




Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 8 days
Eight Days Around Iceland by Ship
This is a full-circle voyage around the island, starting and ending in Reykjavik over eight days. You travel aboard a Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours vessel, which means the ship is your hotel for the whole loop. The tour is fully guided in English, and every meal is part of the package. It is priced from 10,089 USD per person, which puts it at the top end of one-week Icelandic packages. The itinerary is built for travellers who want to see the country's major sights without packing and unpacking each night. You leave from Reykjavik, the capital, and the route takes you clockwise or counter-clockwise around the coast, depending on the sailing. The exact order of ports is not given here, but the cruise format means you wake up in a new fjord or town most mornings. This is not a land-based tour with a coach; it is a sea voyage with excursions from each harbour. If you prefer sleeping in the same bed while the landscape changes outside your window, this is the structure for you.








Photographs from the operator Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours
- Duration
- 8 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $10,089
- Rating
- no ratings yet
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the Price Covers and What It Does Not
The entry price of 10,089 USD covers your cabin, all meals on board, and the fully guided excursions in English. The operator states that food is explicitly included, so you will not be paying separately for breakfast, lunch, or dinner while on the ship. The guiding is also part of the deal, with an English-speaking guide accompanying the tours at each stop. What is not covered is any optional excursion you might choose to buy on board, though the catalogue does not list any specific add-ons or their prices. No admission fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary, and there are no parking charges to worry about at the sights themselves. The price you see is the starting point; the operator does not break down what a single cabin upgrade or a premium excursion would cost. Free cancellation is not offered for this booking, which is worth noting before you commit. Most comparable tours in this category grant free cancellation, but this one does not, so your payment is locked in once you confirm.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028 | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 10,089 $ | 4,101 $ | 4,999 $ | 3,477 $ | 3,817 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028 | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours | Intrepid Travel | Globus | On The Go Tours | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 10089 $ | from 4101 $ | from 4999 $ | from 3477 $ | from 3817 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | none | 4.1 (45) | 5.0 (436) | 4.6 (15) | 4.7 (7) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours
- Price
- from 10089 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- none
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 4101 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.1 (45)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3477 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (15)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3817 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (7)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Iceland - The Land of Fire & I… (unrated) | Iceland Discovery… (4.1) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Northern Lights Exploration - … (4.6) | Iceland Circle - 8 Days… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 0 ratings | 45 ratings | 436 ratings | 15 ratings | 7 ratings |
What the Lack of a Score Means
This tour has no customer rating yet. That is the honest core of this listing: it is unevidenced, not bad. With zero reviews behind it, you cannot judge the quality of the guiding, the condition of the ship, or the execution of the excursions. In its category of 71 one-week Iceland packages, it ranks 65th, but that ranking is based on the strength of evidence, not on any score. A tour with no ratings sits below tours that have at least a few reviews, even if those reviews are mixed. The comparable listings in this group show the range: Iceland Discovery has a 4.1 from 45 ratings, Iceland Adventure has a 5.0 from 436, Northern Lights Exploration has a 4.6 from 15, and Iceland Circle has a 4.7 from 7. Against those, this Scenic tour has nothing to show yet. You are essentially buying a product that no one has publicly assessed. That is not a warning against it, but it is a reason to weigh the price carefully. At 10,089 USD, it is the second most expensive of the 71 packages, with only one tour above it in the range that tops out at 12,889 USD.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Season and Daylight for a Sea Voyage
The climate chart above shows Reykjavik's averages, and those numbers matter for a voyage that keeps you outdoors at every port. From June to August, highs reach 13 to 15 degrees Celsius (55 to 59 degrees Fahrenheit), with lows around 7 to 9 degrees. That is the warmest window, and it is also when the daylight stretches long into the evening, giving you more hours to explore each stop. May and September sit cooler, with highs of 10 to 11 degrees, but still manageable for walking tours. If you sail in those shoulder months, you trade a bit of warmth for fewer crowds at the sights. The winter months, from November to February, bring highs of only 3 to 5 degrees and daylight that shrinks to a few hours around noon. For an eight-day cruise that stops at multiple ports, the short winter days would limit what you can see at each harbour. The sweet spot for this particular itinerary is clearly the summer half of the year, when the ship can dock early and you still have light for a full excursion after dinner. The time of day matters less than the season, because the cruise sets its own schedule, but the long summer evenings give you the most value for the price.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | Scenic Luxury Cruises & Tours | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 351044 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 8 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $10,089 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 1,222,323 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | none | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 0 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 65 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What to Expect at Each Stop
The ship handles the logistics at every port. You do not manage your own luggage or find your own way from a dock to a bus. The guided excursions are fully arranged, so you follow the guide from the ship to the transport and back. The stops themselves are Icelandic sights, which are typically open to the sky rather than behind a ticket booth. You walk on paths that are natural and uneven, and the weather at the coast can change quickly, so the guide has the authority to adjust the plan if conditions turn. The itinerary does not name the specific places, but the format is consistent: you disembark, join the guided group, and return to the ship for the next leg. There is no check-in desk at each sight and no staffed visitor centre to ask questions of. The ship itself is your base, and the crew handles the daily routine of docking and departure. If a port call is shortened by weather, the guide will adapt the route rather than risk a delay in the ship's schedule.
Who This Tour Suits and Who Should Look Elsewhere
This is for travellers who want a guided, all-inclusive way to see Iceland's coastline without renting a car or coordinating their own ferries and hotels. It suits those who prefer a fixed schedule and a single language of instruction, with everything arranged in advance. The price point also signals a certain comfort level: this is not a budget trip, so it fits someone who values the cruise experience itself, not just the destinations. If you are travelling with limited mobility, the ship-to-shore transfer at each port is worth checking with the operator, though the catalogue does not specify accessibility details. For those who want a similar eight-day loop at a fraction of the cost, the Iceland Adventure tour is the clear alternative. It runs the same length, starts from 4,999 USD, and carries a 5.0 rating from 436 travellers, which gives you a solid evidence base. The Iceland Discovery tour at 4,101 USD is another option, though its 4.1 from 45 ratings is more modest. If you are comfortable booking without any reviews and want the full-service cruise experience, this Scenic voyage stands alone in its category. If you prefer proven quality and a lower price, the Iceland Adventure is the safer pick.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $2845To the page
from $3252To the page
from $9395To the page
from $3817To the page
from $3477To the page
from $4999To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 8 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
There are no ratings for this listing yet, so there is no verdict either.

Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Iceland - The Land of Fire & Ice 2028Title, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
