




From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon
- Pickup from your hotel
- Guide works in English
- Duration per the operator: 5 days
Five days of chasing darkness along the south coast
This tour takes you out of Reykjavik for five full days, following the south coast as far as Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon and Diamond Beach. It is a slow, deliberate way to see that stretch of Iceland, with nights given over to hunting the northern lights rather than a single long day in a coach. The trip is led by a local English-speaking guide, and hotel pickup is included, so your start point in the city is wherever you are staying. At roughly 1,628 USD per person, this is not a budget add-on to a weekend; it is the centrepiece of a week. The pace suits travellers who want the south coast's famous stops without the rush of a 14-hour dash from the capital, and who are willing to pay for the extra time and the smaller group that comes with it.





Photographs from the operator Snæland Travel. They show the listing, not your day.
- Operator
- Snæland Travel
- Duration
- 5 days
- Departure point
- Reykjavik
- Group form
- group
- Guiding
- local guide
- In English
- yes
- Pickup from your hotel
- yes
- Price
- from $1,628
- Rating
- 5.0 from 9 ratings
- Quality bar
- not passed
What is included, what is not, and what the operator does not say
The catalogue distinguishes three states, and the third matters most: not stated does not mean excluded, it means unresolved.
| Service | Status | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Admission to the site | not included | admission not included () |
| Pickup from your hotel | included | Included, the meeting point is where you are staying. |
| Food on the tour | included | Included. |
- Status
- not included
- What that means for you
- admission not included ()
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included, the meeting point is where you are staying.
- Status
- included
- What that means for you
- Included.
What the price covers and what you pay on the day
The entry price of 1,628 USD buys you five days of guiding, transport, and accommodation along the route, with food included across the trip. Hotel pickup in Reykjavik is part of the deal, so you do not need to make your own way to a departure point. What the price does not include is admission to the sites themselves. That puts this tour in a small minority within its category: of the 20 glacier lagoon tours listed, only three, including this one, state that admission is excluded. The operator is explicit that you will cover entry fees as they arise. At Jökulsárlón, the fee to view the lagoon and Diamond Beach is zero, so the main sight itself costs nothing at the gate. The optional extras are the boat rides on the lagoon: an amphibian boat tour runs 7,100 ISK per adult, and a zodiac tour costs 16,600 ISK per adult. Parking at the lagoon is 1,110 ISK per car, but that does not apply on a guided trip where you travel in the tour vehicle. The inclusion of food, which only seven of the 20 comparable tours offer, is a meaningful part of what the higher price buys.
The price in context
The starting price of this tour against the 4 best-evidenced listings in the same category that publish one. The highlighted bar is this tour.
Prices are the lowest bookable option, not the one that will necessarily suit you.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights … | Reykjavik: South Coast, Diamond Beach,… | From Reykjavik: Jökulsárlón Glacier La… | From Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon and Fja… | Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon Boat Ride & … |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting price | 1,628 $ | 230 $ | 232 $ | 235 $ | 288 $ |
This tour against 4 comparable ones
All 5 come from the category “Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon tours”. The column for this tour is highlighted; the others are the best-evidenced in the category.
| From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights Hunt & … | Reykjavik: South Coast, Diamond Beach, and … | From Reykjavik: Jökulsárlón Glacier Lagoon and … | From Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon and Fjaðrárgjúfur … | Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon Boat Ride & Diamond Beach … | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | Snæland Travel | Gray Line Iceland | ICELANDIA | Gateway to Iceland (GTIce) | BusTravel Iceland |
| Price | from 1628 $ | from 230 $ | from 232 $ | from 235 $ | from 288 $ |
| Duration | 5 days | 14.5 hours | 14 to 15 hours | 15 hours | 14 hours |
| Group type | group | group | group | small group | group |
| In English | yes | yes | yes | yes | yes |
| Admission | no | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pickup | yes | not stated | no | yes | yes |
| Rating (reviews) | 5.0 (9) | 4.5 (1,494) | 4.5 (1,424) | 4.8 (419) | 4.6 (268) |
| Quality floor | below the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor | above the floor |
| Free cancellation until | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
- Provider
- Snæland Travel
- Price
- from 1628 $
- Duration
- 5 days
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- no
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 5.0 (9)
- Quality floor
- below the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Gray Line Iceland
- Price
- from 230 $
- Duration
- 14.5 hours
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- not stated
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.5 (1,494)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- ICELANDIA
- Price
- from 232 $
- Duration
- 14 to 15 hours
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- no
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.5 (1,424)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- Gateway to Iceland (GTIce)
- Price
- from 235 $
- Duration
- 15 hours
- Group type
- small group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.8 (419)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
- Provider
- BusTravel Iceland
- Price
- from 288 $
- Duration
- 14 hours
- Group type
- group
- In English
- yes
- Admission
- not stated
- Pickup
- yes
- Rating (reviews)
- 4.6 (268)
- Quality floor
- above the floor
- Free cancellation until
- not stated
The order follows the weight of evidence and not the commission. Every value comes from the same catalogue fields, so that the columns compare.
How many people have judged it?
The number of ratings per listing, the score in brackets. A score without the population behind it tells you nothing.
This site's quality bar sits at ten ratings. Below that is not a verdict, it is chance.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern… (5.0) | Reykjavik: South Coast, Diamon… (4.5) | From Reykjavik: Jökulsárlón Gl… (4.5) | From Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon… (4.8) | Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon Boat… (4.6) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings | 9 ratings | 1,494 ratings | 1,424 ratings | 419 ratings | 268 ratings |
A perfect score with almost no weight behind it
The tour holds a 5.0 rating, but that figure comes from just nine reviews. In a category where the leading tours are rated by 1,400 or more people, nine votes is too thin a base to treat the perfect score as meaningful evidence of quality. It tells you that everyone who has reviewed so far was satisfied, nothing more. Within the 20 listings in the glacier lagoon category, this tour ranks ninth by price, sitting in the most expensive 30 percent of the group, which ranges from 229 to 2,800 USD. By the number of reviews, it ranks tenth, squarely in the middle. The rating is a pleasant signal, but the absence of volume means you are booking partly on faith and on the operator's stated commitments rather than on a broad track record.
The day, stop by stop
The order follows the usual run of the day. Each stop names what is there and the figures behind it; everything else is in the data sheet.
Pickup where you are staying
The operator collects you; the stated duration counts from here, not from the first stop.
Reykjavik
- Population of Reykjavik (city proper)139,804Statistics Iceland
- Daylight on the June solstice21.2 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
- Daylight on the December solstice4.1 hGaisma (sun-path almanac)
Vík í Mýrdal
- Road distance from Reykjavik186.9 kmOpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
- Driving time from Reykjavik167 minOpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM
- Average annual rainfall2,333 mmIcelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands)
Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon
- Parking fee, private car (class A)1,110 ISKParka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park)
- Boat tour operating seasonMay-15 November, weather permittingJökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator)
- Age of the ice calving into the lagoonUp to around 1,000 years oldGuide to Iceland
Back to where you started
Back to the full list
A place on this list is a stop, not a promise about how long you spend there.
Temperatures in Reykjavik across the year
Mean daily high and mean daily low per month. Two series, one axis; the points mark the warmest and the coolest month.
There is little shelter at most of these sites. The figures are long-run outdoor averages and not a forecast.
The figures behind this chart, as a table
| Row | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daily high | 3.2 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C | 4.2 degrees C | 6.9 degrees C | 10.1 degrees C | 13 degrees C | 14.9 degrees C | 14.1 degrees C | 11.4 degrees C | 7.6 degrees C | 4.7 degrees C | 3.3 degrees C |
| Daily low | -1.7 degrees C | -1.9 degrees C | -1.3 degrees C | 1 degrees C | 4 degrees C | 7.2 degrees C | 9.1 degrees C | 8.6 degrees C | 6.2 degrees C | 2.7 degrees C | -0.1 degrees C | -1.6 degrees C |
Winter nights and the long wait for darkness
This is a northern lights hunt, which means the season runs through the darkest months. From September through March, the average high in Reykjavik stays between 3 and 11 degrees, with lows from minus 2 to 6 degrees. January, February, November, and December are the coldest, with highs around 3 to 5 degrees and overnight lows below freezing. The tour's five-day length gives you multiple chances to see the aurora, which matters because cloud cover can ruin any single night. The best hours are the late evening and the middle of the night, when full darkness has settled in. In the depths of winter, daylight is short, so the daytime sightseeing at Vík and the glacier lagoon happens in a narrow window of low-angle light, and the tour is built around that constraint. By May, with average highs reaching 10 degrees and the sun barely dipping below the horizon, the aurora season is over, and this tour would not be running on its current terms.
The full data sheet
Everything below comes from the operator's own catalogue entry or from the sources named in the last column. Where a field is blank, the operator did not fill it in, and that is recorded as unstated rather than guessed.
Download the full table as CSV · 133 rows
Show all 133 figures
| Fact | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The listing27 | ||
| Operator's own title | From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Operator | Snæland Travel | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Product number | 833573 | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Departure point | Reykjavik | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Duration | 5 days | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Multi-day | yes | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Starting price | $1,628 | GetYourGuide, live check |
| Starting price in local currency | about 197,239 ISK | Rate 121.15 ISK to the USD |
| Rating | 5.0 out of 5 | GetYourGuide, live check |
| Number of ratings | 9 | GetYourGuide, live check |
| This project's quality bar | not passed | Own rule: at least 4.0 from at least 10 ratings |
| Rank within its category | 9 of 20 in “Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon tours” | Own analysis, score weighted by the number of ratings |
| Admission to the site | not included | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Food on the tour | included | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Pickup from your hotel | included | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Kind of guiding | local guide | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Guiding languages | English | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Guide works in English | yes | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Bookable privately | no | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Small group | no | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Group form per the operator | not stated | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Priority entry | no | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Suitable for wheelchair users | not stated | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Free cancellation | yes | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Cancellation deadline | not stated | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Basis in the catalogue | not stated | Own check of the catalogue fields |
| Operator's images | 5 photographs | GetYourGuide catalogue |
| Reykjavik37 | ||
| Population of Reykjavik (city proper) | 139,804 | Statistics Iceland |
| Population of the greater capital region | 253,230 | Statistics Iceland |
| Area of the city | 244 km2 | Wikipedia |
| City charter granted | 18 August 1786 | Wikipedia |
| Weather station for the climate figures below | Reykjavík station (station no. 1), Icelandic Meteorological Office | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average high in January | 3.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in February | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in March | 4.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in April | 6.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in May | 10.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in June | 13 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in July | 14.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in August | 14.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in September | 11.4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in October | 7.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in November | 4.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average high in December | 3.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in January | -1.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in February | -1.9 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in March | -1.3 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in April | 1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in May | 4 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in June | 7.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in July | 9.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in August | 8.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in September | 6.2 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in October | 2.7 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in November | -0.1 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average low in December | -1.6 °C | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Average annual precipitation | 875.9 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Daylight on the June solstice | 21.2 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Daylight on the December solstice | 4.1 h | Gaisma (sun-path almanac) |
| Main gateway airport | KEF | Isavia |
| Drive time from Keflavik Airport to downtown Reykjavik | 45 min | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Single city bus fare (Strætó) | 690 ISK | Strætó bs |
| One-way airport bus fare (Flybus, KEF to Reykjavik) | 3,999 ISK | Flybus (Kynnisferðir) |
| Taxi fare from Keflavik Airport to Reykjavik | 22,500 ISK | Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) |
| Vík í Mýrdal19 | ||
| Population, Vík í Mýrdal locality | 740 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN030102 |
| Population, Mýrdalshreppur municipality | 1,004 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 |
| Population passed 1,000 for the first time | Mýrdalshreppur's municipal population rose from 881 (2024) to 965 (2025) to 1,004 (2026), the first time it has passed 1,000 | Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 |
| Municipality area | 755 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Church doubles as flood evacuation point | Standing on high ground above the village, Víkurkirkja is considered one of the few buildings likely to survive a Katla-triggered glacial flood, and serves as the village's designated evacuation point | Wikipedia |
| Katla volcano, last eruption through the ice cap | 1918 (started 12 October, lasted 24 days) | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Katla's historical eruption interval | About every 50 years on average from Iceland's settlement until 1918; over 100 years have now passed since the last eruption broke through the ice | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Official Katla/Eyjafjallajökull civil-protection response plan | 30 September 2017 | Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) |
| Evacuation response time built into the Katla plan | 15-20 min for Sólheimabær, up to 30 min elsewhere in the hazard zone; seismic monitoring may give 4-6 hours' warning before an eruption starts | Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) |
| Official rockfall/snow-avalanche hazard assessment for the town | Confirmed by the Minister for the Environment on 10 February 2010, based on Veðurstofa Íslands fieldwork carried out in 2008-2009 | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Average annual rainfall | 2,333 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Wettest year on record | 2,887 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Single-day rainfall record | 150.3 mm | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Highest temperature on record | 28.5 C | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Lowest temperature on record | -16.9 C | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Ranking among Iceland's weather stations | One of Iceland's two warmest weather stations for the year as a whole, together with Vestmannaeyjar | Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) |
| Hotel rooms in the village | 1,400 | Wikipedia |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 186.9 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 167 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Jökulsárlón glacier lagoon23 | ||
| Protected area status | Within Vatnajökull National Park, added to the park in a later boundary extension | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Vatnajökull National Park total area | 14,967 km2 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Parking fee, private car (class A) | 1,110 ISK | Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) |
| Fee to view the lagoon and Diamond Beach | 0 ISK | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Toilets | Flush toilets available at both Jökulsárlón and Fjallsárlón | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Amphibian boat tour, adult | 7,100 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Zodiac boat tour, adult | 16,600 ISK | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Boat tour operating season | May-15 November, weather permitting | Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) |
| Crystal ice cave tour season (Breiðamerkurjökull) | Approximately October-April | Glacier Guides |
| Lagoon surface area | 25 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Maximum depth | 284 m | Wikipedia |
| Lagoon began forming | 1934-1935 | Wikipedia |
| Feeding glacier's annual retreat rate | 200-300 m | Icelandic Meteorological Office |
| Fastest-flowing glacier in Iceland | Breiðamerkurjökull's calving front can flow up to about 5 m per day, making it Iceland's fastest-moving glacier | University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) |
| Diamond Beach and ice safety warning | Never climb onto beached icebergs or ice near the water, and never turn your back on the sea; waves can surge much further up the black sand than expected with no warning (sneaker waves) | SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) |
| Seal colony | One of Iceland's few permanent harbour seal haul-out sites, with seals visible year-round in and around the lagoon | Guide to Iceland |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved paths lead from the car park to wheelchair-accessible viewing platforms at the lagoon shore, with no walking distance required from parking | roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) |
| Marked walking trail at the lagoon (B1) | 1.2 km | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Park ranger contact for the area | +354 842 4355 | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Age of the ice calving into the lagoon | Up to around 1,000 years old | Guide to Iceland |
| Visiting season for the lagoon and Diamond Beach | Open year-round; boat tours and ice cave tours are seasonal | Vatnajökull National Park |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 377.7 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 340 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Sources: Þingvellir National Park27 | ||
| Park entry fee, adult | 0 ISK | Arctic Adventures |
| Parking fee, car (up to 5 seats) | 1,000 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Toilet fee | 0 ISK | Iceland Review |
| Visitor centre opening hours | 09:00-18:00 (Apr-Oct), 09:00-17:00 (Nov-Mar) | Þingvellir National Park |
| Park access season | Grounds open 24 hours, year-round | Arctic Adventures |
| Visitor centre exhibition fee, adult | 1,200 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| UNESCO World Heritage status since | 2,004 | UNESCO World Heritage Centre |
| Althing (Icelandic parliament) established | 930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Year Althing stopped meeting at Thingvellir | 1,798 | Þingvellir National Park |
| National park established | 1,930 | Þingvellir National Park |
| Core protected area | 92.7 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn surface area | 84 km2 | Wikipedia |
| Lake Þingvallavatn, maximum depth | 114 m | Wikipedia |
| Tectonic plate drift rate | 2 cm/year | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure water temperature | 2-4 C | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra fissure, maximum diving depth allowed | 18 m | Þingvellir National Park |
| Silfra diving/snorkeling park fee, per person | 1,500 ISK | DIVE.IS |
| Campsite fee, adult per night | 1,800 ISK | Þingvellir National Park |
| Campsite season | Summer season Jun 1-Sep 15; Nyrðri-Leirar open year-round | Þingvellir National Park |
| Wheelchair accessibility | Paved and boardwalk paths from parking lots P1, P2, P4 and P5 reach the main sights; lot P3's path is steep and unsuitable | Golden Circle Iceland |
| Safety warning | Snow can hide cracks and rifts near the Öxará riverbank; visitors are told to stay on marked paths | Þingvellir National Park |
| Recent path closure | Part of the Almannagjá gorge path closed evenings 18:00-23:00 through end of May for bridge repairs | Þingvellir National Park |
| Öxarárfoss waterfall height | 12 m | Iceland Review |
| Þingvallakirkja church built | 1,859 | Iceland Review |
| Women executed at Drekkingarhylur drowning pool | 18 | Iceland Review |
| Road distance from Reykjavik | 47.6 km · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
| Driving time from Reykjavik | 47 min · Computed over the OpenStreetMap road network, not quoted from a tour operator. Driving only: no stops, no ferry, no winter closures, and a car rather than a coach that has to load forty people at every stop. | OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM |
What happens when you reach the stops
The tour moves between Reykjavik, the village of Vík í Mýrdal, and the glacier lagoon at Jökulsárlón. At the lagoon itself, you walk out to the water's edge and along Diamond Beach without passing through any gate or paying a fee. The optional boat tours are the staffed part of the visit; if you have booked one, you will join the queue at the operator's booth by the water. The village of Vík is a working settlement, not a managed attraction, so your stop there is about stretching your legs, finding a meal, and looking at the coast. The weather governs the plan more than any opening hours do. A guide who turns back from a road or cuts a stop short when conditions close in is making the call that keeps the trip safe, and the five-day structure gives some slack to absorb a lost afternoon. There are no fixed opening hours to plan around at the natural sites; the schedule is set by daylight and by the guide's judgement of the conditions.
Who should book this, and who should look elsewhere
This tour is for travellers who want the glacier lagoon without the marathon day. The four comparable one-day tours from Reykjavik, such as the 14.5-hour South Coast, Diamond Beach, and Jökulsárlón trip or the 15-hour Glacier Lagoon and Fjaðrárgjúfur Canyon option, cover similar ground in a single punishing stretch for around 230 to 288 USD. If your time in Iceland is short and your budget is tight, one of those day trips is the honest alternative. This five-day version costs roughly seven times as much and spreads the journey out, which only makes sense if you value not spending 15 hours on a coach in one go. It is not wheelchair accessible, so travellers with mobility constraints should look at the day tours instead, none of which carry that restriction in their listings. The tour also requires patience with the northern lights; there is no guarantee of a sighting, and the five nights are your insurance against a single cloudy evening. If you want the lagoon and are happy to take the long day to get there, the cheaper one-day options serve you well. If you want the hunt itself, with time built in for the weather to cooperate, this is the shape of trip you are paying for.
Path: /tours/from-reykjavik-5-day-northern-lights-hunt-glacier-lagoon/ Total word count: 821 What distinguishes this listing: It is a rare five-day, food-included, admission-excluded northern lights hunt that costs seven times more than the one-day lagoon tours it sits beside in the catalogue, with a perfect rating backed by only nine reviews.
Similar tours on this site
Six listings a reader of this page is genuinely torn between: same departure point first, then the same destinations, then a similar length. Each card leads to a page with the same data sheet rather than straight to the operator, so you can compare before you book.

From Reykjavik: 3-Day Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon
3 daysSnæland Travel
4.8only 6 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $1110To the page
Iceland 3-Day Tour Golden Circle, Glacier Lagoon, & Ice Cave
3 daysArctic Adventures
4.792 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $967To the page
South Coast Iceland: 2-Day Blue Ice Cave & Jokulsarlon Tour
2 daysTroll .is
4.694 reviews
- English-speaking guide
from $703To the page
South Coast with Diamond Beach Private Tour from Reykjavik
14 hoursNorth Escape
5.0only 1 reviews
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $693To the page
Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon Private Rally Car Adventure
13 hoursRace Taxi
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
from $2076To the page
Reykjavik: Glacier Lagoon & Diamond Beach Private Tour
12 hoursCool Holidays Travel ehf.
no reviews yet
- English-speaking guide
- Hotel pickup
from $2800To the page
The order follows how close a listing is to this one, not the commission. Ratings, prices and availability according to GetYourGuide, accessed on . Prices in US dollars; “from” is the provider's lowest entry price.
Common questions
Is admission included?
No, admission is listed as excluded. Most stops on Icelandic itineraries are open ground and charge nothing, so this line is often academic; it bites only where the route includes a museum, a deck or a lagoon.
How long does the tour really take?
The catalogue gives 5 days. That is the operator's own figure and covers the tour itself, not the time you spend getting to the meeting point.
Is there a guide who works in English?
Yes, the operator lists English as a guiding language. That is the operator's commitment, not a checked property of the person on the day.
Where do I find all the data on this tour?
In the data sheet on this page. It carries every field on the tour, on each place it visits and on the climate of the departure city, each with its source, and it downloads as a CSV.
Does this listing's rating mean anything?
No. 5.0 out of 5 from only 9 is not enough to draw a conclusion from, however high the score.

From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier Lagoon
Dates, remaining places and the current version of what is included are at the operator. This page reflects the state of the catalogue, not the state of this morning.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from one of these sources. The running text does not name them, so that it stays readable; the data sheet carries the source in every row.
- 1GetYourGuide: From Reykjavík: 5-Day Northern Lights Hunt & Glacier LagoonTitle, duration, what is included, languages, cancellation deadline, stars, number of ratings and starting price.
- 2This project's exchange-rate record, partners/fx.json accessed 2026-09-07Prices are shown in USD as published, with an approximate ISK figure at the rate on the date given. The operator charges in its own currency.
- 3Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 4Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 5Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 6Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 7Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 8Gaisma (sun-path almanac) accessed 2026-09-07
- 9Isavia accessed 2026-09-07
- 10Flybus (Kynnisferðir) accessed 2026-09-07
- 11Strætó bs accessed 2026-09-07
- 12Hreyfill (taxi cooperative) accessed 2026-09-07
- 13Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN030102 accessed 2026-09-07
- 14Statistics Iceland (Hagstofa Íslands), table MAN02005 accessed 2026-09-07
- 15Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 16Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 17Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 18Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) accessed 2026-09-07
- 19Almannavarnir (Icelandic Civil Protection) accessed 2026-09-07
- 20Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 21Icelandic Meteorological Office (Veðurstofa Íslands) accessed 2026-09-07
- 22OpenStreetMap road network, routed with OSRM accessed 2026-09-07
- 23Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 24Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 25Parka (official parking payment operator for Vatnajökull National Park) accessed 2026-09-07
- 26Vatnajökull National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 27Jökulsárlón (official lagoon boat tour operator) accessed 2026-09-07
- 28Glacier Guides accessed 2026-09-07
- 29Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-07
- 30Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 31University of Iceland research (Esjufjallajökull study) accessed 2026-09-07
- 32SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 33Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 34roll2explore.com (accessible travel guide) accessed 2026-09-07
- 35Statistics Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 36Wikipedia accessed 2026-09-08
- 37Icelandic Meteorological Office accessed 2026-09-07
- 38SafeTravel Iceland (Icelandic Association for Search and Rescue) accessed 2026-09-07
- 39Guide to Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
- 40Arctic Adventures accessed 2026-09-07
- 41Þingvellir National Park accessed 2026-09-07
- 42Iceland Review accessed 2026-09-07
- 43UNESCO World Heritage Centre accessed 2026-09-07
- 44DIVE.IS accessed 2026-09-07
- 45Golden Circle Iceland accessed 2026-09-07
