Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this works





Iceland Discovery
- Eight of the outdoor sights around Reykjavik charge for parking rather than for entry. That fee is per car, so it falls away entirely when somebody else is driving.
- Pickup from your hotel
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 7 days
Seven days around Iceland from Reykjavik
This is a seven-day circuit of Iceland that starts and ends in Reykjavik, priced from 1,949 USD per person. The tour is led in English and is classed as partially guided, which means you have a guide for the main legs of the journey but also stretches of independent time to explore at your own pace. Hotel pickup is included, so your days begin with someone collecting you rather than you finding your own way to a meeting point. The itinerary carries you through the country's defining landscapes over a full week, which is enough to cover the Golden Circle, the south coast's waterfalls and black sands, and the glacier lagoons further east, before returning to the capital. The price puts it among the cheapest tenth of week-long packages in its category, yet it still covers admission to the places on the route and your meals along the way. If you want a broad first look at Iceland without arranging transport, accommodation logistics or entry tickets yourself, this tour bundles those together into a single week.







Photographs from Wingbuddy's listing. They show the package, not necessarily your day.
- Operator
- Wingbuddy
- Duration
- 7 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Partially Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- yes
- Price
- from $1,949
- Start and end
- Start and end in Reykjavik
- Rating
- 4.7 out of 5 from 23 ratings
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | included | In the price, nothing further to pay. |
| Pickup from your hotel | included | Included: the operator collects you where you are staying. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- In the price, nothing further to pay.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included: the operator collects you where you are staying.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the 1,949 USD covers and what it does not
The entry price of 1,949 USD is the starting point, and for that you get a full package. Admission to the places on the itinerary is explicitly included, which is unusual for this kind of tour. Only nine other week-long packages in the same group say the same, so you will not be reaching into your pocket at the sights themselves. Meals are also covered, and hotel pickup is part of the deal rather than an optional extra. The operator does not break the price down further, so you will not find a line-by-line account of what each day's food or entry costs. What is not included is free cancellation. The operator does not offer it, which is worth knowing before you commit, since plans can change and most comparable tours in this category do grant that flexibility. No official figure is published for what a single traveller pays beyond the starting price, nor for any supplements that might apply for solo occupancy or upgrades. The price you see is the price the tour starts from, and the inclusions are broad enough that you are unlikely to face many surprises on the ground.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & S… | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle & Snæfe… | 8 Days Northern Lights Exploration |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,949 USD | 4,999 USD | 2,227 USD | 3,524 USD | 2,845 USD |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & Snæfellsnes … | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle & Snæfellsnes … | 8 Days Northern Lights Exploration | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Wingbuddy | Globus | G Adventures | G Adventures | GJ Travel |
| Price | from 1949 $ | from 4999 $ | from 2227 $ | from 3524 $ | from 2845 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | small group | group | private |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | included | not stated | not stated | not stated | included |
| Pickup | yes | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | 4.7 (23) | 5.0 (436) | 5.0 (63) | 5.0 (42) | 4.7 (102) |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Wingbuddy
- Price
- from 1949 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- included
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (23)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- G Adventures
- Price
- from 2227 $
- Duration
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (63)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- G Adventures
- Price
- from 3524 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (42)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- GJ Travel
- Price
- from 2845 $
- Duration
- Group type
- private
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- included
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (102)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
Below about ten ratings a score says more about chance than about the tour.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland Discovery… (4.7) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Iceland Adventure: Northern Li… (5.0) | Best of Iceland: Golden Circle… (5.0) | 8 Days Northern Lights Explora… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 23 | 436 | 63 | 42 | 102 |
What a 4.7 score from 23 reviews is worth
The rating sits at 4.7 out of 5, which looks strong on paper. The number behind it, however, is small. Twenty-three reviews is enough to show that the tour generally works well for the people who have taken it, but it is not a statistically robust sample. In its category of 71 week-long packages, this tour ranks 22nd when ordered by the strength of the evidence behind it, not by the height of the score alone. That rank reflects the thin review count more than any weakness in the product. By number of reviews, it sits 13th out of the 71, meaning a handful of other tours have far more voices behind them. The four comparable listings in the same space illustrate the point: one has 436 reviews behind a perfect 5.0 score, another has 45 behind a 4.1, and a third has just 7 behind a 4.7. This tour's 23 reviews put it in the middle of that spread. The 4.7 is encouraging, but treat it as a sign that early travellers were satisfied rather than as a verdict backed by hundreds of experiences.
The trip, stop by stop
Places this site holds figures for along the route, in the usual order. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Start
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 °C | 3.3 °C | 4.2 °C | 6.9 °C | 10.1 °C | 13 °C | 14.9 °C | 14.1 °C | 11.4 °C | 7.6 °C | 4.7 °C | 3.3 °C |
| Daily low | -1.7 °C | -1.9 °C | -1.3 °C | 1 °C | 4 °C | 7.2 °C | 9.1 °C | 8.6 °C | 6.2 °C | 2.7 °C | -0.1 °C | -1.6 °C |
When the week works best
The climate chart above shows Reykjavik's monthly averages, and those numbers shape what this seven-day circuit feels like. From June through August, highs reach 13 to 15 degrees Celsius (55 to 59 degrees Fahrenheit) and lows stay above 7 degrees, which is the mildest window the country offers. A week in those months means long daylight and the least chance of a road closing on you. May and September sit in between, with highs of 10 to 11 degrees and lows around 4 to 6 degrees, still workable for a tour that spends much of its time outdoors. From October through April, highs hover between 3 and 8 degrees and lows drop to freezing or below, which shortens the comfortable hours you can spend at each stop. Since this is a seven-day tour rather than a day trip, the season matters more than the time of day. In summer, you have the flexibility of near-round-the-clock light, so a morning start does not feel rushed. In winter, the daylight window is narrow and the cold is constant, so the same itinerary becomes a different experience. If you want the classic version of this route, the warmer months are the safer bet.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 152 rows
Show all 152 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing28 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland Discovery | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Operator | Wingbuddy | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Product number | 230804 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Duration | 7 days | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price | $1,949 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price in local currency | about 235,075 ISK | Rate 120.61 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 4.7 out of 5 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Number of ratings | 23 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Rank within its category | 10 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Pickup from your hotel | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Kind of guiding | Partially Guided | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Small group | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Start and end | Start and end in Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Data as of | 2026-09-07 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Reykjavik124 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| City swimming pools, adult single entry | 1,500 ISK · From the published fee schedule. | Reykjavik City Council |
| Hot dog, Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur | 880 ISK · Price reported 24 Mar 2026; mbl.is reported 920 on 25 Jul 2026 (page blocked, headline only). | DV (quoting the stand) |
| Burger, fries and soda, Tommi's (Tilboð Aldarinnar) | 2,190 ISK | Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu |
| Icelandic lamb soup, 101 Reykjavik Street Food | 2,890 ISK | 101 Reykjavik Street Food menu |
| Cinnamon bun (snúður), Bakarameistarinn | 549 ISK | Bakarameistarinn |
| Set lunch (fish of the day or burger with soda), Slippbarinn | 2,900 ISK | Slippbarinn |
| Fish and chips, Reykjavik Fish | 3,490 ISK | Reykjavik Fish |
| Icelandic plate, Café Loki | 5,550 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Meat soup, Café Loki | 4,850 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Arctic char pan, Messinn | 4,690 ISK · Read in the menu PDF linked from the live site (Plokkfiskur 4,190, Bleikja 4,690); the PDF file itself dates from Dec 2023. | Messinn menu (PDF) |
| Rye bread ice cream, Café Loki | 1,600 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Tasting menu, Grillmarkaðurinn | 16,990 ISK per person | Grillmarkaðurinn |
| Latte, Kaffibarinn | 800 ISK | Kaffibarinn |
| Ísey skyr, Krónan | 305 ISK per 170 g | Krónan online shop |
| Ready sandwich, Krónan | 659 ISK | Krónan online shop |
| Half loaf, Krónan | 338 ISK per 385 g | Krónan online shop |
| Whole milk, Krónan | 239 ISK per litre | Krónan online shop |
| Óðals cheese, Krónan | 1,545 ISK per 460 g | Krónan online shop |
| Banana, Krónan | 66 ISK each | Krónan online shop |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, regular price | 1,700 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, happy hour 15-20 | 1,050 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Egils Gull, Vínbúðin | 499 ISK per 500 ml can | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Gato Negro Cabernet Sauvignon, Vínbúðin | 1,799 ISK per 750 ml · Not confirmed on the store search page on 2026-09-11. Context only: the planner prices drinks from bar beer. | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Flybus hotel drop-off supplement | 1,300 ISK | Flybus |
| Airport fee on a Hreyfill airport taxi | 490 ISK · From the published tariff of 18 March 2026. | Hreyfill |
| Strætó Klapp daily cap (never more than 3 fares a day) | 3 fares per day · Not confirmed on the page text read on 2026-09-11 (the 690 fare is). The planner does not rely on the cap: two rides a day stay below it. | Strætó price list |
| Reykjavik City Card, 24 hours | 6,100 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 48 hours | 8,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 72 hours | 10,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Central Reykjavik parking, zone P1 | 660 ISK per hour | Reykjavíkurborg |
| Kilometre tax on cars, 2026 | 6.95 ISK per km · Blue Car Rental and Lotus charge a flat 1,550 ISK per rental day instead. | Ísland.is |
| Kilometre tax as charged by Blue Car Rental and Lotus | 1,550 ISK per rental day | Blue Car Rental |
| Petrol 95, capital-area median of 75 stations | 261.3 ISK per litre · Changes daily; the build can refresh it from the same file. Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Diesel, capital-area median of 75 stations | 293.2 ISK per litre · Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 7,173 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 12,604 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 9,733 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 17,083 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Yaris, single-day hire, Nov 2026 (vs 8,140 a day over 3 days) | 20,040 ISK · Quoted by the company booking engine, single day against 8,140 ISK a day over three days, Nov 2026. | Lotus Car Rental |
| Sand and ash protection, small car, Hertz Iceland | 1,990 ISK per day | Hertz Iceland |
| Toyota Aygo 1.0 petrol, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.1 L per 100 km · A test figure; real driving in wind and cold uses more. | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 1.5 4WD, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.7 L per 100 km · Fuel type not stated on the page; a 1.5 L manual 4WD Duster is the diesel, so the planner prices it at the diesel median. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Aygo, 'price per day from', 2026 | 7,408 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 4WD, 'price per day from', 2026 | 9,547 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, low season | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, high season | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, low season | 5,000 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, high season | 8,350 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, low season | 8,550 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, high season | 14,060 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, low season | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, high season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, low season | 21,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, high season | 33,200 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, low season | 26,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, high season | 37,100 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, low season | 42,600 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, high season | 49,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, low season | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, high season | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, low season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, high season | 39,300 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, low season | 14,628 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, high season | 22,911 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, low season | 22,235 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, high season | 34,824 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, low season | 18,550 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, high season | 31,500 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, low season | 20,400 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, high season | 25,415 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Planner default: hostel bed, low season (median of the examples) | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · Median of [5094, 5000, 8550]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: hostel bed, high season (median of the examples) | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · Median of [9517, 8350, 14060]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: mid double, low season (median of the examples) | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [23800, 21900, 26700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: mid double, high season (median of the examples) | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [34700, 33200, 37100]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, low season (median of the examples) | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [42600, 39700, 34700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, high season (median of the examples) | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [49700, 44900, 39300]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: budget double, low season (median of the examples) | 19,475 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [14628, 22235, 18550, 20400]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: budget double, high season (median of the examples) | 28,458 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [22911, 34824, 31500, 25415]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Accommodation tax (gistináttaskattur), hotels and guesthouses | 800 ISK per room per night · Also in the current law text: https://www.althingi.is/lagas/nuna/2011087.html. 400 ISK for campsites. Some quotes exclude it (HI Loft says so); the planner adds it unless a price includes it. | Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 |
| Capital-region hotel room occupancy, January 2026 | 56.1 percent · Context for the low season: January is the least-occupied month, so January rates may sit below the November prices used here. | Statistics Iceland |
| Adult admission at the National Museum of Iceland | 3,300 ISK · Under-18s and visitors with disabilities enter free; students and seniors pay 1,600 ISK. | National Museum of Iceland |
| Adult admission at the Reykjavik Art Museum | 2,550 ISK · One ticket is valid for 24 hours at all three houses, Hafnarhús, Kjarvalsstaðir and Ásmundarsafn. Under-18s enter free. The museum states that the Reykjavík City Card gives free admission. | Reykjavík Art Museum |
| Return ferry fare to Viðey, adult | 2,500 ISK · Children 7 to 17 pay 1,250 ISK and children under 7 travel free, up to three per adult. Students, seniors and disabled visitors pay 2,250 ISK. | Elding Adventure at Sea |
| Museums and attractions the City Card admits free | 17 · Named on the card's own page, among them the National Museum, all three Reykjavík Art Museum houses, the National Gallery, the Settlement Exhibition, the Maritime Museum, Árbær Open Air Museum, Viðey Island and the Family Park and Zoo. | Visit Reykjavík |
| Geothermal pools the City Card admits free | 8 · Laugardalslaug, Árbæjarlaug, Sundhöll Reykjavíkur, Vesturbæjarlaug, Dalslaug, Grafarvogslaug, Breiðholtslaug and Klébergslaug. | Visit Reykjavík |
| City buses on the City Card | Yes, unlimited Strætó travel in the capital area, excluding airport bus 55 · The airport coach is a separate fare and is not carried by the card. | Visit Reykjavík |
| The City Card's rule for children | Children under 18 enter the covered museums free with any adult card · There is no child card. The National Museum and the Reykjavík Art Museum admit under-18s free in any case, with or without a card. | Visit Reykjavík |
What happens once the tour gets going
The tour begins with hotel pickup in Reykjavik, so your first contact with the operator is at your accommodation rather than at a central depot. From there, the guide takes over for the day's driving and the stops along the route. Since admission is already covered, you will not be queuing to buy tickets at the sights. The places themselves are largely open-air Icelandic landmarks, which means the weather is the main variable. Rain and wind can arrive quickly, and the paths around waterfalls and other natural features stay wet in the warmer months and icy in the colder ones. The guide makes the call on whether a stop is safe to approach, and turning back from a site because conditions have worsened is part of the job rather than a failure of the itinerary. The tour runs in English, so you will understand the commentary without translation. There is no mention of a fixed daily schedule beyond the pickup, so the pace is set by the guide and the conditions on the road rather than by a printed timetable.
Who this tour suits and who should look elsewhere
This tour fits a first-time visitor who wants Iceland's highlights without the logistics of self-driving or booking each leg separately. The included meals and admission remove the friction of paying as you go, and the English-language guiding means you get context for what you are seeing. The partially guided format suits people comfortable with some independent time rather than those who want a guide at every single moment. It is a week-long commitment, so it also suits someone who can take a full week away and wants a broad sweep rather than a deep dive into one region. If you prefer a shorter or more intensive option, the comparable tours in this category all run eight days rather than seven, and they cost more: the Iceland Discovery eight-day version starts at 4,101 USD, the Iceland Circle at 3,817 USD, and the Northern Lights Exploration at 3,477 USD. The Iceland Adventure, with its 5.0 score from 436 reviews, is the strongest-evidenced choice if you want the reassurance of a large sample. This seven-day tour is the budget entry point among them, and it suits someone who wants the core experience at the lowest price rather than the most reviewed or the longest itinerary.
Similar packages on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $4999See details
Iceland Adventure: Northern Lights & Snæfellsnes Peninsula
G Adventures
5.063 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $2227See details
Best of Iceland: Golden Circle & Snæfellsnes Peninsula
G Adventures
5.042 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $3524See details
from $2845See details
from $2557See details
7 Day - Iceland Ring Road & Snæfellsnes Peninsula Small-Group Tour
BusTravel Iceland
4.699 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1885See details
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability from GetYourGuide's partner catalogue. Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
Yes. Admission to the stops on this itinerary is included.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 7 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where does it start and end?
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
Yes. 4.7 out of 5 from 23 ratings is enough voices for the average to be a fair summary.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

Iceland Discovery
★ 4.7 · 23 reviewsDates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the partner catalogue as exported in September 2026.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar partner catalogue: Iceland Discovery accessed 2026-09-07Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-10Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Reykjavik City Council accessed 2026-09-07
- 14DV (quoting the stand) accessed 2026-09-11
- 15Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 16101 Reykjavik Street Food menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 17Bakarameistarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 18Slippbarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 19Reykjavik Fish accessed 2026-09-11
- 20Café Loki menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 21Messinn menu (PDF) accessed 2026-09-11
- 22Grillmarkaðurinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 23Kaffibarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 24Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 25Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 26Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 27Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 28Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 29Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 30Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search accessed 2026-09-11
- 31Flybus accessed 2026-09-11
- 32Hreyfill accessed 2026-09-11
- 33Strætó price list accessed 2026-09-11
- 34Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-11
- 35Reykjavíkurborg accessed 2026-09-11
- 36Ísland.is accessed 2026-09-11
- 37Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 38Gasvaktin (public data file) accessed 2026-09-11
- 39Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 40Lotus Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 41Hertz Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 42Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 43Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 44Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 45Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 46Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 47Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 48Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 49Kex booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 50HI Loft booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 51Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel accessed 2026-09-11
- 52Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 53Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 54Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 accessed 2026-09-11
- 55Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 56National Museum of Iceland accessed 2026-09-12
- 57Reykjavík Art Museum accessed 2026-09-12
- 58Elding Adventure at Sea accessed 2026-09-12
- 59Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-12
- 60Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 61Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 62Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 63Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07

