




Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 days
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 8 days
Eight days around Iceland with one base in Reykjavik
This tour runs for eight days and starts in Reykjavik, the departure point named in the itinerary. It is a fully guided circuit of Iceland’s classic sights, with an English-speaking guide accompanying the group for the whole route. The operator, On The Go Tours, prices it from 4,012 USD per person. That figure places it near the middle of the 71 one-week packages in its category, which range from about 1,050 to 12,889 USD. The tour suits travellers who want the main Icelandic landmarks handled by one operator, with transport and guiding arranged rather than pieced together independently. Food is explicitly included, which is worth weighing against the price. The itinerary is built around Reykjavik as the starting point, and the tour moves outward from there across the country’s well-known waterfalls, glaciers and coastal routes. At eight days it is long enough to cover a substantial loop without feeling rushed, and the fully guided format means the pace and stops are set by the operator rather than by you.












Photographs from the operator On The Go Tours. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- On The Go Tours
- Duration
- 8 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- Fully Guided
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- not stated
- Price
- from $4,012
- Rating
- 5.0 from 1 ratings
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not stated | admission not stated |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | Not stated, so plan to make your own way. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- admission not stated
- Status
- not stated
- What that means for you
- Not stated, so plan to make your own way.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what it leaves to you
The entry price of 4,012 USD includes food, as the operator states, and the guiding is fully handled in English. No admission or parking fees apply at any of the places on the itinerary, so there are no gate costs to budget for along the way. The operator does not list any optional extras for sale, and no add-on amounts are published for this tour. What you pay at booking is the figure quoted, with meals covered as described. The tour does not offer free cancellation, which is worth noting because most listings in this catalogue grant it. If your plans might shift, you will want to check the terms before committing, since the operator does not advertise a cancellation window or a refund policy here. The price sits in the mid-field of its group, so it is neither the cheapest nor the most expensive way to spend eight days in Iceland, but the inclusion of food narrows the gap against tours that charge less upfront and leave meals to you.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 days | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 4,012 $ | 4,101 $ | 4,999 $ | 3,477 $ | 3,817 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “One week in Iceland”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 days | Iceland Discovery | Iceland Adventure | Northern Lights Exploration - 8 days | Iceland Circle - 8 Days | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | On The Go Tours | Intrepid Travel | Globus | On The Go Tours | On The Go Tours |
| Price | from 4012 $ | from 4101 $ | from 4999 $ | from 3477 $ | from 3817 $ |
| Duration | |||||
| Group type | group | group | group | group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rating (reviews) | 5.0 (1) | 4.1 (45) | 5.0 (436) | 4.6 (15) | 4.7 (7) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | below the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 4012 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (1)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Intrepid Travel
- Price
- from 4101 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.1 (45)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Globus
- Price
- from 4999 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (436)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3477 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (15)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- On The Go Tours
- Price
- from 3817 $
- Duration
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.7 (7)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Classic Iceland Highlights - 8… (5.0) | Iceland Discovery… (4.1) | Iceland Adventure… (5.0) | Northern Lights Exploration - … (4.6) | Iceland Circle - 8 Days… (4.7) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 1 ratings | 45 ratings | 436 ratings | 15 ratings | 7 ratings |
A perfect score with almost nothing behind it
The tour carries a 5.0 rating, but that score rests on a single review. One person’s verdict is not evidence of consistency, and the number of ratings is too thin to carry much weight. In its category of 71 one-week packages, this listing ranks 39th when ordered by the strength of the evidence behind it, not by the height of the score. By price it ranks 42nd, again mid-field. The practical takeaway is that you cannot judge this tour by what other travellers have said, because almost none have. The comparable Iceland Adventure tour, also eight days, has a 5.0 rating from 436 reviews, which gives it far more solid ground. Iceland Discovery has 45 reviews at 4.1, and Northern Lights Exploration has 15 at 4.6. Against those, this tour’s perfect score is a blank slate rather than a recommendation. If other travellers’ experiences matter to you, the thin record here is a reason to look at the more reviewed options in the same length and price range.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Meeting point
You make your own way there; the duration counts from that point.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Cool months, long daylight, and what eight days allow
Reykjavik’s temperatures stay mild all year, with highs between 3 degrees Celsius (37 degrees Fahrenheit) in January and 15 degrees Celsius (59 degrees Fahrenheit) in July. The coldest months, December through February, hover around freezing, with lows near minus 2 degrees Celsius (28 degrees Fahrenheit). From June to August, highs sit between 13 and 15 degrees Celsius (55 to 59 degrees Fahrenheit), and lows stay above 7 degrees Celsius (45 degrees Fahrenheit). For an eight-day tour, that means summer offers the most comfortable conditions for long days on the road, with the warmest afternoons in July. Spring and autumn are cooler, with May highs near 10 degrees Celsius (50 degrees Fahrenheit) and September near 11 degrees Celsius (52 degrees Fahrenheit). The tour’s length means you will be outside for several hours each day, so the midday warmth matters more than it would on a short city trip. The chart above shows that even in summer you will not need heat relief, just layers against the cool air. Winter days are short and cold, which suits travellers who want the landscape without the crowds, but the daylight hours limit how much ground an eight-day circuit can cover comfortably.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 113 rows
Show all 113 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Operator | On The Go Tours | TourRadar catalogue |
| Product number | 290877 | TourRadar catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | TourRadar catalogue |
| Duration | 8 days | TourRadar catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Starting price | $4,012 | TourRadar, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 486,070 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 5.0 out of 5 | TourRadar, live check |
| Number of ratings | 1 | TourRadar, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 39 of 71 in “One week in Iceland” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | TourRadar catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | Fully Guided | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | TourRadar catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | TourRadar catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Small group | no | TourRadar catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Priority entry | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Free cancellation | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | TourRadar catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | TourRadar catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Geysir geothermal area22 | ||
| Entry fee to the geothermal area | 0 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Parking fee, car | 1,000 ISK | Reykjavík Grapevine |
| Access season | Open-air site accessible year-round, no gate or hours | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected area size | 3 km2 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Protected as a natural monument since | 2,020 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Identified thermal features in the area | 364 | Wikipedia |
| Elevation | 110 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption interval | 6-10 min | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, typical | 15-20 m | Wikipedia |
| Strokkur eruption height, maximum recorded | 40 m | Wikipedia |
| Great Geysir, last known eruption | 2,016 | Iceland Review |
| Great Geysir, tallest eruption on record | 170 m | Wikipedia |
| Water temperature in the geyser conduit | 85-95 C | Wikipedia |
| First written record of Geysir | 13th century | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Land donated to the Icelandic nation | 1,935 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Recent change: footpath and safety project | Circular footpath and safety upgrade, phase one finished Sep 2024, full project due by end of 2025 | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Safety warning | Stay on the marked paths and behind ropes; geyser water reaches 100C at the surface and can scald or kill | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Main paths around Strokkur are level, compact gravel or paved and usable by wheelchair in good weather; the upper hill viewpoint has steps and steep sections | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Historic royal visits marked by stone markers | Danish kings Christian IX (1874), Frederick VIII (1907) and Christian X (1921) visited and are commemorated by carved 'king's stones' | Environment Agency of Iceland |
| Origin of the English word 'geyser' | Derived from Geysir, this valley's most famous spring; entered English usage in 1780 | Etymonline |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 115.3 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 104 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What the first day looks like from Reykjavik
The tour begins in Reykjavik, a city of 139,804 people within a greater capital region of 253,230. The city covers 244 square kilometres (94 square miles) and received its charter on 18 August 1786. From here the group sets out, and the first day is about gathering and orientation rather than a long drive. The operator does not specify a meeting point or a start time, so you will confirm those details directly. The places on the itinerary are the classic Icelandic sights, and the weather plays a real role in how the days unfold. Rain and wind are common, and the guide will adjust the order or timing of stops if conditions demand it. There is no staffed visitor centre at most of the natural stops, so you will follow the guide’s lead on where to park and how long to stay. The tour is fully guided, which means someone else handles the logistics of the route, and you follow the schedule as it is set each morning. Bring sturdy footwear and waterproof clothing, because the stops are outdoors and the weather does not wait for anyone.
Who fits this tour and who should look elsewhere
This tour suits travellers who want Iceland’s classic circuit in eight days without arranging their own transport, guiding or meals. The fully guided format with food included makes it a straightforward choice for first-time visitors who prefer a single operator to handle the details. It is less suited to independent travellers who want to set their own pace or spend extra time at particular sights, since the group moves on a fixed schedule. If you are weighing alternatives, Iceland Adventure, also eight days, runs from 4,999 USD and has a 5.0 rating from 436 reviews, making it a stronger choice if other travellers’ feedback matters to you. Iceland Discovery, at 4,101 USD with a 4.1 rating from 45 reviews, is slightly cheaper and offers a similar length. Northern Lights Exploration, at 3,477 USD, is the least expensive of the four and adds a specific seasonal focus. If winter travel and aurora hunting are your goal, that tour targets them directly. This On The Go tour, by contrast, does not advertise a seasonal hook, so it works best as a general Iceland introduction in the milder months.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.
from $2845To the page
from $3252To the page
from $9395To the page
from $3817To the page
from $3477To the page
from $4999To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
The catalogue does not say. Where the route is waterfalls and beaches there is nothing to pay; ask if it includes a paid attraction.
How long does the package really take?
The catalogue gives 8 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this package?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
No. 5.0 out of 5 from only 1 is not enough to draw a conclusion from, however high the score.

Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 days
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1TourRadar: Classic Iceland Highlights - 8 daysTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 15Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 20UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 21DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 22Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 23OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Reykjavík Grapevine accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Environment Agency of Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Etymonline accessed 2026-09-07
