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 48 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What to expect when the day starts
Each day begins in Reykjavik, and the guide handles the logistics of getting the group to the first stop. The sights themselves are open-air and unstaffed, so there is no ticket window or entry queue to worry about; you simply walk from the car park along the path to the viewpoint. The weather is the main variable. Rain and wind are common on the south coast, and the paths around the waterfalls stay wet all year, so waterproof boots are the practical choice. In winter, the same paths can freeze, and the guide may adjust the order of stops or turn back early if road conditions close a route. That is not a failure of the tour but a standard safety call on Icelandic roads. There are no buildings or visitor centres at most of the stops, so facilities are limited to what you find in the towns you pass through between sights.
Who should take this tour, and who should look elsewhere
This tour is for travellers who want the southwest’s headline sights covered in a week without renting a car or planning each day’s drive. The fully guided format in English and the private booking option make it a reasonable fit for first-time visitors who prefer having decisions made for them. It is also suitable for solo travellers who want the structure of a group without organising transport. If you are on a tighter budget or want more days on the road, the comparable eight-day tours offer alternatives: Iceland Discovery starts at 4,101 USD, and Northern Lights Exploration at 3,477 USD, the latter of which is built around winter aurora viewing. If verified reviews are important to you, Iceland Adventure has 436 ratings at 5.0 and costs 4,999 USD for eight days. This tour is not the right choice if you want to go independently, if you are watching costs closely, or if you need the reassurance of past travellers’ feedback before you commit.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $2845To the page
from $3252To the page
Customized 7-Day Iceland Tour to West & South Coast, Private Guide
Agate Travel
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $12889To the page
from $3006To the page
Ethereal Iceland: Spa and Tranquillity
Worldee
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
- Hotel pickup
from $1126To the page
Iceland's Most Scenic Mountain Trails
Worldee
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
- Hotel pickup
from $1230To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 7 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

7 Days Gracious Southwest Iceland
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: 7 Days Gracious Southwest IcelandTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
