Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you book through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this works





4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 4 days
Four days from Reykjavik to the glacier lagoon and back
This tour leaves from Reykjavik and spends four days crossing the Snæfellsnes peninsula, working down the South Coast, and ending at Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon. The full loop covers the waterfalls, black sand beaches, and glacial outlets that sit along the southern ring road, plus the volcanic landscapes of Snæfellsnes on the way out or back. It is a guided trip in English, and the price starts at 1,402 USD. That figure places it near the middle of the 43 short-break packages in its category, which range from about 252 USD to over 6,000 USD. The tour suits travellers who want the main sights of two distinct regions in one stretch, without arranging a hire car or navigating the longer drives themselves. Four days is enough to move at a steady pace rather than a sprint, and the itinerary is built around overnight stops rather than returning to the capital each evening.












Photographs from Arctic Adventures's listing. They show the package, not necessarily your day.
- Operator
- Arctic Adventures
- Duration
- 4 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $1,402
- Start and end
- Start and end in Reykjavik
- Rating
- 4.5 out of 5 from 12 ratings
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- The catalogue does not say. Check the booking page before you pay.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the 1,402 USD covers and what you pay on the spot
Food is explicitly included for the full four days. That is the single largest item folded into the entry price, and it means the headline figure covers more than transport and a guide. The guiding itself is fully guided in English, so the person leading the tour is with the group throughout rather than handing you off to local operators at each stop. The operator does not list any other inclusions, so assume the price covers the guiding, the transport between stops, and the meals as stated.
What you might pay extra for are the optional activities at the sights themselves. At Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon, viewing the lagoon and Diamond Beach costs nothing. The amphibian boat tour is 7,100 ISK per adult, and the zodiac boat tour is 16,600 ISK per adult. On the Snæfellsnes peninsula, entry to the national park is free, and the Vatnshellir cave tour is 5,900 ISK per adult. Parking at Jökulsárlón is 1,110 ISK per car, but on a guided trip that charge does not arise because the coach handles the parking. The optional boat and cave tours are sold by the operator as extras, so you decide on the day whether to take them. There is no free cancellation on this booking, which is worth knowing before you commit, since most listings in this category do offer it.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Gla… | 3 Day Winter Package with Golden Circl… | 3 Days Golden Circle, South Coast and … | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jö… | 3-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt… |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,402 USD | 252 USD | 1,447 USD | 1,072 USD | 785 USD |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Short breaks, three and four days”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon | 3 Day Winter Package with Golden Circle, South … | 3 Days Golden Circle, South Coast and Jökulsárlón … | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón & … | 3-Day Small Group Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier … | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Arctic Adventures | BusTravel Iceland | Marina Travel | Arctic Adventures | Snaeland Travel |
| Price | from 1402 $ | from 252 $ | from 1447 $ | from 1072 $ | from 785 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | private | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | yes | not stated | yes | yes |
| Rating (reviews) | 4.5 (12) | 4.7 (23) | 4.8 (16) | 4.4 (172) | 4.9 (11) |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1402 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.5 (12)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- BusTravel Iceland
- Price
- from 252 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (23)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Marina Travel
- Price
- from 1447 $
- Duration
- Group type
- private
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.8 (16)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Arctic Adventures
- Price
- from 1072 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.4 (172)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Snaeland Travel
- Price
- from 785 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.9 (11)
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
Below about ten ratings a score says more about chance than about the tour.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coa… (4.5) | 3 Day Winter Package with Gold… (4.7) | 3 Days Golden Circle, South Co… (4.8) | 3 Day - Golden Circle, South C… (4.4) | 3-Day Small Group Northern Lig… (4.9) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 12 | 23 | 16 | 172 | 11 |
A solid score from a small sample
The tour holds a 4.5 rating, but that figure rests on only 12 reviews. A dozen votes is a thin base, so treat the score as encouraging rather than definitive. Within the 43 short-break packages, this tour ranks fifth by the number of reviews, which means it has attracted more feedback than most of its competitors even if the absolute count is low. By price it sits at rank 21 of 43, squarely in the middle of the group. The combination of a high score and a small sample is common in this category, where many tours have very few ratings. The 4.5 tells you that the people who did take this trip came away satisfied, but it does not yet carry the weight of a rating built on hundreds of votes. Compare that with the three-day Golden Circle, South Coast and ice cave tour, which has a 4.4 from 172 reviews. That larger sample makes its score more reliable as a predictor.
The trip, stop by stop
Places this site holds figures for along the route, in the usual order. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Start
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon
- Parking fee, private car (class A)1,110 ISKParka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park)
- Boat tour operating seasonMay-15 November, weather permittingJökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator)
- Age of the ice calving into the lagoonUp to around 1,000 years oldGuide to Iceland
Snæfellsnes peninsula
- Snæfellsjökull National Park area183 km2Snæfellsjökull National Park
- Kirkjufell mountain height463 mWikipedia
- Snæfellsjökull glacier, summit elevation1,446 mWikipedia
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 °C | 3.3 °C | 4.2 °C | 6.9 °C | 10.1 °C | 13 °C | 14.9 °C | 14.1 °C | 11.4 °C | 7.6 °C | 4.7 °C | 3.3 °C |
| Daily low | -1.7 °C | -1.9 °C | -1.3 °C | 1 °C | 4 °C | 7.2 °C | 9.1 °C | 8.6 °C | 6.2 °C | 2.7 °C | -0.1 °C | -1.6 °C |
Timing the four days around the seasons
The climate chart above shows Reykjavik's monthly averages, and those numbers shape what this particular route feels like. From June through August, highs sit between 13 and 15 degrees Celsius with lows around 7 to 9 degrees. That is the mildest window, and it matters for a tour that spends long hours outside at waterfalls, beaches, and the glacier lagoon. Daylight is also at its most generous, which stretches the driving days and leaves room for the optional boat tours. In May and September, highs drop to 10 or 11 degrees, and the daylight shortens noticeably. The shoulder months still work, but the zodiac tour at Jökulsárlón becomes a colder proposition. From October through April, highs hover between 3 and 8 degrees, and the low light means fewer usable hours at each stop. The tour runs year-round, but the experience differs sharply between a July departure and a December one. For the warmest conditions and the longest days, aim for June to August. For smaller crowds and lower prices, May and September offer a compromise, provided you pack for wind and rain.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 203 rows
Show all 203 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing28 | ||
| Operator's own title | 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Operator | Arctic Adventures | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Product number | 94146 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Duration | 4 days | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price | $1,402 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Starting price in local currency | about 169,100 ISK | Rate 120.61 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 4.5 out of 5 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Number of ratings | 12 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Rank within its category | 8 of 43 in “Short breaks, three and four days” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Small group | no | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Start and end | Start and end in Reykjavik | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Data as of | 2026-09-07 | TourRadar partner catalogue, September 2026 |
| Reykjavik124 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| City swimming pools, adult single entry | 1,500 ISK · From the published fee schedule. | Reykjavik City Council |
| Hot dog, Bæjarins Beztu Pylsur | 880 ISK · Price reported 24 Mar 2026; mbl.is reported 920 on 25 Jul 2026 (page blocked, headline only). | DV (quoting the stand) |
| Burger, fries and soda, Tommi's (Tilboð Aldarinnar) | 2,190 ISK | Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu |
| Icelandic lamb soup, 101 Reykjavik Street Food | 2,890 ISK | 101 Reykjavik Street Food menu |
| Cinnamon bun (snúður), Bakarameistarinn | 549 ISK | Bakarameistarinn |
| Set lunch (fish of the day or burger with soda), Slippbarinn | 2,900 ISK | Slippbarinn |
| Fish and chips, Reykjavik Fish | 3,490 ISK | Reykjavik Fish |
| Icelandic plate, Café Loki | 5,550 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Meat soup, Café Loki | 4,850 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Arctic char pan, Messinn | 4,690 ISK · Read in the menu PDF linked from the live site (Plokkfiskur 4,190, Bleikja 4,690); the PDF file itself dates from Dec 2023. | Messinn menu (PDF) |
| Rye bread ice cream, Café Loki | 1,600 ISK | Café Loki menu |
| Tasting menu, Grillmarkaðurinn | 16,990 ISK per person | Grillmarkaðurinn |
| Latte, Kaffibarinn | 800 ISK | Kaffibarinn |
| Ísey skyr, Krónan | 305 ISK per 170 g | Krónan online shop |
| Ready sandwich, Krónan | 659 ISK | Krónan online shop |
| Half loaf, Krónan | 338 ISK per 385 g | Krónan online shop |
| Whole milk, Krónan | 239 ISK per litre | Krónan online shop |
| Óðals cheese, Krónan | 1,545 ISK per 460 g | Krónan online shop |
| Banana, Krónan | 66 ISK each | Krónan online shop |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, regular price | 1,700 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Draught beer (Gull), Kaffibarinn, happy hour 15-20 | 1,050 ISK per 500 ml | Kaffibarinn |
| Egils Gull, Vínbúðin | 499 ISK per 500 ml can | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Gato Negro Cabernet Sauvignon, Vínbúðin | 1,799 ISK per 750 ml · Not confirmed on the store search page on 2026-09-11. Context only: the planner prices drinks from bar beer. | Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search |
| Flybus hotel drop-off supplement | 1,300 ISK | Flybus |
| Airport fee on a Hreyfill airport taxi | 490 ISK · From the published tariff of 18 March 2026. | Hreyfill |
| Strætó Klapp daily cap (never more than 3 fares a day) | 3 fares per day · Not confirmed on the page text read on 2026-09-11 (the 690 fare is). The planner does not rely on the cap: two rides a day stay below it. | Strætó price list |
| Reykjavik City Card, 24 hours | 6,100 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 48 hours | 8,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Reykjavik City Card, 72 hours | 10,500 ISK | Visit Reykjavík |
| Central Reykjavik parking, zone P1 | 660 ISK per hour | Reykjavíkurborg |
| Kilometre tax on cars, 2026 | 6.95 ISK per km · Blue Car Rental and Lotus charge a flat 1,550 ISK per rental day instead. | Ísland.is |
| Kilometre tax as charged by Blue Car Rental and Lotus | 1,550 ISK per rental day | Blue Car Rental |
| Petrol 95, capital-area median of 75 stations | 261.3 ISK per litre · Changes daily; the build can refresh it from the same file. Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Diesel, capital-area median of 75 stations | 293.2 ISK per litre · Recomputed by the main session from the same file: 75 capital-area stations, same median. | Gasvaktin (public data file) |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 7,173 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Small 2WD (Toyota Aygo), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 12,604 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavík | 9,733 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Nov 2026, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| 4x4 (Dacia Duster), 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavík | 17,083 ISK per day · Quoted by the company booking engine for a 3-day hire, Jul 2027, Keflavik. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Yaris, single-day hire, Nov 2026 (vs 8,140 a day over 3 days) | 20,040 ISK · Quoted by the company booking engine, single day against 8,140 ISK a day over three days, Nov 2026. | Lotus Car Rental |
| Sand and ash protection, small car, Hertz Iceland | 1,990 ISK per day | Hertz Iceland |
| Toyota Aygo 1.0 petrol, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.1 L per 100 km · A test figure; real driving in wind and cold uses more. | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 1.5 4WD, manual: fuel use as stated by the rental company | 4.7 L per 100 km · Fuel type not stated on the page; a 1.5 L manual 4WD Duster is the diesel, so the planner prices it at the diesel median. | Blue Car Rental |
| Toyota Aygo, 'price per day from', 2026 | 7,408 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Dacia Duster 4WD, 'price per day from', 2026 | 9,547 ISK per day | Blue Car Rental |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, low season | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex Hostel, bed in 8-bed dorm, high season | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, low season | 5,000 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft Hostel, bed in 8-bed mixed dorm, high season | 8,350 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, low season | 8,550 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, bed in 10-bed dorm, high season | 14,060 ISK per bed per night · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, low season | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Storm Hotel, standard double, high season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, low season | 21,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Reykjavik Lights, standard double, high season | 33,200 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, low season | 26,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Skuggi Hotel, double, high season | 37,100 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, low season | 42,600 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Hotel Borg, standard double, high season | 49,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, low season | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Sand Hotel, standard double, high season | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, low season | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Apotek Hotel, standard double, high season | 39,300 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Keahotels booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, low season | 14,628 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Double Room with Shared Bathroom, high season | 22,911 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, low season | 22,235 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| Kex, Compact Double Room, high season | 34,824 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Kex booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, low season | 18,550 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| HI Loft, Double Room – Private Bath, high season | 31,500 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | HI Loft booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, low season | 20,400 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Bus Hostel, Twin Room, high season | 25,415 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · One night, Tue 3 Nov 2026 (low) and Tue 13 Jul 2027 (high), read from the property booking engine on 2026-09-11. | Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) |
| Planner default: hostel bed, low season (median of the examples) | 5,094 ISK per bed per night · Median of [5094, 5000, 8550]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: hostel bed, high season (median of the examples) | 9,517 ISK per bed per night · Median of [9517, 8350, 14060]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three hostels' own booking-engine prices for the night priced. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: mid double, low season (median of the examples) | 23,800 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [23800, 21900, 26700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: mid double, high season (median of the examples) | 34,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [34700, 33200, 37100]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, low season (median of the examples) | 39,700 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [42600, 39700, 34700]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: upper double, high season (median of the examples) | 44,900 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [49700, 44900, 39300]; derived, not a published price. Median of the three standard doubles priced. | Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel |
| Planner default: budget double, low season (median of the examples) | 19,475 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [14628, 22235, 18550, 20400]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Planner default: budget double, high season (median of the examples) | 28,458 ISK per room per night, 2 adults · Median of [22911, 34824, 31500, 25415]; derived, not a published price. Median of the four private double rooms priced in those hostels. | Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel |
| Accommodation tax (gistináttaskattur), hotels and guesthouses | 800 ISK per room per night · Also in the current law text: https://www.althingi.is/lagas/nuna/2011087.html. 400 ISK for campsites. Some quotes exclude it (HI Loft says so); the planner adds it unless a price includes it. | Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 |
| Capital-region hotel room occupancy, January 2026 | 56.1 percent · Context for the low season: January is the least-occupied month, so January rates may sit below the November prices used here. | Statistics Iceland |
| Adult admission at the National Museum of Iceland | 3,300 ISK · Under-18s and visitors with disabilities enter free; students and seniors pay 1,600 ISK. | National Museum of Iceland |
| Adult admission at the Reykjavik Art Museum | 2,550 ISK · One ticket is valid for 24 hours at all three houses, Hafnarhús, Kjarvalsstaðir and Ásmundarsafn. Under-18s enter free. The museum states that the Reykjavík City Card gives free admission. | Reykjavík Art Museum |
| Return ferry fare to Viðey, adult | 2,500 ISK · Children 7 to 17 pay 1,250 ISK and children under 7 travel free, up to three per adult. Students, seniors and disabled visitors pay 2,250 ISK. | Elding Adventure at Sea |
| Museums and attractions the City Card admits free | 17 · Named on the card's own page, among them the National Museum, all three Reykjavík Art Museum houses, the National Gallery, the Settlement Exhibition, the Maritime Museum, Árbær Open Air Museum, Viðey Island and the Family Park and Zoo. | Visit Reykjavík |
| Geothermal pools the City Card admits free | 8 · Laugardalslaug, Árbæjarlaug, Sundhöll Reykjavíkur, Vesturbæjarlaug, Dalslaug, Grafarvogslaug, Breiðholtslaug and Klébergslaug. | Visit Reykjavík |
| City buses on the City Card | Yes, unlimited Strætó travel in the capital area, excluding airport bus 55 · The airport coach is a separate fare and is not carried by the card. | Visit Reykjavík |
| The City Card's rule for children | Children under 18 enter the covered museums free with any adult card · There is no child card. The National Museum and the Reykjavík Art Museum admit under-18s free in any case, with or without a card. | Visit Reykjavík |
| Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon23 | ||
| Protected area status | Within Vatnajökull National Park, added to the park in a later boundary extension | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Vatnajökull National Park total area | 14,967 km2 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Parking fee, private car (class A) | 1,110 ISK | Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) |
| Fee to view the lagoon and Diamond Beach | 0 ISK | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Toilets | Flush toilets available at both Jökulsárlón and Fjallsárlón | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Amphibian boat tour, adult | 7,100 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Zodiac boat tour, adult | 16,600 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Boat tour operating season | May-15 November, weather permitting | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Crystal ice cave tour season (Breiðamerkurjökull) | Approximately October-April | Glacier Guides |
| Lagoon surface area | 25 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Maximum depth | 284 m | Wikipedia |
| Lagoon began forming | 1934-1935 | Wikipedia |
| Feeding glacier's annual retreat rate | 200-300 m | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Fastest-flowing glacier in Iceland | Breiðamerkurjökull's calving front can flow up to about 5 m per day, making it Iceland's fastest-moving glacier | University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) |
| Diamond Beach and ice safety warning | Never climb onto beached icebergs or ice near the water, and never turn your back on the sea; waves can surge much further up the black sand than expected with no warning (sneaker waves) | SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) |
| Seal colony | One of Iceland's few permanent harbour seal haul-out sites, with seals visible year-round in and around the lagoon | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved paths lead from the car park to wheelchair-accessible viewing platforms at the lagoon shore, with no walking distance required from parking | roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) |
| Marked walking trail at the lagoon (B1) | 1.2 km | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Park ranger contact for the area | +354 842 4355 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Age of the ice calving into the lagoon | Up to around 1,000 years old | Guide to Iceland |
| Visiting season for the lagoon and Diamond Beach | Open year-round; boat tours and ice cave tours are seasonal | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 377.7 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 340 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Snæfellsnes peninsula28 | ||
| Snæfellsjökull National Park area | 183 km2 | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| National park entry fee | 0 ISK | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| National park established | 2,001 | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| National Park Centre opening hours (Hellissandur) | 09:30-17:00, year-round | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| Malarrif Visitor Centre opening hours | 10:30-16:30, year-round | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| UNESCO Biosphere Reserve designation | 2,025 | UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme |
| Recent designation | Snæfellsnes became Iceland's first UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 2025, after a proposal submitted in September 2024 | UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme |
| Snæfellsjökull glacier, summit elevation | 1,446 m | Wikipedia |
| Snæfellsjökull ice cap area | 10-11 (2008), down from 16 (1946) km2 | Wikipedia |
| Vatnshellir lava cave length | 200 m | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| Vatnshellir cave access | Guided tour only; entry without a guide is not permitted | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| Vatnshellir cave tour, adult | 5,900 ISK | Summit Adventure Guides |
| Vatnshellir cave tour duration | 45 min | Summit Adventure Guides |
| Kirkjufell mountain height | 463 m | Wikipedia |
| Djúpalónssandur shipwreck | Wreckage of the British trawler Epine GY7, which ran aground in 1948, remains scattered on the beach | Wikipedia |
| Djúpalónssandur lifting stones, weight range | 23-154 kg | Wikipedia |
| Djúpalónssandur safety warning | Swimming and going near the water's edge is discouraged due to dangerous currents and sudden large waves | Wikipedia |
| Lóndrangar basalt pillars, height | 61-75 m | Guide to Iceland |
| Rauðfeldsgjá gorge access | Free, unstaffed access via a short walk from a roadside car park; entry deeper into the narrow gorge crosses a stream over wet, slippery rock | Guide to Iceland |
| Population of Snæfellsbær municipality (Ólafsvík, Hellissandur, Rif) | 1,617 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of Grundarfjörður | 821 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of Stykkishólmur | 1,266 | Statistics Iceland |
| First EarthCheck-certified sustainable destination in Iceland and Europe | 2,008 | Wikipedia |
| Winter mountain pass closure risk | Fróðárheiði pass (Route 54) between Ólafsvík and Grundarfjörður can close in winter storms; a 4x4 is advised | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Malarrif and the Hellissandur park centre have step-free access to their exhibitions; Vatnshellir cave requires walking on uneven ground and two spiral staircases and is not accessible | Summit Adventure Guides |
| Best season to visit | Year-round by public road; summer (Jun-Aug) gives the longest daylight and easiest access to gravel side-roads and the cave tour's full schedule | Snæfellsjökull National Park |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 202.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 182 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What the first day looks like and how the stops behave
The tour starts in Reykjavik, and the first leg heads toward the Snæfellsnes peninsula. The peninsula is open country: national park entry is free, and the main stops are roadside or short walks from where the vehicle pulls in. The cave tour at Vatnshellir is the one place where you go underground, and it runs on a scheduled basis, so the guide coordinates the timing. Further south, the waterfalls and the black sand beach at Reynisfjara are exposed to the open Atlantic. The paths around them are what they are, and the wind can be strong. The glacier lagoon at Jökulsárlón is the final major stop, and the boat tours there operate from a staffed dock area. The parking fee at the lagoon applies to private cars only, so it does not affect the group. The guide handles the route and the schedule, and the stops themselves require no tickets or reservations beyond the optional activities. Weather is the one variable that can change the plan, and the guide makes that call on the day.
Who should book this tour and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want the breadth of Iceland's south and west in a single trip without driving themselves. The fully guided format in English means you can watch the landscape rather than the road. It also suits those who prefer having meals sorted in advance, since food is included. The four-day length works well for someone who has a full week in Iceland and wants to cover ground without rushing. It is less ideal for travellers on a tight budget, since the 1,402 USD entry price sits mid-field in its category, and the optional boat and cave tours add up quickly if you take them all. It is also not the right choice if you want flexibility in your plans, because there is no free cancellation on this booking. If you have only three days and want a similar south coast route with an ice cave, the three-day Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón and ice cave tour starts at 1,072 USD and has a far larger review base. If you want a harder physical challenge in the highlands, the four-day Laugavegur trek costs more, from 2,145 USD for the camping version, and is a different kind of trip entirely. For a traveller who wants the classic sights with a guide and meals included, this four-day loop is a straightforward fit.
Similar packages on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

Magical of Golden Circle, Snaefellsnes Peninsula & Jökulsárlón
Expeditions Gateways
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Admission included
from $2188See details
3 Days Golden Circle, South Coast and Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon (Group Tour)
Marina Travel
4.816 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $1447See details
3 Day - Golden Circle, South Coast, Jökulsárlón & Ice Cave
Arctic Adventures
4.4172 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1072See details
2 Day South Coast Iceland, Black Sand Beach & Glacier Lagoon Small Group Tour with Optional Ice Cave
BusTravel Iceland
5.0only 5 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $486See details
4 Days in Iceland - Golden Circle, Glacier Lagon & Snæfellsnes Peninisula Small Group Tour
BusTravel Iceland
4.5only 6 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1045See details
4 days South Coast, Golden Circle and Snæfellsnes (Group Tour)
Marina Travel
4.3only 4 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $1984See details
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability from GetYourGuide's partner catalogue. Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 4 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where does it start and end?
Start and end in Reykjavik.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
Yes. 4.5 out of 5 from 12 ratings is enough voices for the average to be a fair summary.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.

4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon
★ 4.5 · 12 reviewsDates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the partner catalogue as exported in September 2026.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar partner catalogue: 4 Day - Snæfellsnes, South Coast & Glacier Lagoon accessed 2026-09-07Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-10Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Reykjavik City Council accessed 2026-09-07
- 14DV (quoting the stand) accessed 2026-09-11
- 15Hamborgarabúllan Tómasar menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 16101 Reykjavik Street Food menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 17Bakarameistarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 18Slippbarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 19Reykjavik Fish accessed 2026-09-11
- 20Café Loki menu accessed 2026-09-11
- 21Messinn menu (PDF) accessed 2026-09-11
- 22Grillmarkaðurinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 23Kaffibarinn accessed 2026-09-11
- 24Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 25Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 26Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 27Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 28Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 29Krónan online shop accessed 2026-09-11
- 30Vínbúðin (state liquor store) product search accessed 2026-09-11
- 31Flybus accessed 2026-09-11
- 32Hreyfill accessed 2026-09-11
- 33Strætó price list accessed 2026-09-11
- 34Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-11
- 35Reykjavíkurborg accessed 2026-09-11
- 36Ísland.is accessed 2026-09-11
- 37Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 38Gasvaktin (public data file) accessed 2026-09-11
- 39Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 40Lotus Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 41Hertz Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 42Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 43Blue Car Rental accessed 2026-09-11
- 44Kex Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 45Loft HI Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 46Bus Hostel booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 47Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 48Keahotels booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 49Kex booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 50HI Loft booking engine (Godo) accessed 2026-09-11
- 51Kex Hostel, Loft HI Hostel, Bus Hostel accessed 2026-09-11
- 52Storm Hotel, Reykjavik Lights, Skuggi Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 53Hotel Borg, Sand Hotel, Apotek Hotel accessed 2026-09-11
- 54Skatturinn (Iceland Revenue and Customs); Law 87/2011 accessed 2026-09-11
- 55Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-11
- 56National Museum of Iceland accessed 2026-09-12
- 57Reykjavík Art Museum accessed 2026-09-12
- 58Elding Adventure at Sea accessed 2026-09-12
- 59Visit Reykjavík accessed 2026-09-12
- 60Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 61Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 62Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) accessed 2026-09-07
- 63Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 64Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 65Glacier Guides accessed 2026-09-07
- 66Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 67Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 68University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) accessed 2026-09-07
- 69SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 70Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 71roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) accessed 2026-09-07
- 72OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 73Snæfellsjökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 74UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme accessed 2026-09-07
- 75Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 76Snæfellsjökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 77Summit Adventure Guides accessed 2026-09-07
- 78Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 79Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 80Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 81Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 82Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 83Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 84Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 85Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 86Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 87Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 88SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 89Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07

